Pakistan to face India, Kenya in ICC-CT 2004

ICC ODI Championship preview: Pakistan v New Zealand
Pakistan and New Zealand fight to join Australia, South Africa and Sri Lanka as ICC Champions Trophy 2004 top seeds
ICC Media Release - November 25, 2003

The first two matches of the Pakistan v New Zealand One Day International (ODI) series starting in Lahore on Saturday will determine which of the two sides is seeded along with Australia, South Africa and Sri Lanka in the ICC Champions Trophy 2004.

Sri Lanka’s 1-0 series win over England was enough to ensure that it will be either third or fourth in the official ODI ratings on 1 December 2003 – the date from which groupings for the 12-team tournament in England next year will be taken.

This means Sri Lanka (107) will definitely avoid Australia (136) and South Africa (118) when the groups are confirmed at the start of next month.

Pakistan, also on 107, is in pole position to take the fourth remaining top-seeded spot provided it wins at least one of the first two matches in its five match home ODI series against New Zealand (103).

Defeats in both matches would see Pakistan’s rating slump to 104 while New Zealand would climb to 107 – enough see the sides swap places by the time the ICC announces the line-up.

If New Zealand loses both opening matches against Pakistan its rating will fall to 100, potentially causing New Zealand to be grouped with Australia for the second successive ICC Champions Trophy.

The chances of West Indies (103) finishing the month as one of the top four ODI sides were dashed when it lost the second ODI to Zimbabwe in Bulawayo on Sunday. The result means that even with victories in the remaining three matches of the series this week, West Indies can only improve its rating to 104.

If Zimbabwe (66) can win the last three matches in Harare it will improve its rating to 75.

West Indies’ defeat to Zimbabwe means that England (106) and India (105), both of which have no further ODI matches before 1 December, are almost certain to avoid the top seeds Australia and South Africa.

Matches in the ICC Champions Trophy 2004 will be played at The Oval, Edgbaston and Hampshire’s Rose Bowl in England from 10 to 25 September.

The tournament schedule and ticketing arrangements will be made available in early December 2003.

Groupings will be based on ICC ODI Championship standings on 1 December 2003 as follows:

Pools will look like this with current ICC-ODI-Rating

Pool 1: AUS; WI; Qualifier
Pool 2 SA; NZ; BD
Pool 3 SL; IND; KEN
Pool 4 PAK; ENG; ZIM

Well if Pakistan wins the 1st or 2nd ODI it’ll be almost sure to be top seeded with Ind + Ken in the group

what if Pakistan wins both matches? Will they go to the 3rd place ahead of Srilanka?

if pak wins both matches they’ll be NO1 team in the world. if they won the series, they’ll simply come out of the chart, thus they’ll get the trophy without any tournament :smiley: :k:

Setting aside all my personal bias opinions. Pakistan should be able to humiliate India in cricket.

what do you guys think? Asif,Umair,some1 spock , anyone?

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
Setting aside all my personal bios opinions. Pakistan should be able to humiliate India in cricket.

what do you guys think? Asif,Umair,some1 spock , anyone?

Sherybaba aap kee masoomiat par hansoon kay raoon. :)

Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
Setting aside all my personal **bios
* opinions. Pakistan should be able to humiliate India in cricket.

Sherry Puttar - Zahir hai aapne apne personal BIOS ko alag nikal diya hai. :)

If Pakistan wins the first 2 matches they will be number 3:jhanda:

inshAllah they will do it:k:

Who says Indian’s aren’t smart?I hate it when ppl start generalizing indians.

Thanks for pointing it out.I corrected it.

Ehsan bhai :hehe:

Coach Miandad confident of Pakistan victory against New Zealand](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/031130/323/ef99z.html)

LAHORE, Pakistan (AFP) - Pakistan coach Javed Miandad said his side will battle for a second straight win against New Zealand in their one-day match to put them in the same group as arch-rival India in a major tournament next year.

A win in the second match will lift Pakistan to number three in the world rankings ahead of the naming of groups for the biennial International Cricket Council (ICC) event to be held in England in September 2004.

The ICC is due to announce the seedings for the 12-team event after the second match of the five match series against New Zealand. Pakistan leads 1-0 following their thrilling three-wicket win in Lahore on Saturday.

“I am proud the way my team played, what else can a coach ask from his boys other than a win and my team is not wary of India or Australia,” said Miandad.

“If my players play to their potential they can beat any side in the world,” said Miandad.

