Pakistan to restore Katasraj temples

This is a good move, and shows how our rulers are taking the lead in promoting tolerance and respect for other religions.

**Pakistan to restore Katasraj temples **

6/28/2006 12:37:22 AM

• By Shafqat Ali

Pakistan is all set to restore the Katasraj temples on the Islamabad-Lahore highway. The restoration work on the temples, in three phases, will begin next month. Rs 30 million (Pakistani) is expected to be spent on the first phase. Katas, famous for the Katasraj temples dedicated to Lord Shiva, is an important site for Hindu pilgrims in Pakistan. The Katasraj shrine stands on a site believed to be visited by the Pandava brothers in the Mahabharata epic. Katas is located on the Jhelum river’s right bank, 26 km from Pind Dadan Khan and 30 km from Chakwal. There are several myths associated with the Katasraj temples. The restoration of the Katasraj temples was planned during the visit of senior BJP leader L.K. Advani to Pakistan last year. He had laid the foundation stone for the temple restoration project, and promised assistance. On September 1, 2005, a meeting had been held on the subject between ruling Pakistan Muslim League chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain and India’s high commissioner to Pakistan Shivshankar Menon.

A comprehensive study had been conducted. The temple ponds would be cleaned, enlarged and fenced, sources said, adding that the Shiva temple and the adjacent area would be restored and debris removed. The missing staircase would be rebuilt and the walls would be plastered, they said. The sources said that proper pathways leading to the pools, the Shiva, Hanuman and Ram temples, as well as the stupa and Hari Singh’s haveli, would be built. The flight of steps to the haveli’s eastern entrance and the damaged wooden doors would also be repaired. New benches would be set there and new changing rooms for male and female pilgrims would be built, they said, adding that the youth hostels would be upgraded and proper facilities for toilets and drinking water would be provided. A website on the Katasraj Temples and a publicity campaign would also be launched. In phase two, the Satghara temples, the Hanuman temples and the Ramchandra temples will be restored. All the paintings in the Hanuman and Ramchandra temples will be treated chemically. In phase three, a site museum will be established and the Satghara temples, the stupa and the slopes of the hillock overlooking the pond will be landscaped. An open area with parking facilities on the eastern road leading to Kallar Kahar will be established, and a road leading to the site from various locations will also be built. **The total cost of the restoration project, over three phases, could touch $25 million, the sources added.
http://www.asianage.com/main.asp?layout=2&cat1=1&cat2=24&newsid=232907&RF=DefaultMain

Re: Pakistan to restore Katasraj temples

Thats awesome, particulary because my village is less then a mile from Katas... spent a portionof my life catching fish and swimming there:)

It is a good decision. This shall lead to more Indian tourists to visit Pakistan in order to pray at the Katasraj temples.

Kaya bat hai bhai !

Maza aa gaya !

Pakistan has taken the lead in spending large amounts of money to restore the holy places of minority religions, and hopefully others in the region will follow suit.

Why is the pakistani government doing this? This will certainly spell doom for our current and future generation. Read my signature, its a great excerpt from Iqbal's 'Shikwa'.

Heres Iqbal’s ‘Shikwa’ in full. Tremendous insights can be gained from this freat poem on the ills of the modern muslim world.

Have we tired of idol breaking?

Iqbal did not hate non-Muslims like you seem to do.

Grow up bro..

I been there couple of timees .. great site.. a set of ancient temples and some are in caves.. Lat time i went there some indian CM was coming and the fools painted some temples and ruines.. there was already lot of renovation work being done.. restoration should be done keeping the original worl.. pond is very deep and dark.. amzing place.. must see..

Iqbal did not hate non-Muslims like you seem to do.

Contrast this with what the atheist army of pakistan lead by the hypocrite musharaff is doing!

Did we tire of idol-breaking, and to idol-making turn?

Why is the islamic government of pakistan making idols?

Dear Arab scholar! your intellect reflects the limitation of typical street guy of Cairo that kind of matches those of Dolay Shah's rats (people with shrunken skulls).

Policies of Pakistan are way beyond what the likes of you could ever comprehend. So don't overstress the stuff covered by ghotra and leave Pakistan alone.

