Pakistan the next IT Hotspot?

Something positive for ince :slight_smile:

Pakistan Now a Hot Spot for IT Outsourcing

By Anthony Mitchell
E-Commerce Times
11/02/04 5:00 AM PT

The biggest boost to Pakistan’s efforts to break into the global IT marketplace came on September 28, when India’s finance ministry announced an income tax of more than 36 percent on foreign firms with software, R&D and customer service operations in India. This tax proposal had been in the works since the beginning of the year and is expected to prompt U.S. firms to follow GE’s lead in selling off assets in India.

One Sprint. Many Solutions.

Why is Pakistan the hot new offshore information technology (IT) destination? This is because of a combination of favorable economic circumstances. Just when many Western managers are finally becoming comfortable with the idea of working closely with Indian IT firms, along comes Pakistan.

Pakistan is shaking off decades of “also ran” status. Funds invested into building educational institutions in Pakistan (when there were not enough jobs to absorb all the graduates from those institutions) are paying off as Pakistan begins to field a modern, highly productive labor force that is the envy of more prosperous but less tech savvy nations elsewhere in the region.

Why Care?
Why should the average Western IT professional, businessperson or IT consumer care? Because we are all going to be buying and using more IT outputs from Pakistan. To be a smarter buyer and user of IT products calls for a familiarity with Pakistan, even for those who do not initially intend to do business with Pakistani firms. We are all part of a global economy and Pakistan is an increasingly important part of that global economy.

The issues that Pakistan faces as it gears up for the global high-tech marketplace are many of the same issues that both advanced and developing economies face elsewhere in the world, as both service providers and service consumers. Pakistan is making no effort to gloss over its challenges, which makes those challenges easier to address.

With a population of 160 million and a land area almost twice the size of California, Pakistan is a smaller and more unified country than most of its neighbors, which increases that nation’s chances of solving its own problems and avoiding the mistakes that have plagued neighboring economies.

India Helps Pakistan
The biggest boost to Pakistan’s efforts to break into the global IT marketplace came on September 28, when India’s finance ministry announced an income tax of more than 36 percent on foreign firms with software, R&D and customer service operations in India. This tax proposal had been in the works since the beginning of the year and is expected to prompt U.S. firms to follow GE’s lead in selling off assets in India.

Any Western business manager who initiated or approved the establishment of an IT production or R&D subsidiary in India in 2004 could find that decision to be a career-ending move unless they have built in financial reserves to accommodate both the tax scheme of September 28 and upcoming taxes still on the drawing board.

A proposal is under consideration in New Delhi to tax activities conducted over international private leased connections (IPLCs) that carry most of India’s voice and data traffic to and from the outside world. There is also a proposal to replace state-to-state customs duties (octroi) with a national value added tax. Both those tax proposals could be combined into a single scheme.

U.S. IT brokerage firms, their U.S. clients and domestic Indian IT operations will be largely untouched by the September 28 tax scheme. But the traditional offshore migration path of outsourcing to an offshore location first – before setting up captive operations there – has been disrupted in India until economic reforms reduce the role of the Indian government in the economy and consequently reduce that nation’s revenue requirements.

For Westerners with long-standing personal ties to India, that country’s September 28 tax scheme could have both personal and financial consequences. For new Indian workers who hoped for a position with a Western firm based in India, that country’s revenue policy will alter careers, lifestyles and futures. Westerners can pack up and look for other another country to set up operations. However, what country?

Pakistan’s Advantages
Pakistan is the primary beneficiary of India’s decision to tax foreign firms with captive IT operations in India. No other economy can match Pakistan’s labor pool of educated English-speaking workers. No other economy can match Pakistan’s scalability , reliability and low-cost environment.

Pakistan offers five advantages over India:

1. Western experience: Executives at IT firms in Pakistan often have worked and gone to school in the U.S., which is Pakistan’s largest export market. Indian IT firms whose managers have worked in the West are generally more expensive than similarly positioned Indian firms, without always providing noticeable differences in program implementation capabilities. The willingness of Pakistanis to return home from the West stands in marked contrast to most Indians who arrive for school or work in the West and never look back.

2. Professionalism and integrity: The personal integrity of Pakistani managers is easy to identify and appreciate, especially by Westerners with business experience elsewhere in the region. However, the relatively open and trusting nature of Pakistanis has made them easy prey for Indian business brokers who have managed to cheat several Pakistani IT firms by offering to provide them with outsourcing contracts in exchange for up-front fees. The Pakistanis assumed that these Indians were open minded and charitable for coming to help less experienced firms in Pakistan gain access to international contracts, until the Indians took their money and disappeared.

