Pakistan - The Tourist's Paradise!

Following on from a discussion that Sabah, CM and Extreme and I have been having on the Political Gupshop. My wife and I are planning to Saudi/Dubai and Karachi later this year - for Umra, shopping and Family.

Last year we toured througout PAK taking in Karachi, Hyderabad, Thatta, Lahore, “Home”, Islambad-Pindi, Murree, Taxila, Attock, Pesahwar and the Swat valley.

We saw the historical Muslim shrines like “Makli Qabarastan”/ Thatta, the usual splendour of Lahore and Pindi, Murree, the ancient Buddhist remains at Taxila, the Sikh Gurdwara “Panja Shaib”, Attock Fort and the most of the Swat valley.

Most overseas Pakistani’s oly know about Pakistan through their vllages and family etc, and have no idea about the huge splendour and richness of Pakistan which bring Switzerland and others to shame.

What have other Pakistani’s actually seen of their country?

Attaboy Malik!

I posted some stuff a while back along with Gupshup Kulture King NYAhmadi, Roman, Sabah to mention a few who contributed.

I'll put some more stuff here later but I'm a little busy right now. Incidentally, one of my favourite spots in Pakistan, the Shalamar Gardens of Lahore (built by the Moghuls I believe) are supposed to be in a state of neglect these days according to an article I read in a Pakistani newspaper. Is this true? If it is, it is a scandal.

I left Pakistan at an early age so I have only seen it in short glimpses but I did get to travel quite widely while I was there. Your best bet for info here is your pal NYAhmadi and probably Roman who have lived there for some period of time.

I don't really think of Pakistan as a tourist paradise, but it has potential which hasn't really been exploited. This is one area where successive govts haven't really shown any imagination and could be accused of neglect IMO. A country with such a rich history and culture should have been showcased a lot better.

ok

All true, but we have to work on the fear factor, first. People are scared to go there. They don't think of it as a welcoming place.

Sorry to be a wet blanket

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/frown.gif

, but sadly, I think it’s true.

Pak has the potential of becoming the new tourism paradise, however there are things that we need to do. Tourism infrastructure has to be build, change of Pak’s Image in the world and on personal level we should be able to understand how we best can sell Pak – in other words know Pak’s plus points and know how to ’naturalize’ the negative issues.

I’ve seen a little part of Punjab and that’s pretty much it. Oh well I’ve seen a tiny little bit of Kashmir too. My biggest problem is that I want to see it alone – one can’t really explore the culture with a group of ppl telling you ’chalo bhi’ all the time.

Anyway from what I have seen, (in real life and on TV), and read about our country – plus heard from others, (my Daddi Ammi especially), we have a unique culture. Plus everything else that a paradise needs. Ever heard a foreign tourist say ‘this is like the Alps just much bigger and the view is prettier’? Everyone knows about Alps but not many know about us! We stink in selling our selves – just take a look at PTDC’s website (ahem). That is ‘the’ tourism dev corporation, and it should at one glance represent Pak. Instead you can’t even read the ‘pushable text’! (Btw. I have criticized them through email plus offered help so I think I can say this now) There is absolutely no human touch. Nothing interesting really – where do you go if you wanna read about Pak’s culture before you invest in a tour? Or about the possibilities of adventures? About our food, history, literature etc etc? I was surprised to see Shangri la on the net – and we have some other hotels on the net as well, but that’s not enough. I can’t believe that we’re not using the net more actively to promote Pak, this doesn’t even cost much. Perhaps I like Roman’s and NYAhmadis writings about Pak so anything less just doesn’t seem good enough – but our tourism sites need help, or they need to learn how to accept free offers.