Bunch of tribals trying to understand modern geopolitics! hahahah.

Antiobl what is your understanding of this:

Also, I'll give you ten points if you point out who wrote this:

These men were probably inspired by Mohammad Ibn-i-Abdul Wahab who was born in Naid in 1700, the founder of the so-called Wahabi movement which may fitly be described as the first throb of life in modern Islam

The Wahabi movement which was a source of inspiration to the 19th century Muslim reformers was really a revolt against this rigidity of the Ulema

Antiobl, I await your response!

Bunch of tribals trying to understand modern geopolitics! hahahah

Did we not forge an empire with little more than camels and dates? Were not the persians, babylonians, romans, egpytians, phoenecians, assyrians and indians enslaved by simple tribals?

Tell me, what have the aboriginals of pakistan accomplished?

Still living in the past eh!

Yeah fear an Arab just because his Mama ji was a pehlwan (his uncle was wrestler).

Show if you have something O desert dweller! Oh wait, a tiny Israel is ready to whoop you one more time, while only thing you can do is commit terrorism.

Sure challenge our "aboriginals", while a tiny state squeezes your genit@l$.

Yeap and tell us about the Ali baba chali chor (Ali Baba and 40 thieves). Hahah! the story of thieves from you know who!

They say bigotry is rooted in ignorance...

The fact that said litle state, given it's current state of support from we-know-who, probably is in a position to whoop Pakistan something good, I don't think it really is something to boast about for a self-proclaimed nationalist...

Oh Bhai, your Arab brother boasts about his past while putting down Pakistani past.

Now pray tell, why it is bigotry to remind this Arab nationalist, and anti-human his current state of affairs?

This thread is about Pakistan doing the right thing by fixing up a temple. Your fascistic Arab brother continues spouting hate against that temple as well.

Do you even care to read the thread before opening up your wonderfully intellectual set of few brain cells?

You did not answer on what you believe is the correct interpretation of the excerpt I quoted from Iqbals Shikwa, Mr. Saxena!

Still living in the past eh!

You, in your fashionably hate filled angst, generalized against all arabs that we 'tribals' don't understand 'modern geopolitics' and I countered that these 'tribals' conquered all of the ancients kingdoms of lore! I then asked, in my usual calm and overbearingly intelligent style, what have the aboriginals of pakistan accomplished in regards to modern geopolitics? Squandered half of our country away? Not being able to conquer a bunch of impoverished half naked pagans even though given the backing of the USA and China? Unless by modern geopolitics you mean the ability to goof up about anything, then yes, the natives of pakistan have a thorough understanding of modern geopolitics.

No understanding of politics? Knave if you knew what I did you would probably cry!

Show if you have something O desert dweller! Oh wait, a tiny Israel is ready to whoop you one more time, while only thing you can do is commit terrorism.

A tiny israel that has the unconditional backing of the imperialist hegemon USA!

Yeap and tell us about the Ali baba chali chor (Ali Baba and 40 thieves). Hahah! the story of thieves from you know who!

Ali baba and the 40 thieves is literary classic that is met by no equal! I rest my case Mr. Saxena!

Oh Bhai, your Arab brother boasts about his past while putting down Pakistani past.

No, it is you Mr. Saxena who puts down peoples! I simply ask questions!

Now pray tell, why it is bigotry to remind this Arab nationalist, and anti-human his current state of affairs?

And pray tell dear Mr. Saxena how it is 'putting down pakistani past' when I ask what have the aboriginals of pakistan accomplished!

This thread is about Pakistan doing the right thing by fixing up a temple. Your fascistic Arab brother continues spouting hate against that temple as well.

Next you will call the magnificent and outstanding Dr. Iqbal a 'fascistic' individual because he wrote:
Why do you say I err, Is it because I'm an arab?

Do you even care to read the thread before opening up your wonderfully intellectual set of few brain cells?

picoico seems to be a wonderfully educated person capable of forming his own opinions without your intellectual belittlement, Mr. Saxena!

http://www.tribuneindia.com/2001/20011119/sp3.jpg