Pakistan needs to be aggressive!!!

I think the following article states some really good points, and a very interesting solution for Pakistan to be successfull in the rest of the tournament.

Pakistan’s initial showing not good omen
Zafar Samdani - 20 February 2003

Pakistan’s first two matches in the World Cup have emphatically underlined the team’s shortcomings, not that it came as a revelation.

They brought home the batting’s brittleness more tellingly, exposed the limitations of leadership more harshly and marked ineptness of fielding more prominently.

The two matches against front-runners Australia and lowly placed Namibia made it clear that Pakistan’s World Cup campaign may come to an early, pre-Super Six end, if radical changes are not made.

If the team crosses the first hurdle, it is certain to stumble by the wayside on the next turn-ignominiously in all likelihood. Nothing is to be done in the areas of captaincy and fielding overnight.

Waqar Younis cannot be taught field placing or imaginative harnessing of bowlers; intelligence and acumen are not subject to instant upgradation.

Coach Richard Pybus has done the deed in fielding and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) can now think of how best to use the expensive sword.

Tour selectors would carry out the task of selecting playing eleven and finalizing batting order in their sterile way; they have already demonstrated a pathetic lack of capacity for grasping a challenge and rising to it. However, even chief selector Wasim Bari, the man who has played a pivotal role in messing up the team, feels that changes in batting order are indicated. But a routine shuffling of the pack would hardly produce positive results.

A conventional approach would yield no mileage. Firstly, faults need to be objectively inventoried. The openers have failed. No specialist batsman for one drop is among the World Cup squad.

Middle-order suffers from loss of concentration around a score of 20-30 odd runs. Worst of all, star batsman Inzamam-ul-Haq is woefully groping.

Juggling with the batting order is not the way out. A radical strategy needs to be devised.

Going by Saeed Anwar’s scratchy, hit and miss innings against Namibia, authentic fireworks associated with him in the past are not expected of the stylish left-hander.

Exchanging him for Salim Elahi may be useful in so far as he would quickly return to the pavilion instead of wasting time and deliveries in the middle.

It would also mean replacing a good fielder with a weak one.

The selectors should have tested Anwar on the South African safari. His late recall without properly ascertaining form and fitness for a gruelling one hundred over run was an act of astounding naivety.

Saeed Anwar against Namibia was baggage - he could be cabbage against a professional side.

The team has thus to wade through the tournament with 14 members. Eleven of them are self-selected for the playing eleven in crucial ties.

The main worry is Inzamam. He comes two down at a paltry score accumulated at snail-paced rate and quickly pushes the team down a deeper hole. A batsman of his class cannot be sidelined, most certainly not when Taufiq Umar is the sole replacement option.

**The suggestion for sending Inzamam at No 3 is going through the motions of change. Considering that the opening stand is qualified to last the first three to four overs on its lucky day, he would be virtually opening the innings most of the time. Why not cast him as opener? If Sachin Tendulkar can face the new ball, there is no reason to think that Inzamam cannot. **

**He will have to be told that he has to lead the batting. Nothing would be lost if he gets out early but he possesses the talent to take any bowling apart; he should be instructed to attempt just that.

Inzamam getting out to a low score at No 4 expedites the team’s trip down the slope; failure as opener would prepare the remaining players for a fight without loss of time.**

His partner is to be selected from among Saleem Elahi, Taufiq Umar and Shahid Afridi, besides Saeed Anwar. One way or the other, they have all failed. Saleem Elahi and Taufiq Umar have struggled to consolidate their place in the playing eleven. But they have been either losing their wickets early or regardlessly prolonging their stay in the middle; they cannot be seriously considered productive players for the abridged version of the sport, not at this point in time at least.

**Afridi has been a bigger failure, if anything. But the travelling circus of coach and experts has contributed to his miserable run by advising him to settle down first and do the hitting later; it has to be the other way round for Afridi.

He is a slogger and there are no grounds for expecting his transformation in to textbook batsman. He should be sent in, with instructions to go for broke. Despite mishandling by the captain against Australia, he remains a handy bowler. Inzamam should adopt the same approach. **

The pair would be bonanza if it clicks; there would be time for repair work for the later batsmen if it comes apart.

Ours is a team without a specialist one-down batsman, thanks to the premature axing of Ijaz Ahmed and ignoring Mohammad Wasim. Experimenting with Abdul Razzaq in that slot proved generally positive in the last World Cup. He can be placed in the same position, current form notwithstanding.

