Pakistan takes on India and China

What cracks me is that some people who turn a shade of green at the sight of any good word about Pakistan and laugh themselves silly, might be crying over the next few years as Pakistan takes off.

Special Report: Pakistan takes on India and China](http://business.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,8209-1471684,00.html)

THEY call Yasin Lakhani, chairman of Karachi’s stock exchange, the “incorrigible bull”. And last Thursday he was in full charge when the index closed at a record 7,014.

Lakhani is not the only bull in Pakistan’s commercial capital. A new wealthy middle class has been created in the five years since General Pervez Musharraf took over as president after a military coup. Since then the stock-market index has shot up by a factor of almost seven — and all the gains are tax free.

When Musharraf seized power he hired Shaukat Aziz, a former Citigroup investment banker, as his finance minister, and last year Aziz became prime minister.

Having fallen behind India and China in attracting foreign investment, the Pakistani government is going all out to persuade western businesses to use the country’s cheap labour and land to make money.

In an interview with The Sunday Times, Aziz said: “When the world was taking off in the 1980s and 1990s, we were busy with internal politics. This did not provide the continuity that a develop- ing country needs.” **Aziz now argues that Pakistan has a stable political environment, and is a better place for western companies to outsource than India or China.This year Pakistan’s exports are set to hit $14 billion (£7.4 billion) and Musharraf is predicting that GDP growth will rise from 6.7% to 7.5%. **

So despite extremist factions and regional violence, Pakistan believes it is on a roll. Its leaders deny that its recovery is underpinned by American support when it threw its weight behind the United States after September 11.

In Karachi, BMW has just opened its first dealership, and if you want any new car you have to wait a year or pay a 15% premium.

The price of an average house for a middle-class professional in Karachi has soared from $80,000 to $350,000 — and because there are only limited mortgages, analysts argue this is not a speculative bubble.

It is little wonder that Ali Ansari, chief executive of Pakistan’s biggest broking house, Aqeel Karim Dhedhi Securities (AKDS), said: “We may not have the Porsches and the red braces, but apart from that it is almost the same. You only have to go to a high-society party or wedding and you will see how elaborate it is. We have never had it so good.”

**Many foreign businessmen are still suspicious about Pakistan’s recovery, but last week they came to the country’s first export exhibition. There were delegates from 75 countries. About 100 were from England, including suppliers to Tesco, Asda and all the big high-street clothes stores. **

Musharraf, who has faced two attempts on his life, admits that the country has to rebrand itself from what its critics describe as a “Kalashnikov culture”. He said: “There is a perception that you would see extremists firing bullets and exploding bombs all over the place. This is a total misconception.”

**The country has just issued its second international bond, this time raising $600m, an issue that was two times oversubscribed. The Karachi stock exchange was the best-performing exchange in 2003 and last year it rose a further 50%. More than 1m individuals now own shares on the Karachi exchange and more will follow with a number of big privatisations in the pipeline. This could include the demutualisation of the stock exchange.

AKDS’s Ansari believes even at today’s level the stock market is not overvalued. He said that after Pakistani’s nuclear blast in 1998, foreign investors, who accounted for up to 20% of the market, dumped their stock. Share prices crashed and in some cases dividend yields rose to 18%. He said the average price/earnings ratio is still only 12.5 and the average yield is about 7%. **

Ansari is one of many Pakistanis who have returned to their country to seize the opportunities. Since 2000, his firm has raised its staff from 24 to 300 and is building a new HQ.

AKDS accounts for 18% of the $700m that is traded daily on the Karachi exchange. Overseas investors account for only 1% of the market.

Ansari said: “They have not understood the situation as it has unfolded. There has been a structural change in the economy, we have come out of the debt trap and our interest rates have come down.”

Much of the stock market’s rise is due to privatisations, and now the government is looking to foreign investors to take over the management of assets that were once owned by the state.

**The appetite for this is currently being tested. The government is trying to sell 26% of Pakistan Telecommunications, 51% of Pakistan State Oil and 73% of Karachi Electricity Supply Corporation.

Waseem Haqqie, chairman of the government’s board of investment, said: “The government recognises that the private sector is the engine of growth and the government has to wash its hands of running business.”

Musharraf is talking the language that big business likes to hear. Last Wednesday evening, he told delegates to the Expo exhibition that 700 foreign companies were operating in the country, and they were all making double-digit returns — some were making 50%. He said the hourly labour rate is only $0.37 (20p) in Pakistan, lower than India ($0.58) and China at ($0.67). “Pakistan is the venue for the best possible returns on any investment,” he said. **

But some overseas investors remain sceptical. Margins may be high but when you strip out security costs and political volatility, they quickly diminish.

However, a growing number of foreign companies agree with Musharraf. A Manchester firm called Drillcorer has just moved production of its drills to Pakistan. The result is that it can now sell them for £15,000 rather than the £65,000 it would have to charge if they were produced in Britain. Honda is moving two motorcycle factories to Pakistan.