It’s also depressing to note that, when you are in Pak you can’t just go to the closest store and buy Pak post cards etc – in fact I don’t remember seeing any Pak cards anywhere in Pak. Our main locations are not even sold in Pak – do we need to wait till we have a perfect infrastructure? Why can’t we just promote it as it is, and work on things with time? Oh one more thing that I wanna criticize is – does anyone see Tourism (I think that’s what the channel is called), anyway, how come they too show all the average things in Pak – we have natural beauty so obviously we’ll see the beauty in the doc. What about some culture? I don’t even remember when I last saw a tourism prog. Where they talked about our food, never have I seen a prog. Where they mentioned our cloths our festivals etc etc. I mean things that fill color in a boring slideshow. Why not sell what makes us different from others?

but we have to work on the fear factor, first. People are scared to go there. They don't think of it as a welcoming place.<<

Ppl are scared coz we don’t help them understand – we let them go with the wrong impression, coz we think we need to be fair and tell the truth, even if we might be just as ignorant as them. It’s interesting coz we were talking about it in my class some time back; I mean the fear factor. And it was said that ppl are scared coz we are closer then others – Muslims and Hindus were being compared. So if Hindus were close to Denmark for instance, they would be criticized for their actions against other civilians etc. I don’t see many nations ignoring the negativity against their nation like we do (we really are unique!), and it’s needless to say that every one’s got their own problems. So how come we think it’s our duty to talk about all the negativity in Pak and ignore the beauty?

I’m not criticizing you or your post, it is an important factor, but we need to realize that this much self criticism makes us look like idiots, and none really cares about others problems. We don’t need acceptance from others nor do we need to convince others that we are ok. We are much more then just ok; we have a lot to offer. Sometimes I think we need to be a heartless stubborn nation and do what we think is best for us, ignore others and they will find a way to see the positively in us.

Yes, I agree with NYA that Lahore is probably the most interesting city in Pakistan. It is a fascinating mix of the old and the new. It is modern and swish in places but there is also the feeling of centuries old tradition steeped in some of the older roads and buildings. It's a fun place. Alongside religious monuments like the Badshahi Mosque there is the Chiryaghar (Zoo)which can make for a marvellously relaxing stroll in very nice surroundings. And then we have the famous Heera Mandi which is, I believe, a finishing school for dancing girls.

At the moment, probably the only tourists that do venture into Pakistan are the trekking/mountaineering types who want to take on the infamous slopes of K2. I feel that though some parts of Pakistan are quite accessible to foreign tourists, like Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad, etc, some of the more tribal areas are off-limits. I'm not sure how comfortable a westerner would be travelling to the North-West Frontier, for example. And I don't think those people would want to become a tourist attraction.

Places like Murree and the Swat Valley have definite potential though. Another big plus for Pakistan is of course the food. One of the pleasures of travelling through Pakistan is that every road, street, or gully has a large variety of food being cooked for the traveller. Whereas abroad, a lot of asian food tastes much the same because it has been modified to suit the western palate, I think there is a better variety in Pakistan because each place has it's own method of cooking. It makes me laugh when i see people in Karachi eating super-expensive burgers from McDonalds when they could eat far better food for much less if they weren't so susceptible to marketing.

Sabah's comments on postcards are so true. My niece went to Pakistan just last month and her teacher asked her to send her a postcard - guess what? no Postcards in Pakistan!

Sabah says:

Our main locations are not even sold in Pak – do we need to wait till we have a perfect infrastructure? Why can’t we just promote it as it is, and work on things with time? Oh one more thing that I wanna criticize is – does anyone see Tourism (I think that’s what the channel is called), anyway, how come they too show all the average things in Pak – we have natural beauty so obviously we’ll see the beauty in the doc. What about some culture?

Again, this is a fair point. India has a fairly successful tourist industry but it has all the unattractive sides to it that Pakistan has. Is it just a case of successful marketing? Yes IMO. I remember a female cousin saying to me while I was in Pak;

Paa, ithay TV programme a 'ich baray smart shart goray log lagtay ay.. Valayet 'ich aida' aN sary log?"

it never occurred to me before that the only image people have of America or anyplace for that matter is what they see on a TV screen. Maybe hungarians think everybody in India looks like Amitabh Bacchan?

So yes, I think we could do a lot more to promote Pakistan. How many of us have foreign friends who when we discuss our country with them say "I would love to see it"?

