Re: Pakistan announce World Cup 15
One of the two (Rao and Kaneria) will be used as something out-of-the-box for crucial games, if one of the two (Akhter or Gul) is already not selected for that role.
^ out-of-the-box? hahahahaha. Thats a good one. Humorous but stupid thought.
acrobi- Dont take me wrong. I will be the first one to jump in the air if and when Rao takes any crucial wickets or win us any match but WC is not the time to take a horse who seldom got past the finishing line. Its time to put your faith in tried, tested and successful ones.
Wasim Bari is so much like Erikkson, the ex-english football manager. He touted Theo Walcott (17 year old striker) as his surprise weapon for the worldcup and NEVER got the courage to use it.
Rao might not be the winner but I would take him over a loser like Rana any day. At least he won't have an average of 10 runs per over, or is Rana looking to improve that to some where in the region of 15 per over during the world cup.
Speaking of 17, Feb 17th will give us a crytal clear picture, what kind of rabbits are coming out-of-the-box and which aren't.
Re: Pakistan announce World Cup 15 ( Asif, Aktar, Gull, Danish in Team)
^ yes without humor, any game is boring.
Akhter came out-of-the-box and won 2nd Test for Pak.
I guess using Rao and Asif as our strike bowlers has more humor in it.
Both Asif and Rao has 1 wicket/ODI (10 overs). With such a strike rate they are more suited as 3rd-4th or 4th-5th pair. They can control score but are less likely to get wickets.
In ODIs if you don't get early wickets, you get a big score to chase, something Pak is not good at. So using one of our regular strikers (Akhter, Rana) with defenders (Rao, Asif) is wasting their energies and in case of Akhter, his fitness for next game.
Except in 2nd ODI (which Pak bowlers started as almost winners), Asif has failed to provide an early break-through in ODIs and SA openers used his spell to establish themselves and Rana suffered badly as a result.
I have heard some BS in my life but nothing will top this one. ![]()
Do you seriously know anything about cricket?
Well use Asif as your strike bowlers in this WC and be ready for some real BS. :halo:
Let’s hope Rana, Rao combination to deliver better, if Asif is rested.
HAHAHAHA.
Dude, you’re funny. By any chance, were you in your senses when you wrote this email? Dont think so brother.
You suffer form selective amnesia, let me refresh your memory
3 ODI’s in which both Asif and Rana bowled the stats are as follows:
Asif: 23 overs 116 runs 2 wickets, Runs per over 5.043, Average runs per wicket 58
Rana : 15 overs 152 runs 2 wickets,** Runs per over 10.13, average runs per wicket 76**
Both are supposed to be our strike bowlers, Rana in comparison seems to be playing for SA.
Was I ever right or what?!?!
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=4782662&postcount=52
just didn’t count Naved bhai.. put 7. Azhar Mahmood instead!!! off by 1!!!
Squad: 1 Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), 2 Younis Khan (vice-captain), 3 Mohammad Hafeez, 4 Imran Nazir, 5 Mohammad Yousuf, 6 Shoaib Malik, 7 Abdul Razzaq, 8 Shahid Afridi, 9 Kamran Akmal, Zulqarnain10 Shoaib Akhtar, 11 Mohammad Asif, 12 Umar Gul, 13 Danish Kaneria Abdul Rehman 14 Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, 15 Rao Iftikhar Anjum
Rao can contain in the middle over and can swing ball, in halaat mein ghanimat hai, wicket na bhi lay tou atleast Rana ki tarah chithrol bhi na pare.
Kamran Akmal must have been thrown out of the team, atleast for six months. Zulqi must have been given chances in SA ODIs. Inzi favouritism is pathetic as ever.
Danesh might be effective in ODI, as he has got the best chance to prove himself, that too in a world cup, I hope he will get some tips from Qadir over ODI bowling strategy. But Abdul Rehman seemed to be a miser leggie in ODI, which can take couple of wickets as well, plus he is a good fielder and better batsman than Danesh.
Instead of Rana, we should have taken Anwar or Jamshed from U19. If Imran Khan was around they would have got chances already.
Bari + Inzi + Woolmar = Pathetic World Cup prepration = 4 bowlers Inured + 1 WK injured and out of form + allrounders half fit + swapped openers right before tournament
If all are fit, this squad can surely take us to the semi final.
^^ Yaar who cares it' cricket
What BS, I wouldnt play Rao in a galli ka match yet he finds himself inexplicably to be part of the WC squad. He apparently isn’t good enough to be in the ODI team for the past few series yet he is good enough for the WC
. I guess Inzi and Bob are not playing him to protect such a national asset from injury. Or maybe he just wants to tour the West Indies, it is a beautiful place.
Our brilliant PCB never gave a chance to any other pace bowler so the hopes of our nation rests with jokers like Rao, Rana, Sami, Nazir. Gul MIGHT be fit DURING the world cup? Is this a joke? And I suppose he will be expected to take 5 wicket hauls as soon as he is back. ![]()
The very fact that Kaneria is in the side (I have always supported that move in the absence of STRIKE bowlers), without any practice whatsoever in the lead up to the WC shows the shambles our side is in before this all important event.
And lets not even start on our batting woes…
Ok enough venting.
Just a thought about injured players selection:
If the above don't recover in time and we have 1 or 2 more injuries during the tournament - we won't even have 11 players to play with. What a pathetic selection by PCB.
By the way, what will happen in this case? Are we allowed to change squad? I think our under 19 team pace attack is much better than what we have for this worldcup
If the above don't recover in time and we have 1 or 2 more injuries during the tournament - we won't even have 11 players to play with. What a pathetic selection by PCB.
By the way, what will happen in this case? Are we allowed to change squad? I think our under 19 team pace attack is much better than what we have for this worldcup
yes Pak can replace any injured player. i think that why they choose Gul, and Akthar.
If Gul, and Shoaib are injured and Afridi is not playing in first round two games then I WISH to see PAK fail to pass first round. So that Inzi along with his favorite players Danish and Rao could go back to Pakistan early to enjoy spring season in Pakistan.
What kind of fan are you? If wouldn't want Pakistan to lose no matter who's playing. Besides, there's a good chance Kaneria will come good. Even Rao can be tidy and restrict runs (he can't be worse than Rana is at the moment).
Ehsan bhai, I know Asif is a very good bowler but he is not used in a good way. I just mean he needs to learn a lot at international level so use more experienced options as strike bowlers and use Asif to support them. This is how every other bowler is used (including Akhter) at his start.
^^
3 ODI's in which both Asif and Rana bowled the stats are as follows:
Asif: 23 overs 116 runs 2 wickets, Runs per over 5.043, Average runs per wicket 58
Rana : 15 overs 152 runs 2 wickets,** Runs per over 10.13, average runs per wicket 76**
Both are supposed to be our strike bowlers, Rana in comparison seems to be playing for SA.
This is selective amnesia (for you). You just repeated what I have said. Rana is a better performer otherwise, but even he suffered when he was used with an un-experienced strike bowler. simply don't expect Akhter or any other strike bowler to perform consistently when his partner on other end is not assisting him well.
So Pak's opening problems are not limited to batting in SA, they are also short of a good bowling combination to start the attack with, as well.
i would have liked to see either arafat or azhar instead of Rao Parchi.
I hope shoaib, gul and asif gets fit so rao only gets to bring water.