Pakistan’s forex reserves exceed $16 billion

Already historic achievments being bettered all the time. :k:

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/updates.asp?id=28773

**Pakistan’s forex reserves exceed $16 billion **

Foreign exchange reserves of Pakistan have exceeded from $16 billion during the week ended on September 1. During this period, an increase was seen in the reserves of the central bank whereas decrease was seen in the reserves of the commercial banks. According to the chief spokesman of the State Bank of Pakistan, Syed Waseemuddin, reserves of foreign exchange, after an increase of $260 million during the week ending September 1, reached $16.0789 billion which is the highest level in the history of the country. During the same period, reserves available with the central bank after an increase of $289.9 billion reached $13.804 billion whereas reserves with commercial banks after a fall of $29.2 million came down at the level of $2.2749 billion.

Re: Pakistan’s forex reserves exceed $16 billion

:clap: :clap:

I just returned from witnessing the :aejaz: party. Awam pouring out in sheer jubilation. Bhai wah. What an historic achiebment indeed.

ONE MORE REASON TO “SELECT” EL PRESIDENTE’ FOR FIVE MORE FREAKING YEARS.

I wish every country could replicate our grand successes at econawmix and political reform.

:aejaz:

rising reserves means currency stability which benefits ghareeb awam more than rich people. pakistan imports about 85% of its oil requirements along with some critical food items. imports have to be paid with foreign currency. declining reserves result in rupee weakening which means higher import prices. for example, currently price of barrel of oil is $75. at current exchange rate this translates into Rs 4500 per barrel. this would rise by 10% if rupee would depreciate by 10%.

pakistanis, largely due to stupidity of the media dont, realise the connection between economic stability and household wellbeing. unfortunately the only way to teach people is to allow people like zardari and sharif unfettered access to power. their mismanagemnt and corruption will destroy pak economy as it did in the 90's when our reserves were zero despite the fact that our debt increased by $20bn. we will see how important issues like democracy and jehad will be when average household will wont be able to aford essential items taking for granted now.

alright. Thanx for the insight into the future :biggthumb

^ oh really. how much does it have to do with exports. it's a busted economy. if forex stops coming the form for remittances, the country wouldn't have cash to pay for a month's worth of imports. If the US dollar had kept it's value, the Paki ruppee would have been trading at 80-90 rs to a dollar.

You wanna know impressive. Bangladesh is far impressive. It has been able to cut a lion's shares of textile exports mostly at the expense of Pakistan. I will let you ponder upon the reasons.

actually, after about 50 years of pak's existence, pak's total exports amounted to around $8bn. during 8 years of musharraf's rule, exports have risen by more than 100% to $17bn. thus export growth achieved under 8 years of musharraf rule is equal to 50 years of export growth before musharraf. reason is simply that unlike previous governments, musharraf has appointed right people at the right place which is the single most important factor that will determine the fate of pak.

2 Likes

so what's your type - am interested in knowing. type mushy or wishy washy?

I nominmate Abdullah K for power. He's a bright lad.

yaar please… keep it to private messaging :mad:

So have the fuel prices for the "awaam" gone down yet?

pakistanis, largely due to stupidity of the media dont, realise the connection between economic stability and household wellbeing. unfortunately the only way to teach people is to allow people like zardari and sharif unfettered access to power. their mismanagemnt and corruption will destroy pak economy as it did in the 90's when our reserves were zero despite the fact that our debt increased by $20bn. we will see how important issues like democracy and jehad will be when average household will wont be able to aford essential items taking for granted now.

You conveniently forget that army is the power behind these people. Army killed ZAB and traditionally a child became "leader" because of the "brand name" established, army is responsible for bringing up idiots like Nawaz Sharif to powers who could've been busy as an industrialist today and probably "helping" Pakistan economy but no army had to elevat him in politics. Similarly a [EMAIL="b@stard"]b@stard like Altaf Hussein becomes "owner" of largest city/highest revenue generating city... thank you army :Salute:

waesay u give too much credit to WB etc etc's reports. Don't forget it is one of these same international agencies that declared Pakistan as the second easiest country to do business in.

and to beat a dead horse :kursi:

mush govt. has the benefit of being major non nato ally and yada yada while NS and BB had to contend with the title of the most sanctioned country in the world. i.e. bye bye Market Access.

mush also gets the benefit of $10 billion no questions asked dawllars, plus the never too early death of hundi.

otherwise the purchase of dawllars from open market, its impact on inflamation and the highest ranking of the same on “Issues that bite me in the behind” by the common peeps is there for all to see.

Continuation of policies. It is a telling statistic when u consider that in last 30 years, PPP has been in govt. for a grand total of 5. SO while comparing apples with oranges, we need to make sure they r at least the same age.

ur turn :biggthumb

Alhamdulilallah. God Bless Pakistan :jhanda:

Absolutely enlightening. So by doing the maths it's fair to say that 1 year of Musharraf's rule is better for the country's economy than 6 years of rule by anyone else in our history! :D

people who are giving a damn to increased reserves sub sai aagay hotey criticize kerney main ager reserves kum ho rahey hotey.