Another unusual aspect of our media is that while other nations tend to glamourise thier countries on screen, with us it is the opposite. TV programmes are downbeat and unimaginative, and I swear, if you go out into an ordinairy street it is more lively! Weird.

Zaaratif - I have to totally disagree with your statement that Pakistan is a danger to tourists - this is a perception that is spread by vested interests in the west, and could not be further from the truth. When we travelled thorougout Pakistan from Karachi to Swat we NEVER once experienced any harrasment or bother from any person - in fact the opposite is true. People were kind, courteous, very helpful and understanding - and were prepared to go out of their way to help us.

Did you know the mountains and peaks of Swat, Chitral, Gilgit etc are up to three times higher than the mountains and peaks of Austri or Switzerland, and their NATURAL beauty an majesty are an absolute marvel - an underdeveloped and underexplored treasure trove for Pakistan!

We felt some apprehensions about going to THATTA (because of dacoits in interior Sindh) and SWAT (beacuse of the stories we had read of "Women in veils" and "Pathan men brandishing guns" etc) but our apprehensions were totally mislaid . These places were not only safe but the people were very open and welcoming - in fact none of the "doomsday stories" we had heard were true.

I concur with Ahmadi bhai about the historical sights of Pakistan - lets not forget that Pakistan is the land of the "Indus Civilisation" centered on Mohenjodaro (upper Sindh) - a 5,000 year old historical site on par with ancient Greece! - WHY HAS PAKISTAN NOT EXPLOITED THIS? In fact througout Sindh there are the ancient Arab, Sindhi and Moghul shrines and Mosques etc going back to the times of Shabhaz Qalander and Mohammed Bin Qassim!

As for LAHORE and MULTAN - Ahmadi bhai has beautifully described their wonders before. But there are other sites in Punjab which we saw and found spectacular - the Splendid (and well-mainatined) "Panja Sahib" Sikh Gurdwara in Hassan Abdal and the Buddhist ruins at Taxila.In fact Taxila, and the Buddhist Gandhara sites in NWFP etc are of particular interest to Japanese and Chinese tourists, and an increase there would bring in massive revenue.

I THINK THAT WE SHOULD ALL WRITE ABOUT THE PLACES WE HAVE VISITED IN PAKISTAN - THE GOOD POINTS AND THE BAD POINTS? AND SUGGEST WHERE IMPROVEMENTS CAN BE MADE? THEN WE CAN CONTACT THE RELEVANT AUTHORITIES AND SUGGEST IMPROVEMENTS, INPUT AND IDEAS ETC??

I THINK THAT WE SHOULD ALL WRITE ABOUT THE PLACES WE HAVE VISITED IN PAKISTAN - THE GOOD POINTS AND THE BAD POINTS? AND SUGGEST WHERE IMPROVEMENTS CAN BE MADE? THEN WE CAN CONTACT THE RELEVANT AUTHORITIES AND SUGGEST IMPROVEMENTS, INPUT AND IDEAS ETC??<<

Sure, but that’ll make me look so small. Does what you’ve seen on TV count?

Bad points are easy to write it’s the same all over. It’s about roads, TaRoo men and boys – but I think this trend is slowly dyeing, coz last year when I was back home, I didn’t see it that much. Beggars are also something that I truly hate in Pak, I mean you can’t just walk away from a seriously handicapped kid. Chipkoo sells men are really irritating, just one hour at Shakar paRiyaaN and you feel like killing them. There is absolutely no info about hot spot anywhere, oh well perhaps I didn’t see any. And if you ask about places, ppl will tell you all the horror stories, and they might not even know what you’re talking about in the first place. Can you believe being told that there is nothing to see in Karachi?

I would dare to say that we have far better infrastructure then some other hot tourist attractions, we’ve just failed to sell it. I mean watch it in those travels channel’s programs – the only difference is that our roads etc are better then many other’s. We are the nation with one of world’s most beautiful languages and so far I’ve only read one tiny story in a years old digest that truly described the beauty of northern areas. And one can read details about European hotel bathrooms in Insha jee’s books and about roads and other junk in other writers books. Not even our moviemakers picturize their idiotic movies in Pak – did anyone see Muskaan? That’s one drama that I saw despite the lame story, acting and cast, just coz of the locations. Oh and have you seen Kalash?

