Pakistan Sue New Zeland

Pakistan files compensation plea against New Zealand
Reuters - 3 December 2002

Pakistan has filed a compensation plea with the International Cricket Council (ICC) disputes committee against New Zealand for refusing to play a triangular series in September, a cricket official has said.

“Since New Zealand pulled out of our triangular one-day contest this year after conveying their participation, they should compensate for the loss of revenues,” Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Director Chishty Mujahid told Reuters.

He said that the compensation claim had been submitted at the last executive board meeting of the ICC in Colombo in October and had been sent to the disputes committee.

New Zealand refused to play in Pakistan’s Golden Jubilee triangular contest also involving Australia in September, saying they had never given final confirmation of their participation.

But Mujahid said that New Zealand had agreed to play in the one-day contest.

“They agreed to play the triangular in lieu of their decision to play just two Tests and not the regular three Tests during their rescheduled tour of Pakistan in April,” Mujahid said.

Pakistan eventually had to shift the Golden Jubilee tournament to Nairobi after Australia expressed safety concerns about playing in Pakistan. After New Zealand’s withdrawal, Kenya agreed to play in the tournament.

“Our point is as the tournament was shifted to a neutral venue there was no reason for the New Zealanders to have any security concerns about playing,” Mujahid explained.

He said Pakistan was waiting for a reply from the ICC on the matter, but declined to say how much compensation Pakistan was seeking.

Pakistan say they have lost millions of dollars in revenues due to cancelled or relocated series since the September 11 attack on the United States last year.

They have been forced to play home series against West Indies and Australia this year in neutral venues abroad.

© Reuters

UMAIR316 Ji

I wish the PCB the best of luck in their attempt to ''sue'' New Zealand for loss of Revenue due to New Zealand not having participated in a Triangular Tournament in Sharjah.

What loss of revenues - the PCB says Millions - I say this is highly ambitious if not funny.

The two Test Matches played in the Pakistani Home Series between Pakistan and Australia in Sharjah attracted may be 2,500 Spectators.

There were very few International Sponsors and Advertisers during these two matches.

So how can Pakistan claim that they would have earned Vast Sums of Money by attracting Hundreds of Thousands of Ticket Paying Spectators who would have paid the Millions of U S Dollars that the PCB is claiming to have lost due to the non-participation of New Zealand?

UMAIR316 Ji : The money spinning in Cricket is mainly when India and Pakistan play with each other in the Sub-Continent itself. These matches will draw upto USD 500 Million in Sponsorship and Advertising if it is a ''World Cup'' Type event or possible USD 100 to 250 Million in sponsorship and Adverising if it is restricted to an Indai-Pakistan Event.

I hope the Pakistani Government can remove the obstacles that the Indian Government is facing to RE-START the India-Pakistan Cricket Matches.

P.S. I would be most grateful if any Sharjah or Colombo based Gupshupies can give us the exact figures.

Have a Nice Day

Originally posted by bdsurti: *
**UMAIR316 Ji

I wish the PCB the best of luck in their attempt to ''sue'' New Zealand for loss of Revenue due to New Zealand not having participated in a Triangular Tournament in Sharjah.

What loss of revenues - the PCB says Millions - I say this is highly ambitious if not funny.

The two Test Matches played in the Pakistani Home Series between Pakistan and Australia in Sharjah attracted may be 2,500 Spectators.

There were very few International Sponsors and Advertisers during these two matches.

So how can Pakistan claim that they would have earned Vast Sums of Money by attracting Hundreds of Thousands of Ticket Paying Spectators who would have paid the Millions of U S Dollars that the PCB is claiming to have lost due to the non-participation of New Zealand?

UMAIR316 Ji : The money spinning in Cricket is mainly when India and Pakistan play with each other in the Sub-Continent itself. These matches will draw upto USD 500 Million in Sponsorship and Advertising if it is a ''World Cup'' Type event or possible USD 100 to 250 Million in sponsorship and Adverising if it is restricted to an Indai-Pakistan Event.

I hope the Pakistani Government can remove the obstacles that the Indian Government is facing to RE-START the India-Pakistan Cricket Matches.

P.S. I would be most grateful if any Sharjah or Colombo based Gupshupies can give us the exact figures.

Have a Nice Day

First of all that two match series was "test" matches series and here we are talking about a one day tourney there is a differnece b/w both forms in the eyes of spectators and sponsers. 2ndly if you insured something you always claim maximum amount. Dont you ? :)

*Originally posted by Nakhrey Wali: *

First of all that two match series was "test" matches series and here we are talking about a one day tourney there is a differnece b/w both forms in the eyes of spectators and sponsers. 2ndly if you insured something you always claim maximum amount. Dont you ? :)

**Nakhrey Wali Ji

2ndly if you insured something you always claim maximum amount.**

You very rightly state that the Matches are Insured. In that case the PCB should claim from their Insurance.

How can they sue New Zealand?

In addition if in a Test Match the attendance is down to 100-200 per day then it is extremely doubtful that the attendance would shoot upto 20,000 or so for a One Day Match.

Have a Nice Day.

Bdsurti, have you ever been to Pakistan?
Do you know anything about one day cricket in Pakistan?
Did you watch the 3 match one day series between Pakistan and Newzeland in April?
average of 25k-30k people were in attendence in those 3 games.
Yes test matches is a different thing, people don't seem to be interested in it anymore, but when it comes to one days, tens of thousands of people show up.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Bdsurti, have you ever been to Pakistan?
Do you know anything about one day cricket in Pakistan?
Did you watch the 3 match one day series between Pakistan and Newzeland in April?
average of 25k-30k people were in attendence in those 3 games.
Yes test matches is a different thing, people don't seem to be interested in it anymore, but when it comes to one days, tens of thousands of people show up.

UMAIR316 Ji

My good Sir, I have never ever disputed the Crowd attendance in Pakistan. The New Zealand Team would have played at a Neutral Venue i.e. Sharjah, Nairobi, Casablanca or anywhere else but other than Pakistan.

Would you be so kind to let me know of the Crowd attendance in Casablanca (or wherever in Morocco) and Nairobi for the One Day Tournaments and also in Colombo and Sharjah for the Three Pakistan Home Series Tests between Pakistan and Australia.

sueing is the best thing....yahaan US ko agar khaansi bhi aaye to sue kiya jaa sakta hai to pak team ka to haq banta hai sue karne ka....good job pcb