Pakistan v Australia 1st Test Melbourne , Dec 26-30

Re: Pakistan v Australia 1st Test Melbourne , Dec 26-30

INSHA ALLAH we will win.. it was amazing to see a fight like that from Pakistan... this wicket so far is pretty much of a see-saw to me. Day one, was dead, day two, detoriated lil and then kept on going. So the first session of 5th day is most crucial. As Ehsan bhai said, we need to see the target as 252 and not 422.. 252 looks much easier wicket 7 wickets in hand.

I liked Yousuf's approach in 2nd innings. It was nice to see him coming out with a plan and bowlers bowling according to it. He had 8-1 offside field and bowlers consistently bowled outside off. Had Rauf held on to that simple catch, Watson would've gone on 99. Credit to Yousuf for being proactive. I would've liked him to use Farhat a bit more. Hopefully he'll learn from it.

A golden opportunity surely. Nice to see Pakistan showing some fight with both bat and ball despite the enormous first innings deficit

Australia still in a better position than us but you never know

It is now upto Yousuf, Misbah, the two Akmal brothers (…and Aamer) to see off Australia tomorrow

About time we won a test on Australian soil… it’s been 14 long years since our last win there (Sydney 95)
Wish the team all the best tomorrow :jhanda:

Butt actually played pretty decent. I think the only mistake he made was the ball he was dismissed on...

but yeah, there is no hope for Imran Farhat. just watch the first over of the innings to see Farhat at his retarded best. the guy has no brain. and if we're insistent on playing at least one opener without a brain, we might as well play someone like Nazir or Afridi.

If Pakistan don’t lose any wicket before lunch…we could draw this match or even win it… :jhanda:

go for it Pakistan!

It is going to be a battle of nerves. Australians will put a lot of pressure on Pakistani youngsters...plus the home crowd advantage.

Runs will come as long as they stay there till the end. If Yousuf doesn't get unlucky, he can get us over the hill. Umar Akmal is one win away from superstar status.
The match is ours to take!! Aussies can't beat us..only Pakistan can.

I am quoting myself, since now after Aamer’s ace hand, its going to be a batting revival for Pakistan Inshallah !

A sight worth everything - Umer playing with confidence…**:jhanda:

http://www.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/112000/112036.jpg

And as Kamran Abbasi put it, win or loose, its that aggressive winning attitude that the fans want from them - just that!

Cricinfo - Blogs - Pak Spin - Attitude goes a long way

This is a great opportunity for Pakistan. I fully expected aussies to dominate rest of the days after that horrible two days for Pakistan but fightback is admirable…

somehow little Akmal looked a bit shaky (maybe for the first time I have seen him that). Hopefully his nerves will settle come morning.

I am not expecting a miracle. I think both MoYo and Akmal will try to survive the first hour without any loss and risks and after that evaluate where they stand. Hoping for the unthinkable :jhanda:

Easier said than done, but let's break down what Pakistan needs to do. It's easier if Pakistan aims for small milestones for each session, rather than keep looking at psychologically imposing 252 to win.

First session tomorrow:
Make about 75 runs. Do not lose Any wicket. New ball will come due in the session, so need to be careful. Yousuf will need to do a lot of talking to Umar. No unnecessary shots, be extra careful.
At lunch, Pakistan 245/3

Second Session tomorrow:
Make about 85 runs. Lose 2 wickets at the most (Umar, Misbah). Need to keep the scoreboard ticking, without undue risks.
At Tea, Pakistan 330/5. Have Yousuf and Kamran Akmal at the crease

Third Session tomorrow:
Make the required 92 runs to win. May lose 3 wickets (Yousuf, Kamran, Ajmal). Step on the gas, but Australia will be put a lot of pressure. Need one reasonable batsman (Aamer) to finish it off. Asif is pretty much a bunny, so don't let it go down to the wire.
At end of play, Pakistan 422/8

:D kiya plan hai.

Someone needs to sms or email this plan to Yousuf! I bet you are/were a captain and/or a leader in your cricket team! I love it!

or do it with my revisions!! haha

:hehe: drawing room plans are the best ones…since they can’t fail…

The plan is good, but if pakistan bats the way they batted yesterday and try not to go after everything, pakistani might have wickets left cuz if it goes past kamran akmal things might get tricky, as aamer and rest of the company i dont think is capable of taking that sort of pressure, so in my scenario pakistan can afford a maximum of 2 wickets. Ya Allah please yeh match jitwaadey, mein shukraaney kee 8 rakat namaz parhoonga, Aameen :k:

*itna aasaan tou even EA Sports Cricket 2008 bhi nahin hai :D....*well I have actually scored 350 in T20 on difficulty mode 4/5! (5 being the hardest)

The first session is the key. The important thing is to not lose more than one wicket. None would be great...One of the two Yousuf or Umer Akmal has to get a big hundred

I like the plan, and hope it works out for Pak in the end. Like others have said, the first session is key... a slow scoring rate while defending wickets in that session is crucial. For the last few years, while chasing, Pak seems to do well if the initial stand is a longer one, even if the score isn't that great in the opening partnership. We need to have one of the Akmals AND either Misbah or Yousuf to take us into the last session with 100 odd or less required in the last session.

I just hope and Pray they fight til the very end ...... if they just stay at the wicket and think of it as Gaddafi Stadium Pitch Day-3 rather than MCG Day-5 + Just don't stare at the Score just look at how many overs to play out the current "bowler" then play upto next "drinks-break" and then play out the "session" ..... Runs will come their way Insha'Allah ..... It surely isn't about Scoring fast but rather keeping ur cool to see out the day

Both Yousaf and Umer must think about playing about 40-50 over together

Insha'Allah Pakistan will Win :)

I like the “quote” below ur Nick … it surely matches the mood :slight_smile: (atleast mine)

Easier said than done. Don't get me wrong. I'll be jumping up and down with excitement if anything happens close to what you laid out. But the truth is, I don't see it happening.

Following is what actually will happen ( I hope I am wrong though):

First session tomorrow:

We will lose 1 wicket within 10 overs of the first session and most probably it will my YOYO's. Then Misbah will come in and provide some stability but the run rate will be very slow. As soon as he seemed settled, he'll play some rediculous shot and will get out in his 20's. So, in the first session, we'll lose atleast 2 wickets for a score of 65 or so.

Second Session tomorrow:

Now Akmal brothers are on and will start the session aggressively and play some suparb off drives, but not for long. After making some 30-40 runs quickly, they'll be back in the pavilion and Pakistan has hit the panic button. Now the tail is exposed and we need some 140+ runs to win. So, game plan will change to try for a draw. Aamer will play sensibly but his partners will start getting out. By the end of the session, we have made 70 runs with a loss of 2-3 wickets.

Third Session tomorrow:
Ok, now we need 110 or so runs in last session and we have 2-3 wickets in hand. 8th wicket partnership will bring some 20-30 runs and then Ausi's will come dominant and Pakistan will lose by 50-60 runs.

All in all a good fight, but Ausi's have one :(