Lets accept the fact. There are remittances and investment. I have met many US based Pakistanis who have invested in Stock Exchanges in Pakistan and before shaukat aziz there was no such thing as "investment in Paksitan" for an average Pakistani.

While criticizing anyone we should criticize their acts and not the personality. Keeping democracy aside (you can criticize it 24/7), Musharraf and Aziz have done so much good to Pakistan that should be appreciated.

Musharraf's and Aziz's ethnicity is a liability as said by the Chicago Tribune..

so we agree external factors had a part to play. Thats kinda cool cuz i would've been really interested to see Mush's performance had 9/11 not happened.

Plus, every govt. makes mistakes. How many dawllars did expats get robbed of then? Surely it couldnt be more than the combined worth of the capital market "crashes" we hear about every so often? Or the cement and sugar cartels looting people in broad day light? But thats another debate. I admire NS for at least standing up when he was required to. Post dhamaka policy..sure wrong move. But has anyone conducted any studies on what the country would have to face if all the capital had taken a mid-night flight to UAE? That should be really interesting.

Edit: and before we digress too much...this $16 billion..where did it come from? Expats remittances? Open market operations..or by minting new money? I believe Ishrat made a statement to some NA committee on this issue several years back and he admitted most of it is dollars bought from the market.

paid by the US and other donors.

The same experts who would not give us a penny post may 98, and shower us with billions of dollars in soft loans, defer old loans and start praising over night. obviously very professional.

Then again if u r right and the economic growth is all inclusive, why the hell does the president not want to take credit for it? Why is he hiding behind his unifrom? He has obviously been misled by these same "global financial experts" who combined together can't cast a single vote. So people who do matter, such as myself, actually do end up clutching at straws when they find price of rotti jumping from 2.5 to 4 immediately after budget. But I suppose these global experts don't tell u that....do they?

These 16 billion dollars … it comes to around 2 billion dollars a year from 1999 to 2007. These dollars that we see as reserves are dollars that Pakistan receives every year from various sources but could not spend that in imports (and other dollar expenses). Big chunk of those dollars are workers remittances. These dollars, rather much more than that came to Pakistan every year and left Pakistan every year before Musharraf took over in 1999.

Difference is that, today large part of those dollars reaches State Bank of Pakistan and gets shown as reserves of Pakistan but in past it use to reach Swiss Bank accounts and bank accounts of other western countries, and use to show in the bank account balance of Pakistani thugs and choors.

It is estimated that Pakistani thugs and choors have over 100 billion dollars in various western banks (plus they these thugs and choors also have dollar investments in properties and shares all over the world). These dollars that should have been with State Bank, but crooks and thugs got hold of that and now they are in western banks.

These crooks and thugs stole those dollars not directly, but actually they stole rupees and then they bought dollars from open market from those rupees to send them abroad. Because of their demand, dollar was always short in open market and exchange rate kept rising. When duo thugs came to power, dollar in open market was Rs 20 but when NS left, dollar in open market was Rs 60 plus.

If as someone claims that Pakistan government bought a lot of dollar from open market, than what is wrong there? Pakistan paid rupees for those dollars and those who sold dollars needed rupees. It shows that those dollars was Pakistani bound dollars. It was earning of Pakistan as all dollars, be they earned through exports, remittances or from whatever sources, they are earned by people who after earning sell it to government and take rupees. Similarly those who want dollar from government give rupee to government and take dollars. Hence all dollars that people sell for rupees are Pakistani dollars (even if they sell it in open market).

In the past instead of Pakistan government getting that dollar, corrupts use to buy them using their corrupt money (rupees) and send them abroad.

Stability in open market dollar exchange rate shows that corruption in Pakistan has decreased substantially else open market dollar rate would kept going up because corrupts would have kept buying those dollars and with their demand, dollars would become scarce, making their value increase. But since there is less corruption, demand for dollars are less, and thus exchange rate is stable, plus dollar reserve is increasing.

All these increase in dollar reserves is result of reduction in corruption and nothing else.

doubt? There r no doubts in my mind. Doubts r created when u need second hand info to gauge the economic activity. I "question" the govt. no's. Hell, State Bank itself doesn't quite agree with govt's numbers. And I "question" the political motivation of the "global experts" who took a u-turn as big as the one Mush took on Afghanistan, regarding our economic outlook. Even my doodh walla is intelligent enough to predict how long these appreciations will last. And lastly, I experience the economic miracle every day so no doubts here sir.

and my reply is a tangent only to the extent that there is no reasonable answer when I ask why with such economic turn around does Musharraf need to impose himself on the country, with full military regalia? It's a simple question, with no answer.