Pakistan considering joint Pak-Afghan-US strike force to hunt Taliban

Interesting developments. I believe this was originally an Afghan idea to form a force from Pakistan, Afghanistan, and the USA to together operate on the border (presumably both sides) and hunt Taliban. This could mean that not only US but also Afghan soldiers will be fighting inside Pakistan alongside Pakistani soldiers.

The fact that the PPP is considering this, rather than reject it out of hand as Musharraf always did the notion of having foreign troops sighting in Pakistan, suggest that the current government does believe that Pakistan’s army alone is incapable of winning, and needs help.

Official: U.S., Pakistan, Afghanistan discuss creation of joint military force against insurgents_English_Xinhua

WASHINGTON, Sept. 23 (Xinhua) – A senior U.S. official confirmed here Tuesday that Washington is discussing with its Pakistani and Afghan allies the creations of a joint military forces to combat insurgents on the Pakistani-Afghan border.

"We're obviously taking a good look at it. We're going to analyze it and see where we go from here on it," State Department deputy spokesman Robert Wood said, adding that "We will probably have something to say once we've done a thorough analysis of it."

Last month officials from the United States, Afghanistan and Pakistan began discussing the creation of a joint military force to attack insurgent sanctuaries on both sides of the Afghan-Pakistani border, the Washington Post quoted Afghan Defense Minister Rahim Wardak as reporting Tuesday.

"The terrorists have not recognized any boundaries. So to fight them, we have to eventually come up with some arrangement, together with our neighbor Pakistan," Wardak said.

"Pakistan's government is considering the plan. They say they are looking at it," Wardak said.

U.S. Defense Secretary Robert Gates and Michael Mullen, chairman of the U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff, have for months stated that the U.S. military is willing to conduct joint operations with Pakistani forces against insurgent havens in tribal areas in Pakistan.

Re: Pakistan considering joint Pak-Afghan-US strike force to hunt Taliban

Good idea...saari fouj aik jagga ikathi ho jaye gi.

^^^Pakistan fouj is fouj?

Although, I do not think this is really a move to 'hunt down taliban / al qaeda'. I think this is just a joke - A step forward to meet the plan they have for Pakistan.

But still I hope it is assured that the women, children and other innocent civilians (who do not give a [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p about taliban / afghan / wars) who wanna live peaceful lives are taken out of those areas and shifted to safer areas.

we should also consider involving indian force stationed inside Afghanistan to be part of this as they need something to do to besides protecting their assets

Karzai finally sees hope in war against terrorism: ‘Zardari understands tribal areas’ -DAWN - Top Stories; September 25, 2008

Karzai finally sees hope in war against terrorism: ‘Zardari understands tribal areas’

NEW YORK, Sept 24: Afghan President Hamid Karzai has said recent leadership change in Pakistan has offered for the “first time” a hope of winning the “war on terror” and called for a joint assault on extremist “sanctuaries” along their common border.

He also asked the United States to provide full backing to the new democratically elected administration of President Asif Ali Zardari in fighting extremism.

Relations between the neighbours were strained during Pervez Musharraf’s rule, with the Afghan leader persistently accusing Islamabad of not doing enough to curb cross-border militancy.

**“For the first time, I see in the region a ray of hope,” **Karzai said at a New York-based Asia Society forum on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly. He said Zardari, whose wife former prime minister Benazir Bhutto was killed in a suicide blast, would move away from what he alleged was Islamabad’s longstanding use of “radicalism and extremism as an instrument of policy”.

“If we can all work together, Afghanistan, Pakistan, the United States and our allies, I see now possibilities of moving beyond the days where one or the other of us may need extremism or radicalism as an instrument of policy and when that happens, there would be no place for extremists to play against all of us and if that happens, there will be no extremist activity as it is now.”

Afghanistan has repeatedly accused Pakistan of clandestinely supporting Taliban rebels, which Washington and Kabul say are using tribal areas in Pakistan along the border with Afghanistan as sanctuaries.