If Pakistan loses to New Zealand on Monday, it will fall to fourth and will play England and Zimbabwe (9th) in group matches in the ICC event.

“I have never felt so proud of my team than after chasing 292 in the first match against New Zealand and I feel the team is gelling well,” he said.

Captain Chris Cairns hit an unbeaten 84 for the novice New Zealand side, in which six players were making their debuts. They scored an impressive 291-5 and were sensing a win until Abdul Razzaq’s 47 blasted off just 22 balls dashed the tourists’ hopes.

Cairns, named captain for the Pakistan series after regular skipper Stephen Fleming was ruled out of the tour due to an abdominal injury, said he was happy the way his young side played.

“I’m still extremely proud of the way the guys played. While we can be disappointed with the loss, it has to be put in perspective,” said the 33-year-old allrounder.

“I don’t think I’ve ever played first-class cricket with six debutants and for four-fifths of the game, we were pretty much on top and we got it whipped away from us at the end.”

New Zealand had caught Pakistan on the back foot and at 227-7 in the 44th over the home team needed 65 off 39 balls.

But Razzaq and Mohammad Sami hit the required runs off just 27 balls to expose the Black Caps’ inexperience.

“The guys will take away some important lessons and part of the mandate for this tour is to see what new guys are like in these sort of situations.”

“We tried to keep it calm, because sometimes you run around like headless chickens. We were trying to get the guys to stay calm and relaxed, and play the way they always have but in the end it slipped.”

The tourists threw all the youngsters into the first match and for Monday’s game can pick its strongest team. Dary Tuffey and allrounder Chris Harris, who rested on Saturday, are expected back in the team for Monday’s encounter.

Teams (from):

New Zeal;and: Chris Cairns (capt), Tama Canning, Craig Cumming, Chris Harris, Paul Hitchcock, Richard Jones, Hamish Marshall, Brendon McCullum, Jacob Oram, Mathew Sinclair, Daryl Tuffey, Daniel Vettori, Matthew Walker, Kerry Walmsley, Michael Mason.

Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Imran Farhat, Saleem Elahi, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood, Moin Khan, Danish Kaneria, Shabbir Ahmed, Mohammad Sami,Shoaib Akhtar, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umer Gul.

I have this feeling :ahaa: that if India manages to draw this tour game with Queensland…they will consider it a “Morale boosting victory” for next years ICC’s Trophy.

*~*pakistan 2 face india in icc champions trophy ~

england host arch-rivals!!!

*Pakistan will play arch-rivals India in the group stage of next September’s ICC Champions Trophy in England.
Pakistan’s 124-run victory over New Zealand on Monday was the final match before the deadline to announce seedings for the one-day tournament.

England face Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe, while South Africa are grouped with West Indies and Bangladesh.

Top seeds Australia are drawn with neighbours New Zealand and a qualifier from one of six developing countries.

India have rarely played Pakistan in the last three years because of a political row.

But after a recent thawing of relations Pakistan will host a Test series against their neighbours next March - for the first time in 15 years.

The Oval, Edgbaston and Hampshire’s Rose Bowl will host the Champions Trophy from 10 to 25 September, although fixture details will not be finalised until later this month.

Each group winner will go straight through to the semi-finals. *

ICC CHAMPIONS TROPHY DRAW

Pool 1:

Australia, New Zealand, Qualifier

Pool 2:

South Africa, West Indies, Bangladesh

Pool 3:

Pakistan, India, Kenya :dhimpak:

Pool 4:

Sri Lanka, England, Zimbabwe **

I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE CHAMPIONS TROPHY MY SEAT WILL BE BOOKED INSHALLAH FOR THE PAK-IND CLASH!!!

Kool.
So we are looking at Aus,India,SA,ENG semifinal . Kool.

Ducking Andey and Sare huye tamatar from KK.

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Kool.

So we are looking at Aus,India,SA,ENG semifinal . Kool.

in ur dreamz pal, pak will win it this time india are gonna be mere spectators dis time around

Its not fair. :smash:

I want groupings like:

Aus, Eng, Zim (1st, 5th, 9th)
SA, Ind, Ken (2nd, 6th, 10th)
Pak, WI, BD (3rd, 7th, 11th)
SL, NZ, qualifier (4th, 8th, 12th).

NEED TWO TICKETS FOR PAK vs IND ICC Champions Trophy clash in Sep 2004

Please PM me and I will pay you $100 more than the face value of the tickets.