Miandad now is a controversial figure in our part of the world, so however technically correct he is, he may not be a suitable coach for Pakistan. Please someone tell me what Zaheer Abbas is doing with Under 19 guys? Shouldn't he be promoted? But than again, he seems too soft a person for the job.
i guess its hi-time the pakistani team should stick to one captain n coach, by changing both really makes it hard for other players to start all over again!!!
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
A desi coach in the Pakistani team is an impossible job, our Pakistani players think they are too good for a desi guy but listen to a gora, I say get someone like Viv Richards or Micheal Holding, someone with power and authority.
I think every team in the world dreams of Viv Richards being their coach. But only WI will ever have that opportunity :)
Coach
*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *
Saqi would be a good choice, had it been in 1999. He was the superstar of the team, bringing down the wickets every game.
He needs a confidence boost. Youhana would make a good captain too.
Let's sign Wasim Akram as the Coach of Pakistan!
The problem with the team is "Players Power". They blackmail the authorities to have their own way. They got rid of Miandad as coach because he insisted on winning and did not allow the team to throw away the matches for money. They did not allow him to become the coach for the 99 world cup so that they could throw the matches and make money. They made money by losing to Bangladesh and India. Waseem took money and did not play the 96 match against India which we lost. Now in the last world cup match against India Waseem and Waqar were not on yalking terms. There are too many "Sattabaaz'" in the team. They decided not to play the series against Australia to let Waqar down. They got Mudassar kicked out as coach and demanded the return of Pybus. The only solution is to get rid of the mischief makers and have young players who are not under their influence. In the process put a ban on some of the mischief makers and bar them from all international cricket. This will send a clear lesson to others also so that the youngsters do not get into the same habit.
Re: Coach
*Originally posted by tshombe39: *
The problem with the team is "Players Power". They blackmail the authorities to have their own way. They got rid of Miandad as coach because he insisted on winning and did not allow the team to throw away the matches for money. They did not allow him to become the coach for the 99 world cup so that they could throw the matches and make money. They made money by losing to Bangladesh and India. Waseem took money and did not play the 96 match against India which we lost. Now in the last world cup match against India Waseem and Waqar were not on yalking terms. There are too many "Sattabaaz'" in the team.
any proofs of the above you got which ICC or court couldnt find?? Kindly pass them on to ICC and PCB Or stop throwing baseless comments. It will be highly appreciated :)
I feel the best coach Pakistani team can get is Javed Miandad. His only problem is that his man management skills are really bad. Bring a good manager and make miandad as coach. We also need a stop gap captain to let Youhana or Razzaq groom as future ones. If Rashid Latif is not retiring as he stated recently, he should be the stop gap captain alongwith Javed Miandad. That will be a hit duo.
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
A desi coach in the Pakistani team is an impossible job, our Pakistani players think they are too good for a desi guy but listen to a gora, I say get someone like Viv Richards or Micheal Holding, someone with power and authority.
They only listen to a gora because they can't talk back to one. Unke g**d pe danda maare gah aggar kuch bola ho to.
The problem with our team is that we have too much player power...they are fighting woth the coaches. Can you imagine such a thing happening at NFL.
*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
The problem with our team is that we have too much player power...they are fighting woth the coaches. Can you imagine such a thing happening at NFL.
Why doesn't PCB management go to the root of the problem and investigate WHY there is so much player power. I feel it is because of innate superiority complex of a hard core of players who feel they are indispensible.
I read today that PCB doesn't want to appoint Wasim as captain because his 'group' will become powerful. This is disgraceful on 2 levels because PCB's statement is an acceptance of the player-power syndrome and an admission of failure that they cannot get rid of it for good, only suppress it
Right now, no one is indispensable, and with the old guard retiring it will be a great time to introduce measures to counter player power. Having said that, I still think that we have major problems with power games being played at the highest level with Gen Tauqir's, Wasim bari's and the like.
If akram is retiring... let him b our coach... atleast better to pay 1 lakh for a day!
Pybus has said today that he will probably be quitting. He feels he has still got a lot to offer Pakistan cricket but his contract was only up to the duration of the WC. On the players, he said some were willing to listen but others were not prepared to change at all.
Sound familiar?
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
..On the players, he said some were willing to listen but others were not prepared to change at all.
Sound familiar?
Yes it does. Hopefully, with the new players coming in, this should change.
