Pakistan tops countries running CNG vehicles

Thats really good news. I hope govt does more to promote clean energy. :slight_smile:

Pakistan tops countries running CNG vehicles

Monday, June 07, 2010

By Mumtaz Alvi

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan leaves behind Argentina to top the countries running the highest number of vehicles on compressed natural gas (CNG) and also having the highest number of CNG refuelling stations.

Already, the government, in its Economic Survey 2009-10, has noted that Pakistan has topped the list of countries where the highest number of vehicles are being run on CNG. However, experts believe the trend may receive a setback after a massive hike in the CNG charges, announced by the government in the budget for 2010-11, presented on Saturday.

The International Association of Natural Gas Vehicles (IANGV), in its study, has noted that Pakistan has the world’s highest number of CNG-run vehicles, leaving behind Argentina and Brazil, which led this phenomenon for many years.

A senior official at the Ministry of Environment welcomed the healthy trend in the wake of alarming pollution levels in many major cities in recent years, using POL products other than CNG.

“The increase in CNG rate is not my subject but, of course, this may discourage its use to a great extent,” he said in response to a question about unexpected hike in its price. The survey said by end of 2009, the number of CNG-run vehicles had gone up to over 2.4 million, whereas the number of CNG stations stood at 3,105.

The total number of vehicles, excluding hundreds of thousands of rickshaws and motorbikes, across Pakistan is now 5.67 million. Despite the fact that almost half of the vehicles are being run on CNG, air pollution continues to be a major concern. Lahore leads as the most polluted city, followed by Islamabad, the only properly planned city. Peshawar stands at No 3 regarding air pollution while Karachi comes at No 04, the survey pointed out.

Soaring prices of both petrol and diesel, which are amongst the highest in the region, left many people with no other option but to opt for CNG and in less than two years, the number of CNG-fitted vehicles jumped to over 2.47 million, which according to IANGV was 2 million in December 2008.

i believe that CNG is used more than gasoline(petrol) coz it’s cheaper.. our ppl or govt. don’t care abt the environment much:D..as they say “zaroorat ejaad ki maa hai”.. it’s rather a necessity.. i mean most ppl can barely afford cng so petrol is not an option.. i wish we could switch to electic powered cars or solar powered ones since therz plenty sunshine in most parts of pak throught the yr..:cool: now that’d be an achievement..

Re: Pakistan tops countries running CNG vehicles

^^ To petrol mafia kahaan say khayee gee.. kyon Ghurbat bRhanay key baat kertay hoo??? :)

/\ /\ un sey kaho, bachey kum he achey.. aik bacha karo, it's not hard to educate and feed a family of 3.. simple solution. abadi aur ghurbat donon kam honge.. before all that happens, our govt. needs to start a social security system for retired ppl so that ppl don't pop out more babies for their "burhape ka sahara"..

With gas supplies struggling to catch up to demand, Pakistan is predicted to be a graveyard of CNG kits and cylinders by 2015.

/\ /\ another reason why need to switch to other fuels modes..

jab tak hay, chalaye jayo...khatay jayo.
Its Pakistan we are talking about, ALLAH phir koi waseela paida kar de ga.

I agree with both you ! Pakistan is burning gas like there is no tomorrow but who knows which other natural resource we might dig up tomorrow. Jab phet toofan aa kay baghair hit karey wapas ja sakta hai to kuch bhi ho sakta hai.

what annoys me is that nobody cycles in a city like Karachi. When I returned from Amreeka I used to be very motivated to cycle to work but I was told I would get run over. 'ye amreeka nahi hai'. Probably true. But imagine how much you could save if people did make the switch to cycles.

^ yeh to Pakistanis ki izzat ka sawal hai ! log kiya kahain gy cycle pay travel karta hai :nono: …but honestly the horrible traffic here does not allow cycling plus with the pollution coming out of cars and buses you’ll get sick in one day.

wasay ignoring all factors it’s good to commute via cycle…in China it is sooo common.

yea.. for pollution u'd need some sort of mask. still cheaper to get a new mask everyday than travel by bus/car these days.

What Pakistani Cities need are proper zoning, housing and pollution regulations and a public transport system.

Zoning so that all businesses are in business districts, factories in proper factory districts, etc.

Housing regulations so that 10 people don't live in a 1 bedroom apartment. This causes disease, pollution, and burdens the city's water and electric systems.

Pollution regulations so that proper carbon emission is controlled.

And Public transport system like rail and subway system to ease the congestion.

^ hmmmmm sounds intelligent and effective but that might not be possible even in hundred years !

hi