Pakistan team WC 2015 & WC 1992

Hello all,

been a while. WC is about to start so just could not stay away and thought to look around. Glad to see this place still buzzing.

I know it may have been discussed before. But people have already discarded this team as the weakest to travel. But there are some parallels with 92 team.. Let’s list them and make some khayali pulaos :slight_smile:

I will start..

• 92 team was also considered to be the weakest team ever to play in a world cup.

Re: Pakistan team WC 2015 & WC 1992

skippers being the oldest in our cricket history: imran and misbah

**pathetic batting line up: **trust me but only one player miandad averaged above 40 in ODIs in 1991 squad ..and guess what, only 1 player misbah averages above 40 in this team

no genuine 5th bowler option: aamir sohail, ijaz ahmad and salim malik in 91 and ahmad shezad, haris sohail and younis khan this time

**2 Genuine Leg Spinners: mustaq and iqbal skindar in 1991…afridi and yasir shah this time

Dependence on some left hand magic: **wasim akram in 91…7 footer left arm Mohammad irfan this time

**New young batting heroes from the same town: inzi in 1991 and shoaib maqsood now…**both from multan
2nd end fast bowler from the same town: both aqib javed and bilawal bhatti from muridke sheikupura

Old & slow middle order: **imran and miandad…younis and misbah

Similar middle order batting average: Imran averaged 33 and Miandad 42…younis averages 32 and misbah 42

1991 played two practice one-day matches against South Africa and Sri Lanka and lost both…will play 2 ODIs this time as well before the WC against NZ and already lost one!

*Note: this info is highly proprietary owned by Mr. PD with no use of any external source … for discussion purposes only and cannot be distributed *

Did you check the birth certificates of both teams. :hmmm:

welcome back and just in time for me to whip you again in fantasy cricket. Bring it on. :D

Thank you Ehsan bhai.. but woh kehte hayn na k 'hazaron khwahishayn aisi k hur khwahish pe dum nikle' ;)

I dont want to embarrass you by saying that, one day you will win. :D

oh i forgot that…

both teams had one genuine birth certificate each

imran khan and misbah ul haq!

rest were fake…

Look who's back...:D

Good points pd..

both teams suffered major bowling weapon losses. Saeed Ajmal now and Waqar Younis then. (for different reasons though)

Another one. Sarfaraz Ahmed now and Moin khan than, unusual wicket keeper batsmen.

Pakistan team WC 2015 & WC 1992

After feb 15th we might be saying both teams lost against India :bummer:

In 1992 we had Wasim Akram which made all the difference in the end

Also we had Inzamam and leading them was the greatest kaptaan in history of cricket :imran:

:emmy:

lol very smart…i put so many there upfront as i wanted to challenge guppies to come up with more…

laikan nahieen nahieen nahieen, ram qasam, bhagwan ke sogand, rab kee soon iss dafa hum jeetain gay.

Allah malik hai.

great points which i missed...waqar and ajmal were key weapons...and we lost both of them

and yes both moin and sarfaraz just OK behind the wickets but awesome with the bat

Ram kare aisa ho jaye

I think you have forgot that IK's fans celebrated 2 birthdays of him :p So your research is not upto mark.

I think to compare 1992 Pakistan team with present team is unjustified. Even though luck played a big role for Pakistan to reach semi final and eventually reaching final and winning the tournament, still,Pakistan of 1992 was much more formidable side (according to the standard of that time) than present pathetic lot.

For instance, in 1992, batting average of 33 and SR of 70 was considered as very good, when today standard is average of 40 and SR of 80.

Anyhow, let see what Pakistan had in 1992:

Batting: Miandad batting average (Ave: 42) in 1992 was second highest of his time, behind D Jones (Ave: 44). Anyhow, ability to stick on crease at times of need, Miandad was far ahead. Miandad use to make quick runs, but when if needed, he use to become blocker (and anchor). Miandad SR is unexpectedly low because whenever Pakistan batting collapsed, Miandad played role of an anchor, holding one end and that reduced his overall SR.

Other Pakistani players in 1992 world cup were also comparable with world top players of the time. For instance:

Batsmen:
Miandad: Ave 42, SR 67
Ijaz Ahmed: Ave 32, SR 80
Saleem Malik: Ave 33, SR 76
Imran Khan: Ave 33, SR 73
Amir Sohail: Ave 32, SR 65

Inzamam: Was a good find in Pakistan team that helped too.

Pakistan also had a parchi player Ramaiz Raja: Ave 32, SR 63
(Ramaiz was a pathetic test player, but was reasonable ODI player)

Then Pakistan had hard hitters:
Moin Khan: Ave 23, SR 81
Wasim Akram: 16, SR 88

Bowling: At the time, Pakistan fast bowling(Waqar, Wasim and Imran) was most potent in the world.

Though Waqar Younus (ODI ave 23.8, ER: 4.7, SR:30.5) did not play world cup due to injury, still, in World cup, Paksstan had best fast bowling attack in:

Imran Khan (Ave: 26.6, ER: 3.9, SR: 40.9)

And
Wasim Akram (Ave: 23.5, ER: 3.9, SR: 36.2)

In addition, Pakistan also had a potent spin bowler (Mushtaq) in the team and reasonable extra bowler Aqib Javed.

Aamir Sohail and Saleem Malik were reasobale as bowler, fulfilling 5[SUP]th[/SUP] bowler requirement.

Another parallel

1992: tub bhi Bhutto Zinda tha
2015: aaj bhi Bhutto Zinda hai

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/content/story/825999.html

or

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/video_audio/index.html?genre=113

Try again.

Good analysis of current Pakistan team, their chances, strategies that may work and key players to watch.

video not found