Yousuf Youhana and Younis Khan can bat at two and three down. There is no need to pack the team with more batsmen in the hope that they would score runs. If Inzamam, Youhana, and Younis cannot deliver and help Pakistan reach a good total or chase a high one, others are much less eligible for hitting either target.

Pakistan’s strength is their bowling. That department should be further augmented. With Afridi and Razzaq already in the side, there would be room for another six players.

Rashid Latif and Wasim Akram are waging a committed fight; Wasim is determined to produce a memorable swan song. They should fill the next two positions.

Azhar Mahmood should be inducted as additional all-rounder. The last three positions can go to Saqlain, Waqar Younis and Shoaib Akhtar. This would widen the team’s bowling resources and give the captain a chance to replace bowlers who are not at their best on a particular day.

A bold and aggressive approach is the only option for Pakistan to retain its chances and self-respect in the tournament. The team has to take the World Cup by the scruff of its neck. Or, turn quickly, tamely and shamefacedly towards the exit door.

I think this article sloves many solutions. All this time we expect Afridi to go open and play defensively, he needs to play his own game. So what if he is a pinch hitter, thats what one day cricket is all about. If he can score a memorable cenutry out of 10 tries to win a match for Pakistan so be it. He can be alot useful than below average batsmans like Salem Elahi and Taufeeq Umar. Playing Saeed Anwar is only wasting a spot in the team.
Another good point the article makes is the additional strenghten of the bowling team by bringing in Azhar Mahmood.
Pakistan is too much worried about their batting lineup, and they tend to play alot more specialist batsman than required, why not have a team of bunch of aggressive batsmans, who can knock the daylights off the best bowlers in the world. Inzi can adapt aggressive stroke making, he can tear anyone apart.

So what do you guys think about playing an agreesive team of Inzimam, Afridi, Youhana, Younis, Razzaq, Azhar, Latif, Akram, Saqlain, Waqar and Shoaib.

By playing guys like Elahi, Taufeeq and Anwar, we are only putting burden on our shoulders.

Thats exactly what I said in the Pak Vs England" post. Trying to make Afridi a regular batsman is waste of his talent and someone's time. He has to many technical flaws.... he plays with minimun footwork.

I agree we always make the mistake of going into big matches with too many batsmen hoping someone will click, and that puts added presuure on the bowlers. When you only have 5 bowlers they all have to produce goods. Our strength is our bowling. Lets give that a little more flair. We have a pathetic & fragile batting line up and there is no point in trying to stuff it up with more people. Inzi, Afrdi, YoYo, Younis, Rashid, Akram, Azhard, Razzaq, Saqlain, Waqar, Shoaib.
Thats perfect.

very good line up :k:

In the above line up we already have six bowlers without Afridi. So it is better to play Elahi. Afridi is a waste against big teams like England and India.

Ehsan Bhai, England and to some extent Indai have ordinary bowling line ups. Egland is worst than India. I mean even Namibians scored a lot of runs agaisnt them considering Namibian's didnt have a clue what to do agaisnt Pakistan. So taking Afridi against ordinary attacks will give him some confidence plus it might prove handy if it comes to NRR for the qualification to Super 6.

Maybe so but I think we should not take our opponents lightly. Namibia might be a minnow but that does not mean that Burger is not a good batsmen. He probably is a better batsmen then Afridi, maybe not a better tulley baaz but definitely a better batsmen.

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
Lets give that a little more flair. We have a pathetic & fragile batting line up and there is no point in trying to stuff it up with more people. Inzi, Afrdi, YoYo, Younis, Rashid, Akram, Azhard, Razzaq, Saqlain, Waqar, Shoaib.
Thats perfect.

MundiyA bhai, at one place ur saying that our batting line up is fragile and on the other hand ur including Razzi KHADDA and dropping Anwar for his place. Azhar and Razzi should not be playing together, they are made of almost same material. We have a full regular batsman (Rashid+Akram= a reliable batsman who can make 50+ easily). If we were to play Afridi that makes him a regular 5th bowler. Now all we need is Saeed so we can have a strong start, on the other end Afridi can play his uRa-uRi game for the sake of better NRR.

My Lineup would be

Anwar
Afridi (if not Elahi)
YoYo
Inzi
YK
Azhar
Rashid
Akram
Saqi
Waqar
Shoieb

ye team sooth day gi saalon ko :D

I Agree with tha part that you cannot cover inzimam's failure by putting another batsman in there. You should cover it by including another bowler who can bat.

