Pakistan blacks out Shah Rukh, Akshay Kumar

*Distributors and exhibitors in Pakistan have abandoned Shah Rukh Khan-starrer ‘Chennai Express’ and Akshay Kumar-starrer ‘Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai - 2’. Both were slated to release on the day of Eid, August 8, in the country. The reason being cited is that Pakistani filmmakers want four of their films- ‘*Josh’, ‘Ishq Khuda’, ‘War’ *and 'Mera Naam Afridi’ - to get more visibility than the Indian films. *

Leading distributor Abdul Rashid, who controls a large section of the distribution chain across the border, and has been in touch with the producers of *Chennai Express *and Once Upon…, UTV and Balaji, respectively, communicated the decision to the two production houses.

Expressing disappointment with the developments, a source said, “Theatres in Pakistan generate maximum revenue from Hindi films. So it is really sad that this time, they did a volteface. UTV and Balaji tried reasoning with the filmmakers, but to no avail.”

According to trade sources, Pakistan’s blackout of these two films will lead to an estimated loss to the tune of Rs 20 crore. When contacted, Abdul Rashid told TOI, “Yes, we are not releasing Chennai Express andOnce Upon A Time in Mumbaai - 2 in Pakistan. Our government wants to protect the interests of the Pakistan film fraternity.”

He also added,“We don’t mind rescheduling the two films to August 15. But piracy would have reduced the business prospects of the two films by then.” Admitting that exhibitors would stand to gain by accommodating the two big-ticket films, Rashid however said, “We cannot overrule our government’s decision.”

Neither UTV nor Balaji were willing to comment on the development.

Re: Pakistan blacks out Shah Rukh, Akshay Kumar

Two Down Many to go

Good decision :k:

Let give local industry a chance, atleast on occasions like Eid

Meanwhile children in africa dont have clean water to drink

so not promoting local film industry for almost a decade had given government and other authorities an opportunity to provide clean water to children in africa?

I can see lollywood rising :cb:

Yes

What does Eid have to do with the local industry? Why bring religion into every topic?

It has nothing to do with southie ji…
At time of eid specially ramazan eid peoole restrain from watching movies for whole month of ramazan… but after that people flood theaters… so good opportunity for a good business…thats why bollywood also restrain from releasing movies in month of ramazan …instead they release movies at time of eid .. so its all about business nothing to do with religion

How about the sufferings of technicians, workers, labor, who was earning their bread and butter from production of local movies in Pakistan?

Aissa bolne ka na! Ab aaya samajh mein.

PS : I didn't know Bollywood movies were shown in Pakistan theaters. Thought most would be shown on Tv.

Makes sense to promote local talent.

I just might see the Pak movies out of curiosity when they are DVD-fied.

good decision :k:

Why is the distributor sad!

Its govt policy and they should abide by it. Just release SRK and AK movies after the eid is over. There are many more movies coming on their way even if they dont show these two movies.

I understand why govt wants to Ban Hindi movies temporarily, though i am not in favor of it but you never know it may work for them. Waar and other movies are sitting in box waiting to see daylight, give them a fair chance to come out while they still have charm

:naraz:

as usual pata tha tum nay aisi he shakal banani hai :meeno:

Why so sad, you can go see Afridi’s movie.

We know you love Afridi more than SRK :smiley:

how about it

Its Afridi's movie he is not in there.......but SRK is SRK he got his own charm and I love his movies

I mean that was our concern, who lost their bread and butter due to downfall of Pakistan film industry. We may keep the discussion regarding clean water for africa for some other thread. no?

thats nice, For a change you love a small heart more than a big heart :D

I hope afridi played a cameo in his movie.