Pakistan team suddenly turned religous?

I was watching the game last night, and then the interviews with Waqar Younis and Saeed Anwar after the gane finished.

Waqar Younis kept mentioning Mighty Allah and the first thing Saeed Anwar said was Bismillah Irahma Nira Heem.

I’m impressed that they remembered Allah and implied that winning the game was thanks to the Grace of Allah.

But dont most of them drink?

This is what is called public relations.

it at least sets an example for the other non muslims i think

'Hate your enemy mildly; he may become your friend one day' - Hadith
'as for those who are slain in the cause of allah, he will not allow their work to perish ... he will admit them to the paradise he has made known to them' - Surah 47:7

well its simply a nice approach, Allah ka naam le kar to khel rahe hain!

~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!

Saeed Anwar i guess is a lil more religious than the rest of his team mates… recently in Sharjah during a day/nite match, he stopped for the Adhan… n in some other match in sharjah… right after the adhan he went back to the pavillion to pray (atleast thts wat it looked like). It’s nice knowing tht they mentioned Allah (SWT) and also saw’em bowing down right after winning the match.

Farhana: yeh most of them do drink

Well they may do that after night of boozing,clubing or gambling in casino. I far as my knowledge goes most of pakistani criketers drink so what so big deal if they predent to be relegious those who know them knows they are not.

"Away from Eyes......Close to Heart"

They should turn religious as Afghan team has set an example for the players of Islamic Republic of Pakistan by praying n giving azaan in da ground n they did the same after da second test by Younis Khan giving azaan n Saeed Anwar doing imamat.Almost da whole pakistani team prayed at Old Trafford except for Wasim Waqar n Shoaib Akhtarn 1 or 2 others.Afridi also prayed.But they prayed 2 rakaa nafal of shukrane which is not acceptable or not valid after asar prayer but they would learn this.

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Bro, you forgot Youhana, he's Christian.

Thank you, come again

Originally posted by farhana:
**I was watching the game last night, and then the interviews with Waqar Younis and Saeed Anwar after the gane finished.

Waqar Younis kept mentioning Mighty Allah and the first thing Saeed Anwar said was Bismillah Irahma Nira Heem.

I'm impressed that they remembered Allah and implied that winning the game was thanks to the Grace of Allah.

But dont most of them drink?**

Farhana, how come these few words show that pakistani players have "turned religious"? And how can we say that they were "non-religious" before?

All this is beyond me.

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**Bro, you forgot Youhana, he's Christian.

wat abt youhana ?

I don’t know about the recent match.. but I never heard Wasim Akram saying “Alhamd ollilah” or “Insha Allah”. It was always “We played very well” or “We will do great” blah blah.

While its great to feel confident in your abilities, as muslims we should do our best effort and leave the end result to the will of Allah.

If Waqar et al, now mention Allah, it should be appreciated. I don’t think this warrants an attack on their conduct elsewhere.

Originally posted by Scratch:
** Farhana, how come these few words show that pakistani players have "turned religious"? And how can we say that they were "non-religious" before?

All this is beyond me.**

Arai, you never heard of sarcasm?

How do YOU guys know they are not religious?

I hate it when ppl jusge others just on their outward appearance!

I mean, I don’t think any of us (myself included first) are saints so shouldn’t we be concentrating on improving ourselves rather than judging our muslim brethren?

I dont think person's religuous beliefs should have to do anything with a person's sports capabilities. Lekin achi baat hay Allah kaa naam lena!

But on one side we have Javed Miandaad, Waqar and Saeed and then on the other hand we have other names hahaha! jo kaafi Pakistan kaa naam foriegn countries main oonchaa kartay hain!