Pakistan has had enough!

The US must know that if they were testing Pakistan with this cowardly act, they have made a grave mistake.

Pakistan must and will revisit its relationship with the US!

Pakistan has had enough 		 					The assumption that it has no choice but to obey America may turn out to be a dire strategic error

Readers of [Dawn newspaper](http://www.dawn.com/), commenting online, were in no doubt how the Pakistani government should respond to [Saturday's killing](http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/nov/27/pakistan-orders-us-leave-shamsi-airbase) by US forces of 24 soldiers on Pakistan's side of the Afghan border. "Pakistan should acquire anti-aircraft defence systems ... so that in the future Pakistan can give Nato forces a proper reply," said Ali. "This is outrageous," wrote another reader, Zia Khan. "We should cut off all ties with the US. As long as we are getting US [anti-terror] aid ... Pakistan will be attacked in such a manner. They can never be trusted." Another, Obaid, turned his wrath on the Pakistani authorities: "Our self-centred establishment with their fickle loyalties can't even demand that the killers be tried in a neutral court ... What is the ability of our armed forces? If they can't repel or intercept an attack of this intensity, then what's their purpose? This is not a time to get mad. It's time to get even."

The fury of these respondents comes as no surprise, but Washington should treat it with deadly seriousness all the same, for this latest outrage is another fateful signpost on the road to a potential security and geostrategic disaster that may ultimately make Afghanistan look like a sideshow.

The 10-year-old Afghan war, neither wholly won nor lost, is slowly drawing to a close – or so Washington postulates. But what has not stopped is the linked, escalating destabilisation of the infinitely more important, more populous, and nuclear-armed Pakistan. If Washington does not quickly learn to tread more carefully, it may find the first US-Pakistan war is beginning just as the fourth Afghan war supposedly ends.

Anti-American feeling in Pakistan is becoming institutionalised at the higher levels of government, while opposition figures such as Imran Khan see their popularity rise on the back of diatribes aimed at Washington. Pakistan’s western-educated, secular political elite is under brutal attack from Islamist militants who revile them as Washington’s stooges. The knock-kneed government is mocked and despised for failing to stand up to its infidel paymasters even as Pakistan’s own “war on terror” death toll rises into the tens of thousands.

Since 2001, when the Bush administration bluntly told Islamabad it must take sides, be either “for us or agin us” in the newly declared “war on terror”, Pakistan has struggled under a plethora of imperious American demands, démarches and impositions that are at once politically indefensible and contrary to the perceived national interest.

The last year has been another humiliating one at the hands of the country’s principal ally. Pakistanis have looked on impotently as US special forces flouted its sovereignty and killed Osama bin Laden under the army’s nose; as the US stepped up drone terror attacks in Pakistani territory despite repeated protests; and as people-pleasing US senators and Republican presidential candidates have taken to picking on Pakistan and its aid bill in uninformed foreign policy rants.

Hillary Clinton and the Pentagon top brass have responded to Saturday’s killing with the usual expressions of regret and of determination to “investigate”, without formally admitting responsibility. Their pronouncements are worthless, transparently so.

The belief that weak, impoverished, divided Pakistan has no alternative but to slavishly obey its master’s voice could turn out to be one of the seminal strategic miscalculations of the 21st century. Alternative alliances with China or Russia aside, Muslim Pakistan, if bullied and scorned for long enough by its western mentors, could yet morph through external trauma and internal collapse into quite a different animal. The future paradigm here is not another well-trained Indonesia or Malaysia. It is the Islamic Republic of Iran.

Re: Pakistan has had enough!

I will agree with this assessment wholeheartedly. This kind of incidents carry ingredients to work as gel and unite a nation as devided and polarized as ours. But my concern is not the US, neither Nato. I fear from the backstabbing leadership that we have voted into power.

What's wrong with Iran? Must it be an international pariah just because it is persuing a nuclear programme in the face of a persistent and perverse threat from Israel? Isn't Israel a "clear and present danger?"

goray ko kya pata…:chai:

Aur gorion ka bhi

God save Pakistan!!!

Correction. Allah save Pakistan. Get your religion on properly!

Do not forget - just as you are saying you have had enough, so might be America.
They feel they have lost thousands of soldiers to the Taliban - which they accuse Pakistan (ISI/PA) of training and arming.

In the eyes of most americans, Bin Laden was being hidden & protected by Pakistan.