For the past two years Pakistan’s manufacturing sector has being growing at more than 15% a year. Foreign investment, led by America and Britain, has been growing at 100% a year.

These are encouraging statistics, but if Pakistan and its population of 150m is going to sit alongside India and China it must make sure it can sustain growth. Critics still recall the days when the country’s government was riddled with corruption. As one British businessman said: “There was a long-standing joke about the minister of mines — so called because he said that’s mine and that’s mine.”

Musharraf and Aziz say they are determined to root out corruption, but this looks a big challenge. A lot of the wealth created in the past five years is said to have come from insider trading.

Charles Jamieson, chief executive of Premier Oil and chairman of the Pakistan Britain Trade and Investment Forum, is one who believes the current government can succeed. He has been operating in Pakistan for 15 years and said: “There is more stability. We had a period from 1989 to 2000 when we had four governments. At that time political stability was poor and we had more corruption at higher levels.”

Textiles are Pakistan’s biggest export and the country’s manufacturers have invested $4 billion in their factories over the past four years, in preparation for the lifting of export quotas at the start of this year. A further $5 billion investment programme is planned. Pakistan will now have to compete on quality and price alone and it will be a big test for its 1,000 textile companies. Aziz is determined that as many companies as possible will succeed in the new Pakistan. He said: “Use Pakistan as a regional hub for manufacturing and then export, because the location is unique. The challenge now is one of implementation and making things work better. The Pakistan of today and tomorrow is not the Pakistan of yesterday.” As for Lakhani, he is predicting the Karachi stock market index will hit 8,000 — but he won’t be drawn on where it will go after that.

Re: Pakistan takes on India and China

Great read ehsan bhai :k: things are definately looking up here and will continue to be this way inshallah

Ehsan, I guess that would be me who you think is “green”. Actually, It is not even “saffron”, but a double doese of reality “red, white and blue”. I am surprised you are not able to see the difference, consideirng you are a person in the Financial services industry along with being the big cheese here.

While it is ok to 'bolden" Aziz’s comments, below the most important comment that is actually the reality when a company looks to outsource..as the first step in analysis.

"So despite extremist factions and regional violence, Pakistan believes it is on a roll. Its leaders deny that its recovery is underpinned by American support when it threw its weight behind the United States after September 11. "

Pakistan as a first step should change it’s name from Pakis-stan (any “stan”, raises a red flag in the current and future business enivornment).to “beautifulpeopleland” or “Punjab nagar” or even “Rakaposhi”…think re-branding.

This is just one of many other quotes or factors in the your post above that it will make it highly unlikely for Pakistan to ever compete with the likes of India or China…unless, India or CHina invest directly in Pakistan to take benefit of the $.15 cost arbitrage. Pakistan has missed the boat…countries like Malaysia, eastern Europe, Ghana, Phillipines, Latin America and many more are better placed than Pakistan.

Oh and I don’t laugh at Pakistan going after the outsourcing market, I laugh at comments like “better accents…” because accents can be neutralized and in the call center environments, the key is not the ability to speak in the scottish accent, the key is to be able to understand the garbage that accents spouts, which is gained through training around listening skills. Additionally, I am from delhi and North India, with almost 3 times the population of Pakistan with similar of better accents, makes me chuckle at comments like these.

When Paksitanis say such stuff, I am reminded how little they know about their larger neighbor who is actually the global leader in the market they are trying to penetrate. Competitive analysis is the first step in assessing the market opportunity. Not the $.15 cost arbitrage advantage. Companies will galdly pay $1 more per work/unit if they feel their investment in people and infra will not be at the mercy of jihadis. I use the term JIhadi with great care. when you are sitting in a board room int he UK or the US and Paksitan hands over 3 more of its firebrand citizens decrying how bad the US and UK is to the FBI, Pakistan is dropped from just above Bangladesh to below Kenya on country attractiveness list.

I know, some of this might no tbe what you want to hear..but truth is “red, white and blue” :jhanda:

Seems to have hit a nerve. :)
We are not talking about competing or overtaking other countries at the moment. What we are talking about is a beginning, just like India and China did a few years ago. Who knows what happens next. Yes, it can go all pear shape, but equally it could take off. The main thing is Aziz and Musharraf are getting their priorities right and any steps they take to get the country away from extremists will be supported by a vast majority of the people.The more investment that comes in, the more employment there is the less the spread of extremism. So to me these are steps in the steps in right direction, whether they will suceed remains to be seen.

^ I guess all the gyan just dropped went to nothing… :frowning:

What Aziz and Musharaff are suggesting has been already done by other countries, not India and CHina, but countries like the ones mentioned up above. Pakistan might look at competing, overtaking, sleeping with whatever…with the likes of ghana, serbia and malaysia. But CHina adn INdia are way too far ahead in both Manuf and Services industry. Infact china cannot compete with India in the services sector and India vice-versa in Manuf. And both these countries will continue to dominate the market for the next 50 years.