I am sure Waqar is consulting GS regularly for ideas as he prepares the lineup. :D

they should not play Afridi no matter what. As I have always saud before, he would not survive on these pitches. I beleive they should stick with Saeed Anwar as the opened, and Inzi at 2 down. These twoa are class batsmen, u never know when they might strike form. But when they do, its gonna be Pakistan all the way.

*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *

MundiyA bhai, at one place ur saying that our batting line up is fragile and on the other hand ur including Razzi KHADDA and dropping Anwar for his place.

Smmoth Bhai thats exactly what I said in the previous post that we always stuff up batting and leave 5 bowlers to do the job which put extra pressure on them. I think thats the reason of the inconsistency in our team. The bowlers can only so many matches. They cant win all of 'em. Afterall the other teams players also have that wooden stick called "bat" in their hand which they all surprisingly know how to use much better then our batsmen.

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *

Smmoth Bhai thats exactly what I said in the previous post that we always stuff up batting and leave 5 bowlers to do the job which put extra pressure on them. I think thats the reason of the inconsistency in our team. The bowlers can only so many matches. They cant win all of 'em. Afterall the other teams players also have that wooden stick called "bat" in their hand which they all surprisingly know how to use much better then our batsmen.

I agree with you LH. We desfinetly need a handy sixth bowler who can do the job if one bowler is getting smashed and can also be sometimes handy with the bat. Afridi or Azhar Mehmood are the best choices for something like this. I think Afridi should be included in the team but shoudn't open. He should be sent late in the order in like the 30th Over to hit spinners and medium pacers because he plays his best against them. This would be the team I would go with for the match against England :

Saeed Anwar
Rashid Latif
Younis Khan
Inzamam-Ul-Haq
Yousef Youhana
Shahid Afridi
Abdul Razzaq
Wasim Akram
Saqlain Mushtaq
Waqar Younis
Shoaib Akhtar

Rashid Latif has been playing well. If he can go out there with Saeed and give us a 30-40 odd quick runs, then we will be of to a good start. Saleem Elahi looked terrible for his 63 against a team like Namibia so I don't think including him would help. I think this should be Inzamam's last chance. If he does what he has done in the previouos 2 matches, he deserves to be out of the team and let someone else do the job.

Coming back to the original article, the writer suggested putting Inzi and Afridi as openers. While less said the better about Afridi, Inzi nay zindagi mein kabhi opening ki hai kiya?

Are we supposed to carry out all such wild experiments right in the middle of the World Cup, so that the exact same writer can come back at the end of a disasterous WC campaign and say "Waqar wrecked the team by playing Inzi as opener. What an idiot!".

At present, they should stick with the basics of playing 5 regular batsmen (SA, SE, YK, IH, YY), 1 wicketkeeper (RL) and 5 regular bowlers (WA, WY, SA, SM and AR/AM). And since R.Latif, Azhar/Razzaq and W. Akram are decent all rounders so we get good coverage lower down the order as well. Its not exactly rocket science here.

Faisal bhai, sorry to say but this has been tried for the past 2 or 3 years. We call our middle order batsmans match winners but they have seldomly won us matches.
When our team gets knocked out for low scores, we say they are not playing with confidence.
When people say Afridi should have a little more defensive approach, he gets out faster than he gets out playing aggressive.
The only thing Salem Elahi is doing is slowing the run rate down, if it had been someone like Afridi or Inzi opening, the score against Namibia would have been in 350s.
We need aggressive batsman in the openers slot, thats why there is a 15 over rule, so batsman can hit over the top of the bowler.
Look at other formidable batting teams, all their openers are all out agressive, India has Tendulkar, Ganguly, Sehwag, Australia has Hayden, Gilchrist, South Africa has Gibbs even England has Knight and Trescothick, who get most of their runs in the first 15 overs.
A guy like Saeed Anwar is badly out of shape, he looked totally confused against the Namibian bowlers, his magic is gone.
Including him in the squad was a bad mistake, we might have just gone with someone like Mizbah ul Haq or Faisal Iqbal.
Inzi is the kind of batsman who isn't intimated by the opening bowlers, we need fearless guys like him on top of the order, not someone like Salem Elahi, who is afraid of scoring runs against Namibia.
We know that our batting can not be furtherly strengthen, so they have to go out there and give it their best shot.

Saeed Anwar played a grand total of one innings before you are writing him off.

And who cares if we did or did not score 350 against Namibia? We won quite convincingly against them (and not like Poms) and with good NRR too. :)

Indians are in much worse shape than us, so looking at their "aggressive" batting is really neither here nor there. Australia's "aggressive" openers were made short work by Pakistani bowlers. Sri Lanka is successful, but admittedly they are in a weaker pool and are having a ball there. Their real test will start when they come to Super-6's.

