Pakistan Cricket's Popular Events.....

So here is the question…

In Pakistan’s history from the period 1950-1993, which were the most popular cricket events?.. by popular, I mean something that everyone was talking about, to some extent even those who do not follow the game very regularly…

Some known immediately are:

1- 1992 world cup victory… this one will definitely take the cake, since it was HUGE in Pakistan… I will not go into the details of this, you can find them at Your request has been blocked. This could be due to several reasons.

2- Pakistan losing to Australia by 18 runs in the 1987 WC semi final in Lahore. This should not technically be called popular, most discussed is probably the right term (popular has a hint of happiness, I dont think any Pakistani was discussing this defeat in happiness!!)

What do you think are some of the others? remember the time restriction (1950-1993: I intentionally am looking at decade old events so that we can evaluate things in perspective)

Regards
Nasir M. Khan

Nasir Sahib, I would say when Pakistan went to India for the first Nehru Cup under the leadership of the great Imran Khan and won us the trophy.

Very interesting topic.

Others that come to mind are Miandad sixer in Sharjah against India, that was definitly huge.

Does it have to be positive or negative events.

Pakistani players arrest in Windies for using drugs was another huge thing in the news.

Imran's retirement and him making a comeback after the retirement.

Pakistan tieing the match against Australia in Sydney with Asif Mujtaba Sixer.

They can be both positive or negative… as long as they were talked about and everyone knew about them.

How could I even forget Miandad’s sixer… I think, if there was ever a ranking of most popular moments, this would be number two, behind 1992 WC victory. You can find some detail about Miandad sixer here:

http://groups.msn.com/PakistanPopularCultureHistory/1980s.msnw?action=get_message&mview=0&ID_Message=5&LastModified=4675431341635379946

no point in rewriting the same stuff all over again :slight_smile:

I think with Javed Miandad's last ball six, public interest in limited overs cricket in Pakistan increased. It also made ODI's in Sharjah very popular. So for me the one turning point for cricket in Pakistan has to be that Sixer.

Winning the WC in 92 was a great feet but it was a bit over-due. Pakistan should have really won it at home in 1987.

Also, beating England in England under Imran's captaincy was memorable.

Miandad's Six against India stands tall and head and shoulder above anything else, followed by Pakistan's win over England at Lords in 1982. Even though Pakistan went on to lose the series but it was the first win over England I think since 1953 or 1956 and it laid the foundation of Pakistan's series win over England in 1987, 92 and 96. So for me that 1982 Lords victory was a milestione as well.

there are just so many...

The Good...
aaqib's hat trick against india in the final at Sharjah 90
wasim's hat trick to beat australia in the australasia cup
pakistan's 10 run victory over australia in WC99 that made us favorites
paksitan's victory over West Indies in the World Series Cup
pakistan's dramatic victory over India when Saeed scores 194
Inzy's whirlwind to stun New Zealand in the Semi Final of WC92
The test victory over India in '99 and the victory lap + standing ovation
beating engand in England in 92
beating south africa in the sharjah final
Aamir Sohail and Saeed Anwar on 87/0 after 10 in Banglore '96
Saeed Anwar's century in WC03 against India
Saqi's hat trick against Zimbabwe in WC99
Waqar's last ball miracle against the Windies in Sharjah 91
Winning the Nehru Cup
Beating India in India in '87
Showing the world what reverse swing is
Inzy's triple century against NZ
Sajdahs after big victories

The Bad...
Losing to India in Banglore WC96
Losing to Australia in semi final of WC87
Losing to Australia in final of WC99
All of WC03
Losing to Bangladesh in WC99
Losing three tests (two inside three days) to Australia in 02
Lose test match to India in 99 (Srinath takes 10 wickets)

The Ugly...
Aamir taunts Prasad and bowled next ball
Match fixing debacle
Players busted with dope in WI
Rashid Latif's whisteblowing and aftermath
Senior players pushing out Miandad
Imran's victory speech in WC92

Ehsan bhi, how about Indo_Pak series of 1977-78 to me that was the turning point of Pakistani cricket before that 9 out of 111 players were superstars...but our team wouldn't win. but the two Test Match victories over arch rival, after 17 years of break up in cricket+ two wars. i think it was one of the mentionable events in Pak-cric history.
The whole decade of 80's when Pak did not lose as Test series against Windies is mentionable.
And Umair it was Hobart, where Asif hit that six [Smile] :)

Thanks!

