Pakistan batting woes

How would you rate Pakistani batsmen? Do you really think it is world class by any standard? Time and time again we see it collapsing at crucial time; from QF '96, Final '99, against England in '03 and now the '07 World cup. It just seems that if it wasn’t for players like Saeed Anwar, Inzamam and Yousuf, we could have seen more embarrassing games/ series and players like these are natural rather came from any academy or domestic cricket. Only Younis Khan’s emergence can be attributed to our domestic cricket.

I am not denying that we lack talented batsmen in the current squad; players like Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Kamran Akmal, Faisal Iqbal and Asim Kamal have flair. The also have the tendency to work hard and become best, but whenever they are hit by bad form; they are unable to recover.

Re: Pakistan batting woes

Excellent topic for discussion. Although it seems something that might already be beaten to death on this forum.
What is it with our batsmen that they keep failing on critical moments?
Aside from mental toughness, I think its technical flaws.

Our batsmen are extremely talented. Unfortunately talent is the only real skill many of them possess. Barring the old Zaheer, Hanif Mohammad (I am sure I missed many good names from the past), and later greats Miandad, Imran, Slaleem Malik, and the more recent biggies, Inzi, MoYo, Anwar, our current batsmen have a lot of holes in their technique. And more holes today as todays game is all about hitting and not that much about staying on the crease.
Even Miandad had a hugely unorthodox stance and technique, but mostly you saw him get out to very good bowling or after he was tired and played loose shots.
In todays team of Pakistan, I consider only MoYo as the most technically sounds batsmen of Pakistan. And his records show it. After that I think they all have big technical flaws. People start comparing our batsmen to Gilchrist, Hayden and others, but they forget, that they have very sound technique and only get out to super bowling or by playing bad shots when loosing concentration.
So IMHO its lack of mental focus and technique that causes them (our batsmen today) to fall like a deck of cards.

However, one thing to remember, many international batsmen today have weaknesses. No one is 100% correct.

^ Never really rate any one apart from Mohammed Yousaf from the present available players.

AA: You are hitting the right note. I mean just look at Shoaib Malik. Beside captaincy, how can he help us win games? His bowling action been reported, so it is fielding and captaincy where he can prosper. Batting wise, he has serious flaws and I do not know how he will be able to fix them. He has the talent, potential and aura of hard worker, but so far its just bits and pieces.

Definetely correct. We don't even know what his captaincy will be like either.

I have been stating that he is 'bits and pieces player' for a long time.

^ Oh was this thread a disguise to bash Malik being made captain. Sorry missed that googly completely.

Give him time. Most think he can work on his flaws and improve. He seems like an intelligent player.

And don't forget, you don't appoint captains in Pakistan cricket based on their technique alone. Becuase if you did, then Inzimam would have been Captain as soon as Miandad had retired. He was the best batsmen in the team that Pakistan had at that time. However, he wasn't untill no other options existed for PCB (in their old paradigm where only senior players are made captains).

This thread is not to bash Malik. If you read recent statements by PCB, they want Yousuf and Younis to participate against Sri Lanka in Abu Dhabi to avoid a white wash. Can you believe that statement? I mean if you look at it apart from Yousuf and Younis, who is a reliable batsman from our squad.

Salman Butt; no
Yasir Hameed; starts off well, but gives away his wicket.
Kamran Akmal; in a slump.
Faisal Iqbal; great talent, but in a slump.
Asim Kamal; been out for while, do not know how he is going to perform.
Razzaq; great hitter, but can not win you games.
Afridi; good day great player, otherwise a liability.

In the end, it is Malik who will be counted on as a batsman after Younis and Yousuf.

Consider this, we lost ODI series against India due to batting. Lost the Test series against England due to batting and the entire South African tour to World Cup; it has become even worse.

Can we just hope for these players to turn it all around?

In the recent announcement for the 30 member camp, Malik is among All rounders. Jsut like Immee was an All rounder when he was captain.

Yes our batting is weak. That is why we loose matches.

Ok I believe you that the thread is not about bashing Malik. :wink:

Kamran Akmal - slump and still 'Learning'
Faisal Iqbal - For God's sake - great talent - you seriously have to be joking. Asim Kamal much better batsman than this joker........

^ Sallu bhai aik na aik Karachi player ko tau team main dalein gay...!
Lets hope its not just for the sake of Karachi.

Have to get at least one batsman from Karachi a permanent spot in the lineup...otherwise we'll get the same hit and miss batting...

Sallu bhai will not bring players from Khi, just for the sake of, he will bring players whom he "favors". Its a known fact.

^ Acha...sure ...100% ..?

yes 100% sure, its not hear say, but lived it. (seen with my own eyes).

preparing better pitches is the only way we are ever going to overcome basic technical flaws in our batsmen

Pitches yes. That would be a start. Right now most of our current team batsmen got into the domestic cricket after playing on streets then they moved onto cement hard ball cricket.
So yes they need grounds, pitches, instruction on how to close the gap b/w bat and body, how does backlift effect the stroke, foot work etc...

preparing pitches, should not be used as an excuse, in the lahore academy now they 5 pitches; slow, pace (seam, bounce and swing, slow turning tracks and flat beds) Saleem Altaf has said that in the interview already. the players who are a part of Pakistan team can easily practice on them and rectify their flaws.

AA & R_E: Main kia baat karna cha raha hoon aur tum loogon ko apni pari hoi hai. Thread ko pollute karna bhi koi tum se sekhe.

Asim Kamal needs to be the rock in the middle order of the Pakistani lineup. He is the one that can handle the pressue and play solid cricket. For the Sri Lanka series in Abu Dhabi, when Younis Khan wont play, I will even try Asim Kamal at 1 down position.