3. Higher labor availability: Fewer holidays in Pakistan means less slippage in staff availability compared to India. IT firms in India are advised to hire a diverse workforce so that members of one community can enjoy important festivals while members of other communities cover the phones and keep production going.

4. Good accents: Pakistan’s official language is English. Only Kolkata (formerly Calcutta) and the Punjabi areas of India can come close to competing with accents in Pakistan, where many families speak English at home and where accent neutralization for non-native speakers of English is substantially easier than in India. Language skills and accents provide Pakistan with a major advantage over all other Asian outsourcing destinations.

5. Low cost talent pool: India’s top-tier labor force for IT work has been stretched thin in many areas, especially Bangalore, where escalating wage rates, turnover and higher outsourcing prices are reaching critical mass at the same time that the urban infrastructure has exceeded its carrying capacity. Annual turnover rates reported to InternationalStaff.net for most merchant call center facilities in India at the beginning of November are approaching 100 percent. High turnover rates are causing a shift to second tier Indian cities and to Kolkata. Escalating turnover rates are one of the Indian outsourcing industry’s dirty secrets. In comparison, Pakistan’s top-tier talent pool is largely untapped and turnover rates are less than 20 percent.

Safety and Security
Pakistan is not without challenges, some of which are real (improving the telecommunications infrastructure) and some are exaggerated, especially in terms of the security situation. Once you have lived through a few riots in India, once you have taught yourself how to quickly turn the lights out and lay down on the floor because you are afraid of what might come through the window, then Pakistan doesn’t seem so scary anymore.

Anthony Mitchell, an E-Commerce Times columnist, has been involved with the Indian IT industry since 1987, specializing through InternationalStaff.net in offshore process migration, call center program management, turnkey software development and help desk management.
e-commerce

thanks for sharing this wonderful article Zakk. Its refreshing in a sense that it doesn't paint us all in black.

What I don't understand is - Why do Pakistani lobbyists typically resort to "India sucks" message instead of saying "Pakistan is a good place to invest"

The article reads like a rant from Nawa-i-Waqt or Khabrain, which carry "analyses" like:

1. Pakistanis are tall, fair and strong meat eating people who are superior to the dark skinned short and thin rice/dal eating Indians

2. India is bad, Hindus are bad, India is evil, Hindus are evil

3. Etc.

Pakistan needs to hire better lobbyists and promoters who focus more on the benefits of doing business in Pakistan rather than parrot age old prejudices maquerading as objective analyses.

Talwar, that’s absolutely not true. A lot of Indians migrated to our side and we have a fair share of short and dark people (unfortunately). Even though we do have our typical beefeaters, but we are also blessed with a fair amount of paaneaters. These guys are responsible for dirtying our clean streets with their paan spits, and making our currency bills orange color. This is in addition to imposing their language on us.

:jhanda:

^^ :rotfl:

Re: Pakistan the next IT Hotspot?

*Originally posted by Zakk: *
Something positive for nice:) Pakistan Now a Hot Spot for IT Outsourcing By Anthony Mitchell

Really nice stuff from Mr. Mitchell. However Pakistanis need a lot more work to attract decent investment.

1. Do better job in sending trained labor force to the West
  2. Create tourist friendly environment
  3. Relegate baggie pants (Shalwar Qameez) to ceremonies and switch to pant shirt for daily use.
  4. Better tax structure for non-IT industry
  5. Reduction in corporate tax
  6. Increase in income tax and better tax collection system
  7. Make it a national goal to produce young graduates fluent in English, French and German.
  8. General sahib is doing a good job, but more needs to be done to rid the country from draconian laws targetting minorities.
  9. Every major Hindu temple in the country should be refurbished. Also declare old churches and other missionary hospitals schools etc. as historic and federally protected sites.
  10. Work with Bharat to open the borders between two Punjabs.

*Originally posted by Talwar: *
The article reads like a rant from Nawa-i-Waqt or Khabrain, which carry "analyses" like:

1. Pakistanis are tall, fair and strong meat eating people who are superior to the dark skinned short and thin rice/dal eating Indians

2. India is bad, Hindus are bad, India is evil, Hindus are evil

3. Etc.

are you serious ? is that what it stated or is that your interpretation of what they were saying?

What I don't understand is - Why do Pakistani lobbyists typically resort to "India sucks" message instead of saying "Pakistan is a good place to invest"

I am not sure if your indication is to this article or some other ones.. but if it is this one there nothing against India that I can find here... the author simply analysing why should people consider Pakistan and India has to come into this picture since it is the largest IT services exporter, it is like saying why go with DELL and if you can't afford IBM... and he backs up his analysis with some facts and figures...