Beautiful: Miandad's sixer
Inzi against New Zealand in WC'92
Ugly: 10 wickets to Kumble

*Originally posted by Spock: *
Nasir Sahib, I would say when Pakistan went to India for the first Nehru Cup under the leadership of the great Imran Khan and won us the trophy.

Spock yar meray lye kuch chor deta, me bhi kuch post kar deta. j/k

For me Miandad's six stands at number 1 place then comes Khan Sahib WC and Khan Sahib victory of Nehru cup and than comes the PAK tour of Windies when Akram was captain along with him Waqar and others. It was the best of 5 which in the end was a tie.

Salam All,

Thanks for the replies.

I have two observations.

1- There are many momments mentioned in above in the posts which are post 1993. I dont think enough time has passed by for them to stand the test of time. I dont know how many people will be able to recall them in another 5-10 years.

2- What about the 50s, 60s and 70s? Does anyone know of the cricket events which really really became popular with everyone in those times? Was Hanif Mohammed's 337, that some people still refer to 45 years later, as much a phenomenon then as, say, Miandad's sixer in 86?

Regards,
Nasir M. Khan

*Originally posted by logixlord: *
Salam All,

Thanks for the replies.

I have two observations.

1- There are many momments mentioned in above in the posts which are post 1993. I dont think enough time has passed by for them to stand the test of time. I dont know how many people will be able to recall them in another 5-10 years.

2- What about the 50s, 60s and 70s? Does anyone know of the cricket events which really really became popular with everyone in those times? Was Hanif Mohammed's 337, that some people still refer to 45 years later, as much a phenomenon then as, say, Miandad's sixer in 86?

Regards,
Nasir M. Khan

The problem is that 99% of the guppies weren't alive in the 50s and 60s, with the exception of you and Ehsan the moderator. Thats why we aren't fond of those days.

I wasnt alive in 50s or 60s either......... if Ehsan was, then maybe he can shed some light on it......

And one doesnt have to live in a particular decade or be 'fond' of it to know what was popular and what not. These things can also be discussed with elders, and perhaps, some avid cricket fan has read some books about Pakistan's history.

For that matter, I dont think 50% of guppies were staunch followers of cricket in 1986 either, but everyone knows about Miandad's six. Even the 15 year old kids today know about Miandad's six, though they were not even born till 1988.

Hope I could make my point clear.

Staying with what ummair316 is saying, if the trend continues, then in 20 years time, no one in Pakistan will even know about the momments/ memories that all of us have mentioned in this topic above and hold very dear to our hearts. I dont know about the others, but I find that possibility to be very sad.

Comments?

True, but Pakistan's cricket history in the 50s, 60s wasn't well known, with the exception of Hanif Muhammad's 300+, I don't know of any well known performance.

*Originally posted by teaser: *

Spock yar meray lye kuch chor deta, me bhi kuch post kar deta. j/k

For me Miandad's six stands at number 1 place then comes Khan Sahib WC and Khan Sahib victory of Nehru cup and than comes the PAK tour of Windies when Akram was captain along with him Waqar and others. It was the best of 5 which in the end was a tie.

Bus yar, I can read your mind nowadays :)

What tour of Windies was a classic too, I followed each and every ball, we lost the first two, then won the next two, and only to tie the last one. Personally I think we could have won the last one had it not been for the crowd interference. Remember, how a fan came up and threatened Carlie Hooper not to loose the match. Hooper bhi kya mazeh ki cheez hai yar haha.

pakistan cricket has obviosuly given some delightful moments to us...
strange y no one mentioned when we won the triangular in australia, also featuring westindies. other memorable events would be world cup 92 finals obviosuly, miandad six, saeed anwar's record, aqib javed's record, inzi's triple hundred, wasim's 400 wkts, among many others...

bhai saheb, the criteria is famous events before 1993.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
bhai saheb, the criteria is famous events before 1993.

(lol) thats rite ... missed that totally!