Pakistan duo face bowling inquiry

**Pakistan duo face bowling inquiry **](BBC SPORT | Cricket | England | Pakistan duo face bowling inquiry)

Pakistan’s Shabbir Ahmed and Shoaib Malik have had their bowling actions in the first Test against England reported to the ICC for being suspect.

Both will be able to continue to bowl in the Test series, if the Pakistan Cricket Board selects them.

Malik, a spinner, and pace bowler Shabbir have had their actions reported before and Shabbir was forced to remodel his.

This time he will be suspended for a year if his action is deemed illegal.

Shabbir took five wickets in Pakistan’s 22-run win over England in Multan while Malik took one wicket.

The International Cricket Council rules state it is illegal if bowlers flex their arms more than 15%.

In respect of Shabbir, umpires Billy Bowden and Simon Taufel were satisfied his action was legal when he bowled in the nets and in the early part of the match.

But they noted a deterioration during the third day’s play, when he took four wickets, and suspected his action may be illegal.

Regarding Malik, they were concerned they could see an extension in the elbow in some of his deliveries.

If Malik is found to be bowling illegally he will also be suspended from bowling in international cricket for a year but can apply to be re-assessed at any time during that period.

Shabbir, whose action was only cleared by the ICC on 18 October, would not be allowed to be re-assessed during the 12 months and would have to serve his full ban. Match referee Roshan Mahanama said in a statement: "Both players have been reported in the past. “While it has been shown that in laboratory conditions they are capable of bowling within the legal limits, the match officials had concerns with the actions they used during certain stages of this match when viewing their actions with the naked eye.”

Re: Pakistan duo face bowling inquiry

Ab kia khurak charee haiy umpires ko? Like come on man! This could very much be the end of Shabbir...

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

i think with shabbir you could see his action at time changing, i really feel for the he works hard!!!!as for malik well dont know what 2 say! he can play as specialist batsman now, but his place in odi team will be in danger!

Surprise surprise, one matchwinning performance and immediately "action inquiries" surface. Have these guys ever watched some of India's new bowlers or West Indian quickies. They look like they're throwing a javelin. But they don't cause upsets so it's all good.

I was afraid something like this wud happen. To play shabbir so soon was'nt the wisest thing to do, especially when u have plenty of talent available. We sud'nt blame anyone else or look for excuses, Shabbir has been reported many times b4, had gone to Australia to correct his action, now that he was playing so soon w/o any domestic appearances we sud'nt be surprised if doubts are raised.

Malik, he did'nt bowl much to gain attention, if his action is being investigated (again) then Woolmer needs to change his laptops cause they are of no use.

^^ exactly right fartguru :)

:smack: not again.

well there was a significant bend in Shabbir's arm. Could see it clearly, oh well. Is he allowed to play the next game, they should play him if he is.

jo ho ga baad mein dekha jaye ga :D

isnt it a mockery of the report that CLEARED a bowler's action to report him for throwing again....

the reprt says that the action seems like chucking by naked eye but in fact it is in the limits of ICC, so why bother to report a bowler who has alrady been cleared....

You have to understand that players remain more cautious while in the LABS than on GROUNDS and its pretty much a human nature just like we all presents our self in a JOB INTERVIEW etc. Believe me person will be more cautious in front of camera than in front of another watchman (or umpire)

I guess this is the fault of PCB for 2 reasons

• They should take domestic cricket seriously and should have competent umpires who can call bowlers in domestic games so that bowlers can fix the problem (or otherwise..)

• They should have played Shabbir in domestic games first because he CHANGED his action a bit so it was better to get him some practice no matter if he had to be left out of this Pak/Eng series. Now if he is found of chucking he will be banned for a year which is most worst than leaving him out for a series. He need pratice ONLY because he changed his action a bit to be within the rules.

All right people and robots,
Thats All
Filmi Artist

I don't understand why Shabbir can't get the kink out of his bowling action. It's not like he's bowling express and needs that kink to generate that extra bit of pace. It's pretty simple to develep a clean, smooth action.

Once a chucker, always a chucker . That's my theory.
I have said from the beginning that among all the so-called "chuckers" in international cricket, Shabbir is the most obvious chucker - anyone can see it with bare eyes.

It is one thing to fly off to Australia for a few weeks to get your action corrected, bowl a few legitimate deliveries in the nets for the video camera , get an official clearance and quite another to do so in a real test match over a period of 5 days when you are expected to take wickets.

A guy gets into international cricket after developing a bowling repertoire for several years with a particular action - how is it possible to change that action suddenly.

At the very least, ICC should scrap the records of the bowler in matches where the bowler was reported for chucking.

ps> This is not an India-Pak thing....I have no problems if the the same applies to Indians - Harbhajan included.

Usual “paan-wallah” comments.
“Conspiracy theories” where there is none.

I am not surprised they were called. Shabbir's action has been reported numerous times and I doubt it he could have changed it so quickly. Although it looked a little smoother but he still had a little bend in his arm. I was more worred about Malik's action for various reasons.

1 At times it did look like he was bending it too much

2 He was barley used as a bowler so we could have just lived without him all along.

3 If he gets banned for a year we'll loose a very good ODI player. He has played very well at the #3 spot in ODi's in the past year and there was no point of risking that for the sake of very limited bowling. He could play soley as a batsman in the ODI's as he has in the past.

In the end I for one now dont have a problem with them getting banned. The game should be played fairly and if these two are not doing it ICC is completley justified to ban them for a year since they have been given chances in the past. It isnt something agaisnt a particular country or a particular bowler. We could get it checked by a Pakistani medical board as well and I am sure they will find the bend the same as anyone else abroad.

-

ditto :k::k:

and i repeat what some1 said that “Once a chucker, always a chucker”

How many times are we going to send him to Australia to correct his action? :rolleyes:

PCB to send Shabbir to Australia for bowling rehabilitation](Geo News: Latest News Breaking, Live Videos, World, Entertainment, Royal)

FAISALABAD: The Pakistan Cricket Board has decided to send Shabbir Ahmed to Australia to work with experts to remove any defects in his action on a permanent basis.

Shabbir took five wickets in Pakistan’s 22-run victory in Multan last week but was reported by ICC match officials for the second time this year.

PCB decided against Shabbir’s inclusion in the playing XI for the second Test, as he had to face one-year ban if reported again during the match, PCB chief Shahryar Khan said.

Shabbir’s bowling action has been 80 percent improved and it was decided with consultation of the coach and the skipper to resolve this problem with his action once for all," he added.

Mazaak banaliya hai…its become a joke now, I agree with u Ehsan bhai, enuff is enuff. There is plenty of other talent in Pakistan, why is the board so intend on having Shabbir sent to Australia everytime?