Yasir Hammed is out finally. Score is 270/5.
Pakistan is 296/5 a lead of 8 runs with 5 wickets in hand. Misbah is 12* and Rashid is 22*. Great effort by Yasir Hameed, making 170 on his debut.
Yasir Hammed has become the second highest run scorer on debut after Javed Miandad. Fantastic batting by Yasir Hammed who scored 100 runs off the boundaries, :k: pulled out Pakistan from the trouble & shaky start.
A mixture of good & bad day for Pakistan. Like all of you I’m shocked to see Inzi continues his poor form.
Though, he’s not alone. Yousuf Youhana is still struggling with his form, who gave away his wicket but he and Taufeeq Umer supported Yasir Hammed from the other end.
Bangladesh has prevented Pakistan to take the big lead. Half of our side is in the pavilion; and it’s now all depends on the shoulders of skipper Rashid Latif and Misbah-ul-Haq. Longer both stay on the crease, the bigger lead Pakistan could gave to Bangladesh.
At stumps, Pakistan 301/5, lead by 13 runs with 5 wickets in hands.
Quite friendly bowling and a flat pitch yet only Hameed went on to score more than 50. I think all the batsmen got out playing disappointing shots, but I still expect we'll go on to pass 400 which will be enough.
BD bowled quite tidily and on dry dead wickets like found in the sub-continent can at least compete. Abroad it will be a different matter but maybe they can go on and develop like Sri Lanka did.
Congrats Yaasir on a big hundred. More of our batsmen need to show the same hunger for runs and ability to dominate the bowling. No one had an excuse for not cashing in today other than a poor attitude and lazy shots.
Big lazy @$$ on duck
Excellent job by Yasir Hameed. I hope he keeps his style and they keep him in the team unlike other debutants who scored 100+ then they never played again.
Anybody saw Yasir play today?. I would like to know about his style of play and if possible, a comparison with some other famous cricketer's style. Thanks.
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
You obviously have not watched him play, otherwise you wouldn't be making such statements.
Just because the player has a solid defensive style doesn't make a good test batsman. You need to have the ability to score boundries if you are to play test cricket.
*Originally posted by funguy: *
Anybody saw Yasir play today?. I would like to know about his style of play and if possible, a comparison with some other famous cricketer's style. Thanks.
Yasir is a very solid batsman, he looks very confident when he plays his shot, the last time I saw him was in Sri Lanka triangular series.
Pakistan’s new batting star Yasir Hameed dedicated his debut Test century to his late father.
Yasir said his father had always dreamed his son would one day become a world class cricketer.
Yasir made 170 on day two of the first Test against Bangladesh - the highest by a Pakistan debutant.
He said: "I dedicate this hundred to my late father who had predicted that I will score a century in my first match for Pakistan.
“My father was a lawyer but he always wanted me to play cricket and make a name for myself in international cricket.”
The 25-year-old became the ninth Pakistani and the 76th batsman overall to score a hundred on Test debut.
Yasir had made his one-day debut against New Zealand in a tri-series in May this year, but his highest score was 28 in five one-day matches.
He said: “I want to be a match winner for Pakistan and if this innings help us win the match, my job is done.”
Pakistan team manager Haroon Rasheed praised the rookie’s temperament.
“It’s too early to say that he is an answer to our number three problems, but his temperament proves he has the talent to go places,” said Rasheed, a former Test batsman.
I am very happy to see Yasir score a century and the highest ever score by a Pakistani batsman on his debut (Javed bhai scored 163 against NZ). In my humble assessment, this guy looks very confident and set from the first ball... unlike many other pakistani batsmen who struggle in the first few overs (worst example being Ijaz Ahmed). He tries to get on top of bowlers from the very first ball, and if you notice, he tries to hit a few boundaries in the first few balls that he faces. I have seen him bat, and his footwork and style are definitely high class. I know such comparisons are way too early, but his style and confidence do remind one of Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar.
JZ, your last comment deserves a thread of it's own.
Watch out, here comes the Indian Brigade. Asif bhai, kahaan hain aap?
Arey Yahin hain :) If Yasir is that good, then I wish him well. Anyways, I think it was an innings of immense character and so far he has been the only difference between the two side.
mashallah for yasir hameed! who says there’s no future in pakistans cricket? :k:
I caught a bit of him on a highlights reel from the recent eng tour and he plays like a more confident version of Roshan Mahanama IMO.
Good to see a youngster who bats coolly and calmly at the crease, as opposed to some of the seniors who still fall prey to laziness and rash shots.
I hope Inzi comes out of his binary scoring habit soon.
Well played Yasir :k:
Well Done Pakistan, congratz to Yasir, and INzi bhai come on lets hope he can bounce back. Interesting match indeed now.
SST
*Originally posted by Diablo Kazama: *
I caught a bit of him on a highlights reel from the recent eng tour and he plays like a more confident version of Roshan Mahanama IMO.
Mahanama?? come on yaar, Mahanama was a batsman with awkward technique and Yasir dont even shuffle, Mahanama was a 'bechain rooh' at the wicket.
The last time I saw Yasir play was in the Sri Lanks triangular series and he looked like a confident batsmen. He plays his shots with confidence and his defense is very strong, and he has the ability to hit boundries, unlike Hafeez. The little I have seen of Yasir, he seems to be a batsmen with class and elegance.
*Originally posted by saby: *
Mahanama?? come on yaar, Mahanama was a batsman with awkward technique and Yasir dont even shuffle, Mahanama was a 'bechain rooh' at the wicket.
That's what I meant by 'a more confident version of'. Take out the beychain-ness and replace it with a calmer frame of mind at the crease. He seemed to have a similar elegance to him as Mahanama did, but a more authoritative approach than his or say, Youahana's.
but you're probably right about the technique, all I got was a glimpse of him checking out some highlights cut short on a tape a friend brought over from the UK. Who would you compare him to? He's one of the many players whose game I'm very curious to see in detail.
Well done.
Your laying into the Bangladeshi giants.....you cornered tigers you.