So, the need of the hour is for a batsman who can stay the innings and play for 20-25 overs at the top of the order, and accumulate runs. Otherwise if all our batsman become "aggressive" we'll be all out under 125. And that is nothing unusual either. If Elahi can play this anchor role, more power to him. Saeed, Inzi or Yoyo are, however, more suitable for this role due to their immense experience.

My worry is that if a couple of them fail, the whole batting order falls like 9-pins and Lateef and Akram can only salvage so much. On the other hand, if we get a good opening then everyone shares on the run fest and we get into a false sense of security that they are unbeatable. The truly good batsmen are those who can stand tall when chips are falling and anchor the innings. We need someone like Miandad or Lara, and I am sure there are more than a few in the present line-up who can take up this challenge.

Thats all the mental toughness which the present team needs. Not some drastic surgery at the top order. Not at this point, anyway. If they had wished to experiment like this, they should have tested these things out for atleast one year in advance. Middle of the most important tournament in their calender is certainly not the time to be doing all this.

Totally Agree Faisal.
This is not the time to Experiment. It destablizes the team balance and may create rift betwen players also.

Ask this Writer to take Cold shower.

An agressive approach means 95/7 in 16 overs! I don't agree with this article. Its more like a fantasy lineup assuming all the tullas clicking in the team.very unrealistic and childish thinking.
Its better to keep Anwar or ughh salim elahi than Azhar Mehmood. Atleast they can consilidate the innings or keep their wickets!
Saeed wasnt all that bad. I witnessed his innings. He showed some glimpses of brilliance before misjudging a slower delivery.

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
An agressive approach means 95/7 in 16 overs! I don't agree with this article. Its more like a fantasy lineup assuming all the tullas clicking in the team.very unrealistic and childish thinking.
Its better to keep Anwar or ughh salim elahi than Azhar Mehmood. Atleast they can consilidate the innings or keep their wickets!
Saeed wasnt all that bad. I witnessed his innings. He showed some glimpses of brilliance before misjudging a slower delivery.

It doesn't matter what approach the Pakistani batsman make, when it comes to playing decent bowling attacks, our batsman end up 95/7 most of the time.

I'm not saying every batsman needs to be aggressive, but the openers need to open up a little more, thats what first 15 overs are for.

And Faisal bhai, Saeed Anwar has been looking off form not just in South Africa but also in Morocco and Kenya. I agree, the selectors made a huge mistake by not picking him in the previous tour to SA but he is definite out of touch.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

It doesn't matter what approach the Pakistani batsman make, when it comes to playing decent bowling attacks, our batsman end up 95/7 most of the time.

I'm not saying every batsman needs to be aggressive, but the openers need to open up a little more, thats what first 15 overs are for.

And Faisal bhai, Saeed Anwar has been looking off form not just in South Africa but also in Morocco and Kenya. I agree, the selectors made a huge mistake by not picking him in the previous tour to SA but he is definite out of touch.

Umair I agree with you on this one. Pakistani openers need to be a bit more aggressive. I don't know about Afridi opening, but I still think he needs to be in the team, for his hitting later in the order. He will be more useful there. Like Ricardo Powell is used late in the order in the slogging overs for WI, I think Afridi should be used for the same. With Saleem Elahi as an opener, I think it will just put more pressure on the middle order bastmen. He plays too slow, without any confidence, moves across the wicket and if he throws away his wicket while he is wasting all those deliveries, then the middle order batsmen will come into way more pressure because the run rate will be really slow. With Saeed Anwar out of form...we really can't rely on him to give us a good solid stat.

Originally posted by Faisal: *
Coming back to the original article, the writer suggested putting Inzi and Afridi as openers. While less said the better about Afridi, Inzi *nay zindagi mein kabhi opening ki hai kiya?

Are we supposed to carry out all such wild experiments right in the middle of the World Cup, so that the exact same writer can come back at the end of a disasterous WC campaign and say "Waqar wrecked the team by playing Inzi as opener. What an idiot!".

At present, they should stick with the basics of playing 5 regular batsmen (SA, SE, YK, IH, YY), 1 wicketkeeper (RL) and 5 regular bowlers (WA, WY, SA, SM and AR/AM). And since R.Latif, Azhar/Razzaq and W. Akram are decent all rounders so we get good coverage lower down the order as well. Its not exactly rocket science here.

Faisal bhai, Inzi was an opener when he joined the Pakistani team and played as an opener in his first few matches.