Most “analysis” pieces by retired Pakistani military personnel in Urdu media use commonly used stereotypes to say:

1. Hindus are cowards
  2. Pakistanis are part of a naturally martial race unlike the Hindus
  3. etc. etc.

I’ll remember to post examples as I see them going forward.

As to the above article, the author makes the following “ponts” which are hardly backed up by any factual basis. Examples:

1. Pakistan’s law and order is better than India because India has regular riots

2. Pakistani English speakers have a better accent than most Indians because Punjabis speak better English. I’m not sure if the guy has heard people like Sheikh Rashid, ISPR Spokesmen, Chaudhry Shujaat etc. speak.

3. Pakistanis have more professionalism and integrity than Indians

Can you show me how one can make a general statement like the above without lookin like a joker?

I guess the thousands of Western firms happily doing business in India are idiots who employ poor English speaking Indians working for dishonest Indian companies under daily riots and disturbances. :rolleyes:

Like I said, there are better ways to promote business than by these cheap shots.

Most "analysis" pieces by retired Pakistani military personnel in Urdu media use commonly used stereotypes to say:

1. Hindus are cowards
  2. Pakistanis are part of a naturally martial race unlike the Hindus
  3. etc. etc.

I'll remember to post examples as I see them going forward.

this is an age old issue with both sides, and that mentality is changing but slowly.. media on both sides take cheap shots like this at each other it is not one sided and this is not just India and Pakistan issue this kind of attitude exists in all rival nations...

As to the above article, the author makes the following "ponts" which are hardly backed up by any factual basis. Examples:

1. Pakistan's law and order is better than India because India has regular riots [/quote]

He is hardly saying that Pakistan is any better than India in this regard, that is law & order not riots.

2. Pakistani English speakers have a better accent than most Indians because Punjabis speak better English. I'm not sure if the guy has heard people like Sheikh Rashid, ISPR Spokesmen, Chaudhry Shujaat etc. speak.

IT firms are not dealing with ISPR Spokesmen and Chaudry Shujaat they are dealing with IT folks and the management above that is totally different breed. But if you were to compare the accents of IT force in India and Pakistan, Pakistan tends to have an edge.. communication is very important in this kind of setup and hence it becomes an important factor but not the only factor.

3. Pakistanis have more professionalism and integrity than Indians

Ok, may be some exaggeration there may be he is quoting his own experiences.

Like I said, there are better ways to promote business than by these cheap shots.

There is always room for improvement

there must be some reason why Anthony Mitchell's great insight has managed to escape virtually all CEO's involved in outsourcing/offshoring. if what this article says is true, it must be the greatest miracle in modern business, seeing as how India is eating up 99% of South Asia's outsourcing operations and foreign investment. Mr. Mitchell just doesn't see the big picture.

comparatively-speaking, Pakistan's only potential is in call centers (lower wages/taxation). call centers are only one piece of "IT".

Chachoo,

I read Hindi and many vernacular press in India regularly and I have never come across blatant stereotyping like ones I see in your Urdu media. In fact, Urdu "columnists" in Pakistan often use fictiious names and write absolute lies, like Muslim leaders in India have to secretly renounce Islam and convert to Hinduism to hold office, or that there are no non-Brahman journalists accredited by Indian government or that every railway station in India has separate water taps for Hindus, low caste Hindus and Muslims etc.

Very rarely do I see a fact based op-ed article in your Urdu media. It's always emotion based no-linear thinking replete with cliches. You have some rare exceptions like Nazeer Naji and a handful of others, but on a typical paper 3 or 4 out of 5 columns tend to be full of stereotypes and bigotry when dealing with India. It's always "Hindus are full of hatred in their heart" "Bunya cannot be trusted" "Bagal mein churi..." "Islam Khatray main hai" etc.

Remember that we are not talking about jihadi media, but mainstream mass-circulation Urdu media, which is read my majority of Pakistanis.

Now about the Mitchell "analysis," I'm yet to see a study which says that Pakistani English speakers have less of an accent than Indian English speakers. Do you know of any such study?

If you want to promote the advantages of offshoring to Pakistani firms, you can talk of the points outlined by anti-OBL above, such as governmet incentives, untapped potential, cost advantages etc. The way that guy trashes India in every other sentence indicates that he is less interested in promoting Pakistan as opposed to just saying India sucks.

