Many people dont know about this fact that Pakistan has been a been the base of a World power for 500 years and a super power for over 200 years from about 2nd BC to 3AD. During the Kushan empire period with their capital at what is now Peshawar and Charsadda.
The Kushans were an indo-european people who first moved south from the chinese Tarin basin into bactria and what is now Afghanistan & part of Tajikistan about 135 BC. And then later on they gained control and over threw the Parthian and Scythian control of the region of Gandhara ( a region in what is now Afghanistan and Pakistan) in 2nd century BC. and carved out a territotry which included all of Pakistan, Afghanistan, tajikistan, uzbekistan, kyrgystan, turkmenistan, northern Iran and northwest India and area as far as the aral sea.
The most important king of the Kushan dynasty was King Kanishka who lived between 78AD and 128 AD. Kanishka adopted Budhism and is hailed one of the greatest emperors of the region. His inscriptions and seat of rule is still preserved in Peshawar meusem. The art and sculpture developed during this perios was un matched at the time. It is also said that it was Kasniska who also first founded a dynasty in kashmir. Their state language seems to have been several including kharoshti which is said to be progenitor of zabaan-e-hindkoh (trans: mountain language of the indus country) which is spoken in NWFP.
The strength of the Kushan empire was so strong that Romans under the famous Mark Anthony had to send an embassy to Kanishka begging him for a truce and friendship. The Parthian rulers (a dynsty based in Iran) were defeated by the romans asa result of this and Persia remained under the shadow of Rome and Gandhara (Pakistan
Well hmmmm!
Yaar Sultan how does this make Pakistan a super power past. Wouldnt it be more politically correct that our part of the subcontinent was a super power.
Waisay I think thinking about the past is useless! We need to think how we can make Pakistan a super power and stop living in the past!
originally posted by ali beta:
Waisay I think thinking about the past is useless! We need to think how we can make Pakistan a super power and stop living in the past!
ek baat theek hai aur ek ghalat.
without studying past we cann't achieve success in future. did you ever think why ppl in first world can't get their high school diploma without studying (past)world history???? ppl study past for success in future.
aur theek baat yah hai kay
We need to think how we can make Pakistan a super power
Originally posted by AliBeta:
**Well hmmmm!
Yaar Sultan how does this make Pakistan a super power past. Wouldnt it be more politically correct that our part of the subcontinent was a super power.
Waisay I think thinking about the past is useless! We need to think how we can make Pakistan a super power and stop living in the past!**
I guess you were trying to say something which went right over my head. If you wanna say that our part of sub continent was super power go right ahead. It wont be wrong. If someone wants to say that our part of Aisa was super power sure go ahead. If Persian and assyrians were asian empires versus european empires go right ahead. Classify them as you want to. Politically correct thing would be to say that this super power was based in Pakistan.
History: a chronological record of significant events, often including an explanation of their causes. a branch of knowledge that records and explains past events
** History of pakistan:** The history of Pakistan can be traced back to at least 2500 BC,. Pakistan has strong cultural and historical roots. Half a dozen civilizations have flourished here and left their imprints. Historically, Pakistan is one of the most ancient lands known to man.
[This message has been edited by cool down (edited April 05, 2002).]