Pakistan cell phone subscribers tops 70 million

Re: Pakistan cell phone subscribers tops 70 million

dude, i am sure that in your muddersaah, it was perfectly acceptable to make claims without any proof. purhaay likhay loag however want evidence before accepting some claim as fact. for example muddersaah graduates might have accepted mullah claim of 4,000 jews staying away from wtc on 9/11 but i am afraid that non muddersaah crowd wants some unimpeachable proof before accepting claim of jewish complicity. similarly when you claim that economy in pak in the 90’s was doing as well as it is doing today, then you have to provide some evidence to back up this claim. just saying that you saw lots of satellite dishes on karachi rooftops unfortunately cannot be accepted as evidence because this claim is being made by you who is nothing more than an anonymous voice on the internet and **… **

to show that purchasing power of pakistani consumer in the 90’s was the same as it is today, you simply have to prove using data from respectable third party source that satellite penetration rate in the 90’s was the same as
the mobile penetration rate today. if you cant find this data, you can provide some other evidence such as the names of companies that invested billions of dollars in satellite industry in pak in the 90s just as mobile companies like telenor and warid have invested in wireless industry. given the confidence with you have made your claim, i am sure you have some data to offer as support.

on nigeria, i did not say anything out of politeness to avoid making you look more foolish than you already appear to be be. but since you insist, below is an article from the economist on nigeria’s economy.

http://economist.com/agenda/displaystory.cfm?story_id=10094126

Not just oil

Nigeria is the somewhat surprising source of evidence that there is more to Africa’s economic resurgence than just commodity prices. During the country’s two-year reform programme under a Policy Support Instrument (PSI) agreement with the IMF, non-oil growth averaged 8.5% annually—well above the targeted 5.1%—while inflation in 2007 is projected at 6%, as against a programme target of 6.2%.

…Equally, while the non-oil sector is growing rapidly, the overall economy remains hugely dependent on oil and gas earnings. By 2010 non-energy exports will be worth US$1.1bn—a mere 1.5% of total earnings, suggesting that optimistic estimates of export diversification by the IMF and others are misplaced.

Abuja and the Fund are projecting a fall in oil GDP in 2007, partly offset by strong non-oil growth, but strong rebounds in both oil and non-oil growth in 2009-10. However, IMF assessments tend to exaggerate the upside and understate the downside. Furthermore, without details of just where the non-oil growth is coming from—agriculture, manufacturing or services—it is simply not possible to assess the durability and sustainability of non-oil expansion. Only when oil prices fall will the sustainability or otherwise of Nigeria’s upswing become clear.

Daleel bhai, you must have been dialing wrong numbers. I had no issues in getting through to people in various parts of Pakistan on their mobile numbers. :hehe:

Its because you and your “friends” are pro-Mush :stuck_out_tongue:

j/k I don’t know about mobile phones networks being cut off.

what can I say now … your post clearly shows that you’re still struggling at your high school comprehension level. Instead of putting words in my mouth, try reading my post again with your eyes open and brain awake, I had posted a question to you that if according to you a rapid mobile phone usage expansion is a sign of booming economy then why same can’t be said of that mass level Sat. antennas boom of early 90s? cuz you just want to monotonously praise Musharraf for something & everything under the sun.

And your certification of non-credibility holds no credibility for me as in the vast anonymous world of internet, you’re just another minuscule nobody so move on!!

Posting that report on Nigeria is only making you look like a pathetic joke now. Did you even care to read beyond the first line? I doubt it. As I mentioned earlier, due to massive level of corruption corruption the oil wealth doesn’t benefit the poor masses. Nigeria sits on a foreign reserves stash of $44Bn and yet in terms of Human Develoment Index, it is 159 poorest nation.HDI But that hasn’t stopped people from owning cell phones in millions - so here goes your claim of rapid expansion of cell phone usage being linked to a strong economy.

As I said earlier and I’d put it here again, mobile phone technology is a global phenomenon which is pretty much independent of any government initiatives. When service providers see a potential market, they rush in to make profit - here:Africa goes wireless

^^^^ dude, if my comprehension level is that of a high school student, then your comprehension level indicates ...
given that you dont even understand what you are writing yourself.

you keep insisting that there was a satellite boom in the 90's like the mobile boom today but the only evidence you provide is your own statement that you saw lots of satellite dishes in karachi. if this boom existed as you claim, why cant you provide any data or evidence to back this claim? and btw to even accept your claim as fact would mean recognising that you posses some super human power because mortal human being cannot ditermine satellite penetration ratio just by using the power of their own sight. and usually people who claim to posses such powers are locked in giddu bander which might be the place where you might be typing from.

