Pakistan Closes Two Camps for Afghan Refugees

Whenever I read sometimes like this, I get upset- makes me sick.. What is wrong with us? Why are we showing our back to poor Afghan refugees. I heard recently that Iran is asking 2.5 million Afghan refugees to leave Iran- What else can you except from the Iranians?? Pakistan should adopt them and give them shelter. Afghans mean a lot for average Pakistani like me. If I were in Mushy’s shoes- I would have repatriated them somewhere Balochistan or Sindh- we have lot of area where no one lives. Afghanistan zindabad :jhanda: Every Pakistani should be taxed money that should be used to feed and resettle poor Afghans :slight_smile:

Pakistan Closes Two Camps for Afghan Refugees By Lisa Schlein
Geneva
30 June 2007

**Pakistan this weekend is closing two camps for Afghan refugees. The U.N. refugee agency is urging the government of Pakistan to make sure the closure goes peacefully. Violent clashes occurred in mid-May when Pakistan tried to close another camp for Afghan refugees. Lisa Schlein reports for VOA from UNHCR headquarters in Geneva.**

The U.N. refugee agency says it does not want a replay of what happened in May, and it is calling for continued dialogue between the government and the refugees in the camps that are being closed.
U.N. refugee spokesman Ron Redmond tells VOA the camps host more than 82-thousand registered Afghans, most of whom are women, children and the elderly. “Overall, there has been a pretty good response from the Afghan community to the decision to consolidate camps in Pakistan. And a lot of the Afghans took the opportunity in advance of these camp closures to take advantage of various assistance programs being offered by UNHCR to actually go back to Afghanistan itself,” he said.
Each Afghan refugee who decides to return home voluntarily with UNHCR assistance is given a cash grant of $100. The refugees also receive food, shelter materials and other items to help them get settled upon their return home.
The Pakistan government says it is closing the camps for security reasons. They are located along tribal areas in Pakistan’s North West Frontier Province and Baluchistan, near the border with Afghanistan, an area where there are frequent clashes between Pakistan’s military and militants.
Redmond says the UNHCR is closely monitoring the camp closures to make sure people are not forced back to Afghanistan against their will. The agency says the refugees have two options. Those wishing to return to Afghanistan can do so with UNHCR’s help. And, those who are unable to return can choose to relocate to an existing camp in Pakistan designated by the government, which is in a more secure area.
Redmond said the refugees who decide to go home will not be returned to places in Afghanistan affected by conflict. “We do and have underlined our concerns about Afghanistan’s deteriorating security situation and the limited absorption capacity of some areas of Afghanistan to accept people back in large numbers. And, we have discussed the implications of these problems with the Pakistanis as well as with the Afghans. And, we want to ensure that those who do go home are able to stay home,” he said.
The UNHCR reports more than two million Afghan refugees are living temporarily in Pakistan. They have been given cards valid for three years. More than half of them live in urban areas.
Since the overthrow of the Taleban in 2002, the UNHCR has repatriated more than three million Afghans from Pakistan, making it one of the largest repatriation operations in the world.

http://www.voanews.com/english/2007-06-30-voa39.cfm

Re: Pakistan Closes Two Camps for Afghan Refugees

what else to expect from you? It was same Afghanistanis who backstabbed Pakistani society in 80s, they were 'refugees' because of 'war' then, now it is all "peace" in Afghanistan they should go back... its not like they don't have a country anymore.

Brother, if you are a mahajjir or Bengali muslim, you are musalmaan most probably because of them.. Afghans had a great role to play in coverting a lot of Hindus of the subcontinent to Islam.. Infact, the national poet Iqbal's grandfather was a brahmin and was converted by Governer of Azim Khan, an Afghan.. No offense, but had he not coverted them, they would have been suffering as Hindus today.

The best thing to do is to send all the afghani's packing into FATA. and then lock it down, it will create enough problems for FATA that they will ask for help and then on conditions should be dealt with.