Why not focus on the peace process in South Asia and figure out ways to co-operate in the IT sector given the fact that it does not require human crossing of borders, visa hassles etc. We can have partnerships such that when a Pakistani firm is overloaded, it can use a sister concern in India, Sri Lanka or Nepal or vice versa. We can use SAARC to set up tarriff free partnerships given we all speak English from school age. There are many ways to find synergies if one can avoid this "Mine is bigger than yours" stuff.

....Very rarely do I see a fact based op-ed article in your Urdu media. It's always emotion based no-linear thinking replete with cliches. ....

No body gives a hoot to these idiotic Mullahtic crap-shoots. Their prupose is to entertain our public in the name of anarchy, show-shaw lism, and Mullahism.

Unfortunately, I think it is not the case. According to FBIS, which is a US-based foreign media tracking service, the circulation numbers for English media in Pakistan is at a few lakhs combined (even assuming same household does not read more than 1 English paper) given the cost and language barriers. That leaves many times more Pakistanis feeding on the Urdu media for “news.”

Here’s an example

Writing in Nawa-e-Waqt, (August 23, 2004) Hamid Sultan stated that in all the libraries of the world the name of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) was written with the required words of reverence but not in India. At first India too followed the practice of showing reverence but now India used Muhammad simply without any show of reverence like PBUH. In India people who have visited the railway stations have noted that drinking water is designated as ‘Muslim water’ and ‘Hindu water’, which means that Muslims are not allowed to drink the same water as the Hindus. Many Pakistanis are misguided when they propose friendship and trade with India.

Unfortunately, I think it is not the case. According to FBIS, ....

Writing in Nawa-e-Waqt, (August 23, 2004) Hamid Sultan ....

OK the vast numbers of Pakistanis read Urdu tabloids. Then they get vevy vevy angvy at Bharatis. So Bharatis go watch Kirkat games in Lahore. Those angvy Pakistanis throw rocks at Bharati Kirkatars. NOT!

Man where are you living? Tabloids print $hit and you lap it up. Poeple give their love and you ignore it. You prefer $hit over love? Strange! vevy vevy stvange.

*Originally posted by antiobl: *

OK the vast numbers of Pakistanis read Urdu tabloids. Then they get vevy vevy angvy at Bharatis. So Bharatis go watch Kirkat games in Lahore. Those angvy Pakistanis throw rocks at Bharati Kirkatars. NOT!

Man where are you living? Tabloids print $hit and you lap it up. Poeple give their love and you ignore it. You prefer $hit over love? Strange! vevy vevy stvange.

Not at all miyan. I for one am very happy with the mehmaan-nawazi of the Pakistani public in the recent months.

I wanted to point out that the level of stereotyping that is going on. Anyway, I'd not want to take away from the thread topic.

Very rarely do I see a fact based op-ed article in your Urdu media. It's always emotion based no-linear thinking replete with cliches.

I do agree that the standards between english dailys and urdu dailys are vastly different in Pakistan. While the nglish papers tend to be more fair, blanced and fact based, the uru papers rely on sensationalism. Having said that, and since talwar is the one pointing this out, it has to be said that even Indian english dailys, let alone hindi ones, are much more biased and 'sensationalistic' the their pakistani counterparts. The papers I'm talking about are Hindustantimes, Times of India and the Indian express. Cant speak for them all but I think these are the major Indian papers. As for these papers, their headlines are sometimes worse than the hourly papers sold on the streets in Pakistan.

Is this IT guy on something? He must have gotten his hands on some serious weed juice... I mean has he LIVED in Pakistan???
I really doubt his investment is safer in Pak then India. Crime is sky rocketing, infrastructure sucks (although India may be even less developed in this area then us?), huge lack in trained man power, weak regulatory system, weaker court system, unreliable and unstable political situation (I mean our govt rests on the back of a SINGlE person). And while I cant speak for Indian Bussines people, Pakistanis are definently friendly and generally cooperative, may be easy to work with them but ground realities are definently not theway this guy is painting them out to be.
I wish it were all true, but can we deny someting thats so obviously and blatantly untrue?!?!

Dude, seriously u are a joke. Please refer to the thread in General discussion about people with unhealthy online lives. Don’t you get it, no one cares about ur anti-Pak posts!
Please find a new hobby. Did you watch Shaq play for the Heat like I suggest to you a couple of weeks back? Seriously, its more interesting that spending your days critizing Pakistan on Pakistani dicussion boards.
I mean maybe you were cool back in '97 or so when they were testing nukes, but its done now man, seriously move on…