Pakistan playing a major role in Indian film piracy...

Some Indians here have often said that the piracy going on in Pakistan has had no effects on the indian film market… Well think again, download the newest Indian movie from those IRC file servers, and have a look at whose VCD they are using → SADAF, a Pakistani CD company based in Karachi… IRC is a global chat network and there are so many servers where channels, such as #apna-movies on dalnet (the worlds largest IRC server) allows you to search a users file server for the latest movie and then download it for free…

Hats off to Sadaf…

As a OP of Apna, our policy is against ripping VCD's, as we're concentrating now mainly on DVD (SVCD).

But if you think about it, the amount of desi's that come onto these desi channels for movies is very.... less. Unfortunately not many people know how to use it or understand the waiting period in downloading movies, music video's, etc.

how does this affect the indian film market again? IRC downloads are for the entertainment needs of the average desi student who parks his butt in a comp lab 24/7. i'm pretty sure not many in india have the bandwidth to download movies. even in the west, i dont see any serious desi-movie watcher downloading movies religiously off the net, afterall renting dvds is only a buck or two, a DSL line is fifty per month.

Queer sahib, India has introduced DSL for about a month, as well as cable... The point is, this will have a bad effect on the indian market abroad, as the ppl you mentioned make up the audience in a theatre...

New movies can also be found on p2p networks as well... Hopefully, this will expand and this piracy will grow...

*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *
As a OP of Apna, our policy is against ripping VCD's, as we're concentrating now mainly on DVD (SVCD).

But if you think about it, the amount of desi's that come onto these desi channels for movies is very.... less. Unfortunately not many people know how to use it or understand the waiting period in downloading movies, music video's, etc.

PC, my friend just downloaded a new indian movie, its not even out on DVD yet, and he got it from apna-movies, and there were alot of fileservers that were offerring that movie, and it had sadafs ad in it too... Care to explain? Btw, whats ur nick at apna?

Give me a message on Naseer2, these days i don't even go on there anymore because of university life. To tell you the truth, there is lot of internal problems happening at Apna for the past month. You know saajan and raj vasu and paindoo the main sops of apna, keep saying they quit and stuff, then after a few weeks they come back.

Their dictatorship must be brought down.
That's why many ops ditched Apna, for on server Critein #bollywood it has faster servers at T3, and it's a rebellous channel from one of the former ops of Apna, btw that channel is totally owened by Pakistani's.

I haven't logged onto Apna in a while, so your probably right about that. I'll have to check it up in distro. (But my job is not to handle the rips of the movies).

As someone stated above, it makes a lot of sense as why would someone want to spend 6 hours downloading a part of a movie, when they can go rent the VHS of it for a buck or two. The only reason as to why there is bollywood channels is to give people the privlage to get DVD copies, for which they may be able to burn to 2-3 cds. Otherwise you could get the VHS in poorer quality.
Unfortunately our downfall has occured really much at the channel, we used to get twice as many people as we used to.

*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *
Give me a message on Naseer2, these days i don't even go on there anymore because of university life. To tell you the truth, there is lot of internal problems happening at Apna for the past month. You know saajan and raj vasu and paindoo the main sops of apna, keep saying they quit and stuff, then after a few weeks they come back.

Their dictatorship must be brought down.
That's why many ops ditched Apna, for on server Critein #bollywood it has faster servers at T3, and it's a rebellous channel from one of the former ops of Apna, btw that channel is totally owened by Pakistani's.

I haven't logged onto Apna in a while, so your probably right about that. I'll have to check it up in distro. (But my job is not to handle the rips of the movies).

As someone stated above, it makes a lot of sense as why would someone want to spend 6 hours downloading a part of a movie, when they can go rent the VHS of it for a buck or two. The only reason as to why there is bollywood channels is to give people the privlage to get DVD copies, for which they may be able to burn to 2-3 cds. Otherwise you could get the VHS in poorer quality.
Unfortunately our downfall has occured really much at the channel, we used to get twice as many people as we used to.

Whats the server addy for the new server u mentioned, that was run by pakistanis? Do they have pakistani movies too as there was a new pakistani movie that i wanted...

here u go spock :smiley:
362 total lusers on this channel :wink:

Ministats: +o[5] -o[242] +v[115] - total: 362

Channel bollywood was created at Sat Sep 21 20:35:44 2002

Topic on #BOLLYWOO: (bW)KAABOO.VCD Road>VCD, Shakti>TRUE.SVCD, Unreal Tournament 2003, Gunnah>SVCD, Hindustan>DIVX, Dil Hai Tumhara>SVCD, Jeena Sirf Mere Liye>MP3, Sur>SVCD, Company>SVCD (bW) Achanak, Kutumb, Devi, Heena, CID, KKPM (india)

Topic on #BOLLYWOO: Set by mOtToOo on Sat Oct 5 23:11:16 2002

Channel bollywood was created at Sat Sep 21 20:35:44 2002

— Hops Server ------------------------- Uplink ----------------------

1 [13] [irc.criten.net ] → [irc.criten.net ]

According to a recent Ikka Pe Ikka episode on Zee Gold, the piracy problem is providing MAJOR financial problems to the industry, to the point that I believe other than a few releases like devdas, and humraaz, the producers have made minor profits on the movies. The verdict was that if things continue, there would be major negative effects on the industry.

So yeah, piracy is beginning to catch up to the Bollywood.

However, I dont know if the downloadable DVD's are the main problem.

since i am dumb (!--when it comes to things like this!!) can someone put a step by step guide of how to log on to one of these IRC sites and then how to download the indian film of one's choice :D

Allah tumhara bhala karay :)

log onto a chat server, possibly irc.dal.net I hope you have a registered nick there

/join #apna-movies

type !list (even though thats not necessary since the fileservers keep advertizing all the time)

type the trigger, the rest is easy, type 'dir' to get the list, and type 'get filename' to get the file... u will be placed in a queue, so patience is a must...