They are suggesting that give us outsourcing work and we will stop training fundos. :slight_smile: The private sector doesn’t respnd well to such development models…UN might. There are ample places where cost arb can be leveraged without worrying about getting beheaded if your call center is having a party. :slight_smile: You cannot leap frog and become market competitive in knowledge based industries…maybe manuf but not IT services and ITES. It takes a generation of investment in education, systems, processes and abiltity to deliver in scale. 4 guys in Islamabad with "beautiful accents: doesn’t a sector of growth make.

So while it gives a few schmucks a hard-on when they read “Pakistan takes on India and China”. Those in the know, can only laugh. :hehe: and smile “red white and blue”

While Pakistan is prospering in more ways than one, the stock market is not a realistic gauge of determining that. Currently the index is over 7000, and by the looks of it, they are aiming for 8000. Frankly, that is sad. Currently, the market is overvalued by at least 25-30%. Index inflation is easy to come by, what with the furious buying that arbitrages do on behalf of a single member with access to multiple SE memberships. By the time the small investor gets in, the big players dump their stocks and go out on a high note, making trillions out of their billions, and leaving the millionaire commoners scrambling to pay up the shortage to their brokers.
KSE needs some serious regulations tacked on to its haphazard ways. Arbitrages should be reined in, and some serious knowledge should be dispensed to the commoner, in order to keep them from just throwing away their cash. In a market where 3 or 4 members own 95% of the stock that changes hands, you can surely have index inflation, but no maturity.

I know it sounds gloomy, but in the absence of any solid regulations and implementations, this is how it will be.

What you are saying about Pakistan in relation to India and China was the same thing which some said about India and China as well a few years ago. There is nothing concrete about these things. To say that Paksitan will no be able to comepte with India or China even in 50 years time is absolute rubbish. How do you know? Conditions can and do change, so yes you can laugh but that is not a laugh of someone in the know but rather one of ignorance. Keep on laughing.

Right Ehsan..:rolleyes: It is far too asy to make statements like “Mali gets ready to take on SOuth Korea and Japan”..hey you never know in 50 yrs any thing can happen.

Akif, in that way, It seems that until the regs are in place, it is probably better for the common person to be not so heavily vested in the capital markets. too little info and you are always a day late and dollar short.

yahaaN par itni roshni kiouN hai:konfused:

ohh :ahaa: kissi ki batti jal rahi hai :smiley:

I don't think there is any intrinsic difference between people of Pakistan and India - therefore it should be entirely possible to emulate and even compete. First things first though. As long as it is a dictatorship forget about about serious foreign investment (if that is your holy grail). Sure they may sprinkle a few millions here and there to pease a 3rd drop politico but think - will any really great company betting its future by putting critical manufacture in Pakistan without knowing what will happen after one man leaves?

If on the othe hand, competing with India or China is all you want (as the quote says "These are encouraging statistics, but if Pakistan and its population of 150m is going to sit alongside India and China it must make sure it can sustain growth.") then all you have to do is start having a lot of fun and make a lot of babies

Why, I ask, has Premier Oil fired more than 90% of its work force in the last six months?

People Jamieson are paid to say whatever it takes

This might be news for you all but Pak has a higher population growth rate and birth rate than India and definitely China

http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/geos/pk.html#People

People  	   Pakistan  	

Top of Page
Population:
Definition Field Listing Rank Order
159,196,336 (July 2004 est.)
Age structure:
Definition Field Listing
0-14 years: 40.2% (male 32,919,441; female 31,058,929)
15-64 years: 55.8% (male 45,381,469; female 43,377,613)
65 years and over: 4.1% (male 3,123,594; female 3,335,290) (2004 est.)
Median age:
Definition Field Listing
total: 19.4 years
male: 19.2 years
female: 19.5 years (2004 est.)
Population growth rate:
Definition Field Listing
1.98% (2004 est.)
Birth rate:
31.22 births/1,000 population (2004 est.)

ttp://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/geos/in.html#People

People India
Top of Page
Population:
1,065,070,607 (July 2004 est.)
Age structure:
Definition Field Listing
0-14 years: 31.7% (male 173,869,856; female 164,003,915)
15-64 years: 63.5% (male 349,785,804; female 326,289,402)
65 years and over: 4.8% (male 25,885,725; female 25,235,905) (2004 est.)
Median age:
Definition Field Listing
total: 24.4 years
male: 24.4 years
female: 24.4 years (2004 est.)
Population growth rate:
Definition Field Listing
1.44% (2004 est.)
Birth rate:
22.8 births/1,000 population (2004 est.)

^ that's one way to try catch up with I&C!