^ Sad to know your views and that have so much anger against Afghan brothers :(

Doesn’t matter if hundreds of years ago Islam reached to India through them, I wouldn’t care about a criminal even if his fore fathers helped my forefathers, to me a criminal is a criminal. I can’t let a criminal go by just because what his great-grandfather did hundred year ago. They came to Pakistan as ‘refugee’ because of war, now the war is over they should go back. If they had ‘migrated’ to Pakistan that might have been a different situation.

Oh and by the way, are you thinking that you and your forefathers have been Muslim always then I can only do this > :hehe:

Not many know Punjabis are original muslims- they were central asian/european/arabic nomads who accepted Islam their first religion. If we dont help Afghans, who do you think will help them? Where will they go- the Afghan kids are the most unfortunate kids bhaijaan.. Allah maaf karey but we Pakistanis shouldn’t become baighairat at this important juncture of Pakistan-Afghan brotherhood. I would say, if they want to leave, they can or they can make Pakistan their home- and we will help them in any way possible. If Sindh can have a huge baloch population, why can Sindh accept Afghans or we develop Balochistan and they start living there:confused:?

You are not even thinking about accomodating Afghanis in Punjab, wah wah :k:

Punjab is full and there’s no space for any1 there.. With people migrating to big cities like Lahore, Faisalabad and Multan, the standard of living would go down in these states :frowning: and I dont want that to happen to my jaan punjab

now whatever happend to your ghairat? such is the selfishness.

bhai saab, if Punjab had room, I would have love to see Afghans brother as our next door neighbors.. I dont know when did you go to Punjab last but Punjab has grown rapidly in last 10 years- land prices have sky-rocketed and all resources are being stretched to meet growing demands.. Sindh and Balochistan are in much better shape. If I was sadar or anything like that, I would have put all state's khazana in developing Gwadar- making flats and roads there and wud have shifted Punjabis there..

hey man, who converted afghans to islam? or were the already muslim by the time the prophet was born? I am just a little confused.

really? so the prophet, hazratkhadija, hazrat ali and hazrat abu bakr, who amndst them were punjabi? I also dont recall any punjabi sahaba in all my reading.

so they were aethist before they became muslim? or did they have no concept of religion :)

Afghans were Central Asian nomads who were following some pagan unorganized belief like everybody else in that region including Punjabis and Kashmiris.. Iranians were following Zoroastrian religion. Other Indians were following Hindusim,

No, I am not saying the sahabas were Punjabis- they were Arabs like prophet(pbuh) . Hazrat Bilal was black African. What I am saying Punjabis- Jatts, Gujjars, Rajputs, Maliks, Arain, Awan (except Syeds) are mix of central asian nomads who professed no faith or some pagan belief and all invaders including europeans who came to the area now is called Pakistan. The other day my friend asked me whether Pakistanis are descendants of Greeks/Italians, I smiled answered back that atleast Punjabis have lot of greek in them- I joked that Chaudhary can fight election in Greece if he knew Greek :D

harkatain toh pathanon ki greek waali hain laikin aap kehtay ho toh maan laitay hain keh punjabis have a lot of greek in them too. ab how did all that greek got in punjabis we still have to figure out.

Arrey bhai Kaddey Alexander di gaal nahin suni tay Alexander film nahi vekhi aapney? Alexander's forces(numbering in 100s of thousands) got settled in the Punjab area and accepted Islam being forward thinking than Hindus and Sikh Punjabis.

haan ji, toh they abandoned their greek gods before others abandooned their hindu gods. waisay when alexander attacked how many sikhs were around then?

Hain?? Who abandoded Hindu gods.. maybe Indian muslims. Greeks had gods and goddess for everything like Hindus- goddess of wealth(like Lakshmi), goddess of knowledge etc.. They embraced Christianity and abandonded their practice- its their legacy. Sikhism came much later- its only 300 years old religion. Greeks came in somewhere in BC to the subcontinent

Narrated through Allah Ditta, through Shida Talli, through Bala Kumhar, through Meeda Kasai, through Rashi Balti:

Punjabi Sahabi No 1: Oye Kiddan Soniyaa

Punjabi Sahabi No 2: Aa GyaN tey ChA gyA Aen Soniya

Punjabi Sahabi No 3: Ki Khap pai hoyee aye tussi Kunjaran ney. Huzoor da Khutaba Sunan Deyo