I think everything is bearable, the roads, the beggars, chipkoos etc. But one has to know where to go, how you can get there, the possibilities etc. Where are we supposed to get the info? From the embassies? Why should they know anything about it anyway? What’s is their function anyway? Why can’t they promote Pak? Not even our embassies represent Pak (a flag alone doesn’t mean much) How about using our own carpet/furniture/Paintings etc?

Ehhh…I think I can go on and on with my criticism, and I wont get anything from that I’m sure.

AND SUGGEST WHERE IMPROVEMENTS CAN BE MADE? <<
Be proud of what you’ve got.
Start by selling it. (None other nation admits their faults so stop acting holy – unless it pays of course

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smile.gif

)
To that start by defining what we’ve got to sell.
Create curiosity about it by talking about it showing it etc. In other words by being visible. Be every where!
I guess rest will demand more efforts from travel agencies and government. I also believe that creating curiosity is our main problem. But luckily we don’t need governments approval or backing for this. However I think we should start sending as many mail as possible to newspapers, on-lines travel site, to government and let them see that there is interest, and it will pay to invest in this industry. (For ppl interested in this, I have done that, and mostly ppl respond, so don’t be shy a couple of lines do mean a lot)

I think this can be our first step. How about making an on-line site competition about Pak? We have some good graphics designers here on GupShup as well, so why not do something creative and in the process help your country? Or something that encourages ppl to read/write/explore Pak culture/history/beauty. Or a writing competition about Pak? And give the title ‘writer of the month’ to the winner or something?

THEN WE CAN CONTACT THE RELEVANT AUTHORITIES AND SUGGEST IMPROVEMENTS, INPUT AND IDEAS ETC??<<
Mailk Bhai did you get the mail I send you? Notice what is written about the embassies. I dunno how much difference we can make through any other GupShup sections other then stopping weird assumptions and baseless propaganda, but promote our tourism through the net is the easiest thing that we can and should do.

Sabah… woh you have put real thought into this! and your idea’s are really great. I’m going to think on it and give some suggestions, BUT PLEASE ALL OTHER PEOPLE GET INVOLVED! Promoting Pakistan’s tourism is one issue that can unite ALL Pakistani’s regardless of our political principles and backgrounds. After all who will benefit from increased revenue from tourism? but Pakistan and its people?

P.S. Sabah - yep got your mail, and I will reply either today or at the latest tommorrow

Work is damn busy and got to go to a company function on HMS Belfast tonight…but will reply back with positive ideas (hopefully?)

Nice topic folks,

I just wanna say a few things…personally I have not seen a lot of Pakistan except for Lahore, villages outside of Lahore and some parts of Karachi, but

did you guys ever see the episode of Lonely Planet of Pakistan.

well, the thing i wasnt to see the most or actually visit the most is the Kalash people who live near Chitral?? or somewhere in the NWP. I have done some research, and I know
you have to get a permit to visit them, and you have to get another permit to see them dance… but I dunno… that is something I will hopefully be able to see, and ofcourse maybe going on a mini trek, but i am not sure if its okay for a girl to go alone there… okay thats my two cents.

ok

Originally posted by Malik73:
*Zaaratif - I have to totally disagree with your statement that Pakistan is a danger to tourists - this is a perception that is spread by vested interests in the west, and could not be further from the truth. When we travelled thorougout Pakistan from Karachi to Swat we NEVER once experienced any harrasment or bother from any person - in fact the opposite is true. People were kind, courteous, very helpful and understanding - and were prepared to go out of their way to help us.

Malik, I didn't say that Pakistan IS dangerous, but that it is PERCEIVED as dangerous. The fact that people were kind to you, however, doesn't mean that they might not be hostile to non-desi tourists. I'm actually not sure about that.

What do the rest of you think? Would Europeans and Americans be in danger in Pak? There is a lot of hatred toward the West. Would this translate into crime against tourists?