back to mobile penetration rates, the goal should be to comapre apples with apples i.e. see countries with similar economic structures such as south asian countries which being oil importing countries are not benefitting from oil price boom. if you look at penetration rates of pak, india and bdesh, ratio in pak at around 40% is significantly higher than penetration ratio of other two countries where ratio currently stands around 25%. if technology is the main factor in determining penetration rate, why is mobile penetration in pak so much higher than that of its neighbours?

on nigeria, you keep exposing yourself ...than you previously demonstrated which is quite an achievement. as the article indicates, nigeria is a beneficiary of debt write off given to poor african countries. nigeria despite having lots of oil was poor because oil prices were much lower few years back. given the low skill level of nigerian population as well as govt corruption, nigeria's economy is heavily dependent on oil. combination of rising oil prices as well as very low debt burden has enabled govt to increase budget expenditure which has caused economic growth. if you want i can post link to budget data however i want to avoid causing you permanent damage. but if you insist, i will post that link in my next post. increased budget expenditure is driving consumption in nigeria which is driving demand for mobile. needless to say there would not be a boom in nigeria if consumer income was not rising. moreover given the poverty levels in nigeria before oil price rise and govt corruption, its going to take considerable time before there will be an improvement in nigerian social statistics. does not mean that nigerian economy cannot grow in the meantime.

and now for the coup de grace. i was aware of this award but i did not post this report before because i wanted to give people a chance to make fools of themselves. i knew there would be people here who would come up with all sorts of comical reasons about why telecom sector had taken off in pak.

**14th February 2006 - Barcelona **- The GSM Association, a global trade association representing more than 680 mobile operators, today announced that Pakistan has won the GSMA’s prestigious Government Leadership Award.

The award exists to recognise exceptional work by governments globally in the field of mobile communications policy. Pakistan was chosen because it has made huge progress in establishing a thriving mobile communications sector in the past three years.

Rob Conway, CEO and board member of the GSM Association, presented the award to Awais Leghari, Pakistan’s Minister of Communications & IT and Major General Shazada Alam Malik, Chairman of the Pakistan Telecoms Authority, at the GSMA’s annual Leadership Dinner in Barcelona, attended by mobile industry CEOs and government ministers from across the world.

The Pakistani Government has transformed the mobile communications sector in its country in a very short period of time. In the past three years, the Government has privatized the leading Pakistani telecommunications provider, introduced much greater competition into the mobile market, established clear rules distinguishing between mobile and wireless local loop networks, and cut import duties on telecommunication equipment and reduced the import duties on mobile handsets to zero.

Government policies have had a considerable impact on increasing the penetration of mobile phones in Pakistan. The proportion of Pakistanis with a mobile has grown from under 1% in 2000 to over 13% in 2005, representing a tenfold increase from less than 2 million customers to over 20 million customers. This achievement demonstrates Pakistan’s success in establishing a progressive policy and regulatory regime and the right market conditions for the industry to develop.

Rob Conway added: “The GSMA is delighted to recognise Pakistan for its work in mobile communications. In a short period of time, the Government has established a strong and clear policy framework and a stable regulatory environment. Its deregulation policy has been successful in stimulating growth in the mobile sector and, most importantly, bringing mobile phones within the reach of ordinary people of Pakistan”.

Creating a positive environment for mobile growth is dependent on clear regulation rigorously enforced, which sometimes requires governments to make firm and potentially controversial decisions. “This award aims to recognise governments, such as Pakistan, who have taken the sometimes tough policy decisions that move this industry forward to the benefit of millions of people,” said Mr Conway.

Mr. Awais Leghari, Pakistan’s Minister of Communications said: "I am pleased to accept this award on behalf of Pakistan. Mobile telecommunications has been a key part of our communications strategy; the economic and social benefits it offers are having a great impact on Pakistan. As we welcome outside investment, our economy is thriving, having grown by 8.4% in 2005. We now have a mobile industry that is globally competitive and developing at a rapid pace. "

i know what you mean. but irony is he is the ruler, a corrupt ruler of the corrupt nation. and just imagine what corrupt minds do when they get excess to 70 million cells.

and good economist! :hoonh:

oh yeah…they are also part of the same society, aint they!

p.s. every action have equal BUT OPPOSITE ACTION (Reaction). so do you know reactions, if not please feel free to hire any economist (n get micro and macro both trends) and psychologist (again to get you bigger and smaller pictures both)

p.s. what he provided is not something out of the world. but this excessiveness is indeed something malicious that Pakistani’s are seeing (or they will, eventually).

Zobia, did your personally lose any money to Musharraf? Or someone in your family lost his wallet later picked up by Musharraf?

If you have a proof, then great, but don’t go on and on accusing someone based on suny sunaai bataain. Please!