GS is a forum of mostly expatriates living in western countries - you of all the people, will be able to understand both sides of the picture and not go beserk with one sided views.

We know what the Americans think. You are free to discuss what ever you want to but do not inflame the emotions over here. No one asked the Americans to come to Afghanistan in the first place, Pakistani help or not read the history of afghanistan. Read what happened to the foreign invading forces there including British, russia and now the Americans. Read the history of Vietnam war as well, when the Americans started losing the war they started blaming Cambodia for that and even attacked cambodia. History seems to be repeating itself and now Americans are using Pakistan as a scapegoat.

28 PA soldiers are dead, and several wounded. This is sad, and anyone would feel for the family of the lost ones.

However, no investigation has been done, and without that the entire episode is still uncertain.
There has to be some more factors, reasons involved? No one in their right mind just goes on a killing spree, that too against their allies.

Did the PA soldiers start shooting warning shots upwards as soon as the US helicopters strayed into Pak territory.
Were the US helicopters flying so close to the pak border, and if so why.
Why were US aircraft called in to join in the attack - did they feel they were under attack??.

I am not surprised at the 'urdu' press - which is going beserk and escalating emotions - but GS?
You are supposed to be the educated elite. I would have expected a softer approach till all the facts are out.

What soft approach did India take after Mumbai attack, that was also before any investigation.

Read what the spokesman of Pakistan army and dg military operations are saying. I'll believe them over the Americans. There were several channels of communications between Americans and Pakistanis, the Americans had the coordinates of Pakistani posts, the pakistani ground forces asked the american to stop the attack but tey continued for over two hours. this is the third time the attacks have taken place every time the investigations are to protect their forces.

1. in the mumbai attack was by terrorists from Pakistan and they were killed with kasab being caught alive, What soft or hard approach do you have in mind?

2. in the salala event, the attack is by NATO on the terrorists which either by design of the terrorists (wrong info fed to lure the air attacks on the poor soldiers) or mistake ended up killing the wrong people

Some of the Pakistani soldiers are also alive and according to them there was no terrorist activity in the region. For a moment if we do believe the Americans that they were lured into the attack, when the attack did begin Pakistanis told them that they were attacking Pak Army posts but the attacks continued for over two hours in two posts which were about 1 km apart.

Why is there an itch on Indian a$$es about a matter not remotely concerning them?
This is between Pakistan and US, so crawl back to the holes you have just come out.

Did I comment on the humiliation of your ex president Kalam by third grade US servants at the airport?

Or do you want me to start few threads about internal indian problems such as Naxals, Maoists, aids and God knows what?

Pakistan have always scorned india for blaming ISI/PA for any mishap in India - before even any investigations are done.

It seems we are not much different after all - even before any investigations are done, Pakistani's are screaming 'down with the USA'.

duplicate

^ down with US is not because of one incident, you can see what Pakistan has achieved during the past 10 years after becoming 'American allies'

Its a chain event, agreed this incidence 'might be' a case of mistaken identity, Raymond Davis killed two Pakistanis in broad daylight, got arrested and the way they got him released/flown away is only increasing the hatred for the Americans

Yeah yeah, whatever.

NATO attacked, martyred our soldiers and we need no clarification from you Indians.

We will face it with NATO. Take a chill pill, have some cow-ka-cola or whatever and leave us alone.

You need to correct yourself first. The attack was not first time incident. Also, Nato clearly accepted responsiblity of such attack in the past as well. Where as terrorist attack in India are blamed on ISI without even investigation. In turn, ISI don't even respond to such ridicolous statements.

Why don't you guys realize these tragedies are the result of distrust? NATO/USA commanders do not trust anything Pak commanders says (watch Secret Pakistan for clear and repeated evidence presented of the duplicity that led to the distrust). If you (US and Pak) are allies fighting the same enemy (terrorists al qaeda, taleban LeT whatever) if trust exists, the two sides will share intelligence, supplies etc. The duplicity undertaken by Pakistan (Hamid Gul, ISI chief, admits it openly in the Secret Pakistan program) turned the NATO/US completely distrustful of Pak military - hence they secrecy on the OBL raid, hence the refusal (facts are still coming) of NATO/US to stop the latest attack etc.

It is sad that civilians and low level jawans are being killed as a result of the duplicity games played by your military generals

even if I were to agree for a moment that the duplicity game is being played by our generals.......can you say with confidence that the US has ever acted in complete confidence and full disclosure with any ally?