Ok, so we have all heard about the western fashions, their histories etc.
The question is, what have been the Pakistani fashions and fads in the 1950-1999 period?
I know that most of us will not know about the 50s and 60s, even the 70s. So maybe, we can mention the ones in the 80s and 90s.
I am talking about clothes, for both men and women. Even hairstyles and shoes are included.
Ideally, people should respond by mentioning the fad, describing it, give a timeframe (approximate year?) and if they have any idea about how popular it actually became in the country.
So what was ‘IN’ during the time that you can remember?
hehe what a golden opportunity for me to procrastinate
lets see, i only started noticing fashion and stuff in like the mid 90’s…
mid 90’s…
for ladies:
the fashion was long [below knees] loose kameez with long dupatta and large paincha shalwaarz
for men:
i think there was a fashion of pants with really big painshas [coz i remember my cousins and bros used to talk about that ]
late 90’s…
for ladies:
half sleeve came into fashion big time
for men:
lathay kee shalwar kameez, bohot zaada maya lagi hui became the in thing i think, with those diamondish cuff links and buttons…
and us zamanay mein mobile phone utha ke ghoomna bohot show off wali baat hoti thee
Does anyone remember neelay FaaTaN waale kachhay? Underwears with blue and white stripes? well..I do..In fact I can never forget...everyone in our pinD used to wear the kachha or pajaama..more like shorts..made of same clothe. I have not figured out to this day, how come?? Only explaination I come up with is that in some gaad damn textile mill some Textile engineer was experimenting with some wild patterns and his company made 100 ships of the thaans of the blue and white striped paapleen. but unfortunately they could not ship it so some smart baaniya bought all 100 ships dirt cheap and then sold it in our part of the countryside for next 15 years...it must have started in early 70's because I have not spotted one since mid 80's.
now if you have no clue about I was talking above and you lived in East Punjab...you must be a berger.
Clothes: those Tight jeans in the 80's.. many people still wear them...
In shoes: thick platform shoes...i've seen many desi girls still stuck in that era. Late 90's..
Makeup: the use of thick eyeliners.. late 90's...
Hair: those fringes,, ewww,, so 80's... now it looks ugly,, some outback aussies still do their hair like that..
Waheed Murad's haircut stands out as a singular fashion statement during Pakistan's illustrious history. My view is that it was the inspiration for Paul Mcartney's floppy fringe look, except Mcartney never figured out the essential ingredient Kala Kola hair oil.
I just couldn't get over men in their 40's and 50's wearing those Safari Suits. The pant and shirt used to be of same solid colors, usually gray or brown.
And then in the early 80's thanks to Thriller dance of MJ, young guns started wearing half cut black penny loafers with white socks and narrow pants. They would moonwalk in public to look cool. I found it to be horrible.
The one good fashion I liked on girls was "mullah Shalwar". The shalwar was up all the way to the ankles. And some refined ladies would drop in an anklet to make it look even sexier. Oh man, 100% cotton mullah shalwar suit in summers provided the thandak to those weary eyes.
The Mullah Shalwar among ladies started in late 80s & picked up in early 90s.
The kalaf shalwar kameez with bell bottoms also started in the early 90s. The chadar, mostly pathani style, was supposed to be pulled over on both shoulders.
Malmal ka kurta, jeans ki pant & khusay was pretty popular among guys in Islamabad in the early 90s as well.
And this other really hideouas fashion during times I wasn't even allowed to follow the fads was those enormous painchas. The stiff part of it was so freakin high. Please actually had it going up till the knees. Tight painches that were stiff up till the knees. That was in the mid-late eighties. And those cowl shalwars were kinda neat where as the dhoti ones were not. And my Islamic studies teacher was the one who used to follow all these trends with utmost sincerity. I'm so glad its not the 80's anymore.
Oh and in the early 90's there was another craze of polka dots. Everyone from bhangans to Benazir(or the primeminister's wife, whoever was in power) was wearing polka dots. It was like the whole world had measles. Almost hypnotising it was. And I never got one of them just because every single person was wearing them.
I can recall my mother's dressing since she's always been a bit of a fashion queen.
During her 70s university years there are pictures of her wearing short shirts and flared pants and massive platforms. Flower power was big in Pakistan too I guess. And then there are also pics of her wearing these really long, floaty dresses.
During the 80s my mum used to wear these churidar pajamas and had her hair really short-cropped, Jane Fonda style. Oh, and cap sleeves were really in at the time as well.
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
Oh and in the early 90's there was another craze of polka dots. Everyone from bhangans to Benazir(or the primeminister's wife, whoever was in power) was wearing polka dots. It was like the whole world had measles. Almost hypnotising it was. And I never got one of them just because every single person was wearing them.
lol I remember that! My mum was really into her polka dots, I just never figured that one out!
I will just summarize the discussion so far, not that it is ending or anything, but just make it a little concise. This is only women's fashion though:
Mid 70s: short shirts and flared pants and massive platforms
Mid 80s: Tight jeans, fringes, Tight painches that were stiff up till the knees, churidar pajamas , hair really short-cropped, cap sleeves
Early 90s: Mullah Shalwar, kalaf shalwar kameez with bell bottoms, polka dots
Mid 90s: long [below knees] loose kameez with long dupatta and large paincha shalwaarz
Late 90s: half sleeves, thick platform shoes, thick eyeliners
Can the others remember anything? Or perhaps elaborate on the ones already in the list?
The one good fashion I liked on girls was "mullah Shalwar". The shalwar was up all the way to the ankles. And some refined ladies would drop in an anklet to make it look even sexier. Oh man, 100% cotton mullah shalwar suit in summers provided the thandak to those weary eyes.
*Originally posted by ~NiQ@Bi~: *
i think there was a fashion of pants with really big painshas [coz i remember my cousins and bros used to talk about that ]
The word you're looking for is bell bottoms. Every year when i went to Rasheed Sons in bohri bazar to buy my school uniform i had to specifically ask them NOT to go crazy on the panchas. Once i forgot to ask them and my panchas came out a 1 foot each. It was just horrible! If i stood in attention it looked like i was wearing a skirt. Had to go back the very next day and get em altered.
*Originally posted by Khanzada: *
^main ne bhi apnay uniform pehle Humera & Hamza's se aur phir i guess matric main aa kar Rasheed Sons se liay thay :Pretty:
Wah hero. Where was this H&H's? Sounds like a burger place :D