^ apprently he is the ruler of my Pakistan. money matters to him not to me. and ya i have lost my Pakistan.

Did Mush also invent the Internet ?

No he didnt but his policies helped to spread it up to 12Million people all over Pakistan and numbers are growing only if you want to take a look and accept the facts :)

Now quite frankly there’s no data available on the net about Dish Antennas in Pakistan but denying the explosion of Dish antennas in early 90 would be just as idiotic as denying that there was NO sudden influx of TVs & VCRs in Pakistan during 70s & 80s due to Dubai Chalo syndrome. So are you going to ask about data for TVs & VCRs and if I don’t give you the numbers, are you going to deny that petro dirhams/denars didn’t help bring about the VCR revolution in Pakistan ?

>> back to mobile penetration rates, the goal should be to comapre apples with apples i.e. see countries with similar economic structures such as south asian countries which being oil importing countries are not benefitting from oil price boom. if you look at penetration rates of pak, india and bdesh, ratio in pak at around 40% is significantly higher than penetration ratio of other two countries where ratio currently stands around 25%. if technology is the main factor in determining penetration rate, why is mobile penetration in pak so much higher than that of its neighbours?

so you want to compare apples with apples – got your basic mathematics homework done ? India with a billion mark population even at ~15% has a subscription base of 115 millions and with rapid expansion of cellular networks, is set to become 3rd biggest country of cell phone users – behind China & US. Now you can continue with your childish attempts of apple to apple comparison
india

>> nigeria despite having lots of oil was poor because oil prices were much lower few years back. given the low skill level of nigerian population as well as govt corruption, nigeria’s economy is heavily dependent on oil. combination of rising oil prices as well as very low debt burden has enabled govt to increase …….

with a poverty level of around 60% and HDI rating of 159 there’s hardly any economic boom to talk of. The government initiatives are at macro-management level which will take years if not decades to have any trickle down effects on the poor masses. Until then this is the reality which you tried to ignore from my last post:

And about your bogus claims that strong economy is leading to a boom of mobile phone usage, its actually other way around. Studies have shown that mobile phone usage is actually leading to a surge in local business & trade activities. Again the article that I posted earlier which you conveniently decided to skip:

And here’s another one:

** Mobile Is Central To Latin America’s Economic Fortunes**](GSMA)

** Mobile phones and economic growth**](http://www.bworldonline.com/Research/populareconomics.php?id=0012)

So care to explain how this sub-sahara region which is the home to some of the poorest nations of the continent, how was it able to lure so many competitors there. What kinda economic boom was there that led to the explosion of cellular market in that region??

Good job Tony …. That’s some coup de grace !!

Now after you calm down of all this self patting and jumping around, did you care to look at some other news items from that same site? Awards were also given to entities & individuals for making a stride in such (economically speaking) destitute places as Bangladesh & Africa. What booming & strong economies do you see there ??

Connecting the Unconnected Africa

Bangladesh

Just understand that mobile phone technology is a global phenomenon and not some individual’s achievement. When a new ground breaking technology emerges, it sweeps across the whole globe. If countries like Nigeria, Chad or Bangladesh can make a stride in this realm, there’s nothing too extraordinary if Pakistan is also making a leaping progress in this regard given that comparatively speaking we have had a more stable & advanced platform to provide a base for this new trend to take roots. Credit where its due but trying to portray a larger than life size image is as pathetic an attempt as it can ever get !

^^^dude, this is not your matric section ka percha where you get graded on the number of lines you write and not the contents. most of what you write is illogical and contradictory and not worthy of response.

i had asked you couple of question for which you have not provided any answer. first you have not given any data to support your claim that consumer boom in the 90's was on the same scale seen today. second, you have not explained the difference in penetration rates given technology cost is the same across countries. just saying that india has 115mn subscribers is completely irrelevant because comparison across countries is made on a per capita basis. since you dont know how per capita comparisons are made, further discussion is pointless.

as for your threats, ...i wont deny you the pleasure of doing something that makes you feel good about yourself. ...

[mod]king_faisal and saint_devil,
calm down you both and discuss with patience and respect.[/mod]

Well real economic growth will be oberserved only when we ourselves manufacture these 70+ million mobile sets.

Nigeria’s population is 140+ million with just 44 million moblie phone users, whereas South Africa’s population is 45 million with 40 million users. Not Bad if you work out the percentage.

Mashallah. God Bless South Africa. May they also continue to develop. :k:

Almost 45% of Pakistani's now have a mobile phone.

That figure was less than 0.2% in 1999.

This is an amazing thread, if we can credit Mush for the increase in cell phone usage, we should also blame him for global warming.

Its like the rooster taking credit for the dawn.