The Afghan leader said Zardari had a “very” good understanding of the tribal region and “the need to change” the situation there. “My hope is he would have the instruments to (wage the fight against terrorism) … the instruments means backing from the United States, first of all,” he said. Karzai also endorsed a plan voiced by his defence minister for a joint US-Afghan-Pakistani military task force that would be empowered to operate on both sides of the border. “A force to act together on two sides of the border?

“A new idea but a welcome idea, I’ll back it,” he said while answering a question.—AFP

Seeks help against sanctuaries

UNITED NATIONS: President Karzai urged Pakistan and the international community to help eliminate sanctuaries terrorists use to attack his country. “Undoubtedly, terrorism will not go away until we dismantle the elaborate institutional support terrorists enjoy in the region and eliminate their secure sanctuaries,” he told the UN General Assembly.

Mr Karzai said a spate of attacks inside Pakistan illustrated the need to work together. “Afghanistan stands ready to take several steps for each single step that Pakistan will take to address the challenge of radicalism and terrorism,” he said.—Reuters

If Karzai thinks this is a “good” idea then definitely it is bad for Pakistan. Also he thinks Zardari has very good understanding of tribal areas, very laughable.

noops. Afghan army is dominated by ex-Northern Alliance and their sympathizers. They never wanted to mingle with Pak army. It is a US idea.

There are many dangers. We have many nut cases in FC who would love to shoot a fellow soldiers just because he is a European. We already had such incidences. If a larger number of Americans die during joint petrol, then what will we do?

Even in the face of nutcase attacks, I think joint force will be a good idea only if we have the main operational control center in Pakistan with Pak generals in the lead.

Why? because we can put more boots on the ground compared to NATO or Afghanis.

Unfortunately this needs support from our civilians and especially media. But the likes of Hamid Mirs are hell bent on pitting Pakistani army against NATO.

Let's see how things ago. Pakistan army is in a true bind here. Islamic forces are now fully aligned against Pakistan. And we can't even make Dua for Pakistan's success against suiciders and tribal madness. Mosques are supporting Alqaida, madrassahs are supporting alqaida, Jamat Islami is supporting Alqaida. Looks like even Allah (heavens forbid) is not Pakistan's side.

burqaposh,wht u want pak to do?..welcome nato and american forces to destroy us..

the same phatto wala mentality wala people r in our army and govt...we need to make stand on border issues..we r not a piece of cake..but unfortunately we have liberal extremists like burqaposh then y we need enemies like israel,india..

Where were the likes of you for the last 6 years when Taliban and Alqaida made a joke of our borders?

Where were you when Alqaida used our FATA areas for safe haven and conducted cross border raids?

Islamic militants will destroy us long before NATO can ever do what you are suggesting.

Learn from Afghanistan. It is not a far away country. Afghanis allowed tribalism, they killed their own law enforcement agents and look what happened to them.

You are supporting the same anarchists, the same tribals in Pakistan now. You sure are trying to change Pakistan into yet another Afghanistan.

abe ullo tribal culture wahan hamesha say hai...9/11 say phalay taliban kahan thay fata mein>?..then all of the sudden they were the rulers?..lol..it was all planned by indian agencies..afghani taliban were ur friends and may be they still r...but problem with paki taliban is tht indians have made too much penetration in our areas..ask any one from swat..he will directly blame indians and afghanis..
jis cheez kay baray mein pata naho to bakwas nahi karni chaiye..

Its one thing to criticize the Pak Armed forces but calling them 'dajjalic' is utter disrespect for the men in uniforms. Many have already laid their lives for their country. Whether you think they are doing something wrong is one thing, because they are doing their jobs by following their orders.

Any more news on this? Are Afghanistan's trainees going to fight alongside the Pakistani professional?

Afghan "trainees" are worse than our Khasa daars.

Afghan army should be disbanded and merged with Afghan police. Pak army and NATO should hunt down talibs. And the best way to do this is to first make Pakistan part of of NATO just like Turkey is part of NATO.

Otherwise there will be incompatibilities between NATO and Pak-army command structure.

Yes. The idea about Pakistan becoming a full NATO ember has been touted. Maybe for the reason you suggested.

Let's see what happens.