Pakistan should prepare bouncy tracks against India: Wasim Akram

Wasim Akram, the former Pakistan captain, has advised Pakistan to prepare bouncy tracks in next month’s home series against India to unnerve the visitors’ strong batting lineup.

“The advantage of pitches is with Pakistan, they have a transformed Shoaib Akhtar who can rock the Indians on hard pitches,” he said. Akhtar, considered to be the world’s fastest bowler, took 17 wickets to help Pakistan beat favourites England 2-0 in a Test series early this month.

"With his pace and accuracy Akhtar can target any Indian batsman, and more so Sourav Ganguly,:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: " said Akram, who has taken 414 Test wickets and a world-record 502 one-day wickets. Ganguly was selected for the series against Pakistan after his ouster in the last Test match of India’s home series against Sri Lanka created a public furore.

Akram said Pakistan would have to play positive cricket to avenge the home series defeat it suffered when India last toured Pakistan in 2004, their first since 1989-90. India won the Test series 2-1 and the one-day series 3-2, their first wins on Pakistani soil since they started playing against their neighbours in 1952. Pakistan, however, salvaged some pride by levelling a three-Test series 1-1 and beating India 4-2 in the one-day series earlier this year in India.

The 39-year-old Akram, regarded as the best left-arm paceman to play the game, said Pakistan were better organised under Bob Woolmer than India under Greg Chappell.

“Woolmer is now the number one coach in the world, he has infused fighting spirit and consistency in the team which wasn’t Pakistan’s forte two years ago,” Akram said. Akram praised Inzamam-ul-Haq’s captaincy and said he had given confidence to the players. "Now every player knows that his place is secure in the team, if he has the confidence of the captain who is also at his best form.

“Inzamam, Akhtar and leg-spinner Danish Kaneria are key to Pakistan’s success,” he said.

A five-member Indian security team returned to India on Thursday after inspecting the match venues and a final tour itinerary is likely to be announced shortly. India are scheduled to play three Tests and five one-day games.

SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakvind/content/story/231058.html

Re: Pakistan should prepare bouncy tracks against India: Wasim Akram

Now all we need is Amir Sohail’s “ever so refreshing” comments against the above mentioned names, and we are family. :smiley:

I agree with Akram here. Making bouncy wickets will favor Pak a lot, as they have genuine fast bowlers available, with Afridi and Kaneria. India on the other hand has enough medium-pacers with Kumble.

If Pak will go for batting tracks, then it will help Indians (more) as they have got VERY strong batting order. I still remember what happened last time India visited Pakistan. Keeping the same wickets as were there for Eng can result in another "Sultan of Multan".

Akram ki baat mai logic wala dum hai and my sentiments are bit moderate.

To undermine Pathan, Agarkar, Zaheer would be a mistake. (To think that they might not take advantage of the bouncy track)

IMO Pakistan's batting line up is better compare to Bharat right now. Specialy if Indians play Dhoni both in Tests & ODI than Pakistan has one worry less. Dhoni is a chance player and his keeping sucks!

I agree ^^
Akram bhai kay apnay zamanay mein kabhee fast wickets nahin buniee when both him and waqar were on fire. Abb jub khud retire ho gya hay tu fast wickets kay mushwaray day ta hay :hehe: :hehe:

--------cvabn-----------
:smiley: Wicket bun bhi kaisay sakti hai, jab banatay hain to ‘angan teera’ ho jata hai,

Such kaha hai buzurgoun nay, yaan shayad mainay kaha hai, “Barsaat aur Cricket season mai aik baat zaroor hoti hai - Donno mai he maindak nikaltay hain terr terr kernay ko” :rotfl:

How did you figure that out?

I see MoYo coming out in NFL kit.

Bouncy Wickets...I say BRING IT ON.

The ironical thing is that in my opinion, India's best chances of winning against Pak will be "Bouncy Wickets" (even after accounting for GANGU's possible problems).

The logic is simple :

India and Pak are evenly matched in Batting.
However Pak's bowling is superior to India's in the pace department.

But if you prepare "bouncy wickets" , you give India's mediocre pace attack a chance thereby eroding Pak's bowling advantage (considering that Pak's batting lineup can be just as fragile as India's on bouncy wickets ).

Do you not think that if a ‘mediocre’ bowling attack can gain some advantage, a ‘better’ bowling attack will also be able to gain extra advantage… hence the ‘difference’ remains?

Cap, but in case of batting the same bowling advantage of a mediocre attack can become an extra disadvantage for the mediocre batting lineup. Younis/MoYo are not so good at bouncy wickets either.

This is not a maths class, its a game of cricket and you cannot apply 2+2 =4 logic.

Look at it this way :

I believe it will be very difficult for India’s mediocre bowling to dismiss Pak twice on a flat batting-friendly wicket .

However, on a bouncy wicket, India’s bowlers may stand a chance.

Now this is not the same thing as saying that Pak has no chance of winning against India on a bouncy wicket. Pak can still win…all that I am saying is that if you prepare bouncy wickets you are helping India’s bowling more than you are helping Pak’s bowling (because they are already good).

-------------cvabn---------------
I guess I watched the games against the lankans and over all his batting performance todate. To 'brand' him I would say he's a powerful slugger with an easy going style that calls for easy traps like the one's you see for Afridi.
His keeping don't have the agility needed for the job and so far its been disasterous for the Indian.

You seems to have a different perspective, Yah?