We need strong management with guts/ba**s to not pick players that have too big an ego, and would not play as a team.
And we also need a Cricket board who will pick a decent coach, recognise if he is doing good work and then back him rather than make him the scapegoat because the team didn't perform.
Pakistani cricket has been disorganised and carefree for too long. Someone needs to take responsibility for turning things round.
Here's the full story:
Pakistan coach on verge of quitting
(Updated at 1900 PST)
JOHANNESBURG: Pakistan coach Richard Pybus was on the verge of quitting Friday, saying it was difficult to coach a side in which players were not willing to learn.
"I tried my best but it was difficult. Some guys wanted to learn, but some were not interested at all," Pybus said after strong contenders Pakistan bowed out of the World Cup in the first round.
The South Africa-based Pybus, 42, said it was time for someone else to take
over. "I think I can still contribute to Pakistan cricket, but it is time to move on and let someone else do the job," he said.
"I would prefer to spend quality time with my daughter." He said that Pakistan, World Cup champions in 1992 and runners-up to Australia four years ago, were a good side but some players lacked the passion and desire to perform at the international level.
**"I won't name any individual but they get to the park and are part of the
team but not of the plan," **a disgusted Pybus said. "They have old habits, they don't want to change. There's a reluctance to learn and change."
Pakistan spent a miserable time at the tournament, their only victories coming against minnows Namibia and the Netherlands, while the game against Zimbabwe was washed out.
the best thing PCB could do now is to listen to Pybus and throw out every one of the players who's not willing to learn. as I suggested in the other thread, revamp the team with new blood and give the charge to Pybus. Pybus has done wondrs with the team fitness and the fielding has been better. He should be given a chance to work with a new team.
I don't think PCB or we need Pybus to name the players. We all know who they are.
Shahid Afridi (In his own words he confessed "wicket per puhanchta hoon tau sub kuch bhool jaata hooN")
Shaoib Akhtar (He needs to change his strategy from bowling Schiferreli to Sachin but I think he loves to bowl fast)
The rest of the team is mature enough. Maybe not mentally tough enough but they seem to listen and play according to the plan.
Exactly :k:
*Originally posted by funguy: *
The rest of the team is mature enough. Maybe not mentally tough enough but they seem to listen and play according to the plan.
I think it's the mature ones who are thinking to much of themself and not paying much attention to Pybus
Pakistan coach Richard Pybus has launched a scathing attack on the state of Pakistani cricket after their lacklustre performance at the World Cup.
Pybus, whose contract as national coach comes to an end after the tournament in South Africa, told this website the structure of Pakistani cricket needs to be radically overhauled.
“The players that are coming through are not equipped to deal with international cricket,” said the 42-year-old.
**"They are not fit enough and they have technical flaws which are exposed whenever they go outside the sub-continent.
"They lack cricketing awareness and the motivation to want to get better.
"The talent is there, but it does not win you cricket matches alone. Every country has talent, it is what you do with it that counts. **
“It is things like the quality of coaching, the competitive edge and fitness that breeds hard and tough cricketers.”
Waqar Younis’ side endured a miserable World Cup campaign - their only victories coming against minnows Namibia and the Netherlands.
And Pybus blamed the failure on Pakistan’s cricket culture, which has failed to embrace modern techniques adopted by the leading nations.
**“Pakistan are four of five years behind the rest of the major teams,” **he said.
**"When I asked for a team analyst, I was told: ‘What do you need an analyst for?’ They thought I was wasting money. **
"I compare cricket strategy as like going to war. While the other side have satellite and radars, we are going in with a compass.
**"Teams have outfought and outplayed Pakistan, they know exactly where to bowl, what each player’s strengths and weaknesses are.
"The younger players are very positive, they are using the new technology to improve their game, but it’s not part of the Pakistani culture. **
“They are going to get further and further behind the rest of the world.”
The Pakistani Cricket Board (PCB) immediately opened an investigation into why the team’s performance was so poor in South Africa.
But Pybus will be submitting his version of events in a detailed report, rather than face the three-member panel in Pakistan.
The South Africa based Englishman said he is now looking forward to spending quality time with his daughter and girlfriend after six months away from home
I wonder, PCB can waste money on some useless managers but not on a team analyst. :nook: Pybus may be made a scapegoat, but I think he is a competent and professional coach and should be retained.