Zara

thanx NY, for clarifying... yep the Kafir Kalash areas are what I really want to see most and will be on my list of places to visit...I think they are so facinating with their colourful clothing and the way the girls wear their hair and even their burial areas....amazing, we are lucky to have such a diverse country

I think it's not only the historic cities, but every single village or pind of Pakistan is a tourist attraction. The kind of culture and customs and people you meet there and can mingle up there is in itself an uplifting experience.

One thing that hurts me about Lahore is the gasoline pollution. Over the last decade, the number of automobiles and motorbykes have increased drastically, contributing to the ever increasing pollution. Mall road use to be such a beautiful place... it still is, but the patch of road from summit minar to further upto AG office is miserable during morning, noon, and afternoon hours.

Zaaratif - sorry if I misunderstand your comments about danger in PAK. But in fact that is a key reason why tourism in Pakistan has not been fully exploited, because of the PERCEPTION of danger rather than actual danger? In promoting Pakistan's tourism we have to tackle this perception head on, and then we will have removed one of the main reasons that hold back Pakistan's tourist industry?

We can work to tackle the problems BUT emphasise the POSITIVE aspects of PAK'S tourist industry - are there any PR merchants on Gupshop who can help??

Would Europeans and Americans be in danger in Pak? <<

The best way to find an answer to this is to ask a non-Pakistani, or try our tourism sites, check the question posted by net user. Or see how our culture deals with guests in general. I’ve noticed that gora’s get better treatment then Pakistani tourists. I once read a goras comments about Pak, he didn’t see much as he was journalist, but he was truly impressed by ppl’s hospitality and kindness. Sure there are areas where one shouldn’t go, at least not alone. But such places exist everywhere, even in Europe. This is of course no excuse, but if others can ‘ignore’ details about their countries, I think we can do the same. There is no need to promote a ’dangerous’ area; we can concentrate on other areas instead.

There is a lot of hatred toward the West. Would this translate into crime against tourists?<<
There is not lot of hatred against anybody; a common Pakistani doesn’t even hate India that’s not a part of our nature. What we have is stereotypes, and at most ppl will stare at ppl, or kids will try ’n touch them, but that’s pretty much it, you see that everywhere in subcontinent. One doesn’t even have to dress like tourist guides advise you to, at least not in big cities. You can see girls wearing jeans or modern shalwar suite in Lahore Islamabad etc. None really cares about it. Our ppl are obsessed with foreign items and ppl that’s what we say when we criticize them, how come same ppl can be accused of hatred?

If you ever go to Pak, try ’n tell ppl that you’re from some other place, and see their reaction, you’ll be allowed to do so much more – even take pictures where it’s not allowed. This is of course wrong, as none should be above the law, but this does say a little about our ’hatred’.

I think it’s not only the historic cities, but every single village or pind of Pakistan is a tourist attraction. The kind of culture and customs and people you meet there and can mingle up there is in itself an uplifting experience.<<

Yep, just don’t go there in summer

Every village has it’s own culture, accent, traditions, norm and values. Even music is different; our dhol wala for instance is the best amongst all neighboring villages. The best village is the one where ppl don’t close their front doors, not even at night.

The best way to attract tourists is through media...show programms on TV, make Websites, articles in papers...I think we dont even need govt support for this....
I may recommend a few places which remind you of paradise, they rarely receive visitors.
1. Dodi Patsar Lake...upper Kaghan
2. Maho Dand Lakes ... Ushu, Kalam,Swat
3. Makra Top+sri+paya...Kaghan
4. Fairy Meadows........off KKH near gilgit
5. Cutie Lakes ......... Gilgit
6. Rama Lake ............Skardu
there are more....many more....

Ok people,

check this Government site out about tourism in Pakistan.

http://www.tourism.gov.pk/

There’s loads of history here and it’s pretty comprehensive.

I will probably post some abbreviated pieces from the site because there’s quite a lot of local culture covered here but you should check the link yourselves…some fantastic pictures.