Pakistan and its electricity crises? how to solve it

electricity is back bone of any manufacturing business. you needs light, needs electric to run the machines etc. If there is is load shedding 2 hours per day it means you paid wages to workers for nothing. Due to this it is impossible to compete with china india or bangla desh etc.
how to solve this energy crises of pakistan? please share your views here

Well the solution is obviously upgrading the infrastructure.. Based on the last statistics I checked up to a couple of years a go Pakistan's generation capacity was higher than their Maximum Demand. We still had load shedding because you cant always match peak generation with peak demand as lot of power generation is hydro. That has changed now though, the maximum generation capacity is lower than maximum demand. The second problem is line losses. The lines, substations are old and there are high resistive losses. Then there comes the issue of electricity theft. But I dont think that contributes to load shedding as difference between the cumulative meter readings of an area and the meter reading at the substation is divided amongst the house holds. So basically everyone pays if one guy is stealing power.

The solution, there is no simple or single solution . Obviously it is investment in infrastructure and more generation. Pakistan has good sources of coal and natural gas. For short term more coal and CCGT power stations have to be built. A CCGT power station can be built under 3 years and are quite off the shelf . Coal stations take longer and require a larger investment. But will be eventually required. This will also include upgrading the transmission, distribution infrastructure.

We could also look into buying power from Iran and China by interconnecting the grids. Something similar to US/Canada or Europe. Privatising the generation sector where people can independantly sell power on the grid will also encourage development in the generation sector.

Long term we need to look into distributed generation. Things like Trigen and CHP. Where you can have one natural gas fired generator in a locality that will provide power and heating in the winters or cooling in the summers which will all be metered ofcourse. There is also a great potential for domestic scale solar generation in Pakistan. If each house gets lets say a 1KWp of solar panels installed then it not only reduces your electricity bills, it provides you with a back up source during load shedding. Much better than the power hungry UPS. Solar is expensive as well, but I think the upper class in Pakistan can take the initiative.

All in all, it requires a broad spectrum of solutions ranging from changing our habbits to creating investment incentives in the energy sector to government investments.

Re: Pakistan and its electricity crises? how to solve it

^ All that is nice if Government is purposely not trying to sabotoge the efforts.

Electricity is already privatised (by Benazir) - but (as the rumor goes) Government stops the payment to private electric house - which in return stop the production.

I think true answer is solar power! A company has created solar panels that it "prints" on a special paper. They CAN cost to produce as low as $1 / sq. foot. They yeild extremely high voltage as well (compared to traditional clunky panels). Start selling these in Pakistan and give people power to fund their own need for electricity and all FOR FREE!! Best of all its CLEAN energy! For Life! For Free! ... as well as Instant and Cheap (since UPS are widely used in Pakistan as well).

Setup a factory in Pakiston for this stuff will REVOLUTIONIZE Pakistan instantly (provided Gov't will not stop it). I would have taken action on that by now - but I don't have enough capital.
Anyone want to fund my noble cause?

Pakistan shuld lern frm India. India no has any energi crisis. In evry village of india electricity available. But peple prefer to cook with gobar and coal. It tasts orginal.
We have textle mills in every villege.

Why do the government have to pay the pvt sector. I dont get it. I might be misunderstanding the mechanics of privatization here but in privatisation doesnt the company running the power sector pay the government a part of the profit share?

Solar power is certainly the way forward. But it alone is not the solution. There are various issues with solar, storage being one of them and the technology has not developed enough to solve a whole nation's energy crisis. PS: Solar energy is not free!!

Certainly a good idea.

As far as I know - Private companies sell electricity to Gov't and then Gov't distribute it to the public. You can produce electricty to sell, but you don't have access to the Grids directly , I guess.

Solar alone will not fix the whole country, but if the hardware is cheap. Implementation is easy (with local material and skills) then all small biz, houses and villages can work independently of Gov't electricity.

Rest of the industry can rely on much available electricity then. Its crude idea, but certainly worth looking into.

P.S: I am not sure what do you mean, Solar is not free? Once you have the solar panel and UPS to store energy - its all free.

Solar energy is not free because there is an initial high capital investment. So you have to consider that in terms of payback periods. Plus there is maintenance cost, and devaluation and inflation etc etc. All needs to be accounted for. One of the Masdar projects I am working on, we have estimated the cost of renewable energy per day per person to be 27$. Not cheap!!

how come $27 per day per person?
thanks for feedbacks

Actually it was $21.6 to be exact. But that was based for an average load of 45MW distributed amongst 10,000 people. Renewable energy costs around 0.20$/KWh so you can calculate it as follows:

Power per person is 4.5kW
So in a day a person would use 4.5*24 = 108kWh of power
Total cost per person per day = 108*0.2 = 21.6$.

These values are a little misleading because its meant for a specific island project. 4.5kW per person is high!!.. But the point is..renewable energy is not free.

$650 per month, no thank you I will stick to good old power grid. )

100% agreed! I would help you find the funds if someone can ensure the Govt not going to eat the money,

Pakistan does have the ability to generate all its energy requirements from just the waste it produces (MSW, Crop Residues, Distillery effluents etc) and the natural renewable resources it has. What is required is to put the energy issue on a war footing rather than the current obsession with India.

Having enjoyed living and working in India and now Pakistan, both of which are a warm hospitable people, there are similar problems and similar solutions available.

Currently I am making my own modest contribution to the energy mix in Landhi Cattle Colony, Karachi, where we will take 8,000 tons of dung from over 400,000 Buffalo in a 3km2 area, to produce over 24MWe of renewable electricity and 1000 tons per day of organic fertiliser. This will be one of the largest biogas plants in the World and should act as a template for many similar projects ranging from 200 animals to 200,000.

There are many cost effective baseline (24/7) Renewable energy technologies that can be manufactured and used in Pakistan, beside wind and solar, which do not currently produce electricity 24/7.

Pakistan is a fine nation that could be energy independent. Once this is achieved, it can make decisions purely in its own best interests, not that of others at its expense and risk

Robert Orr
Landhi Biogas & Fertiliser
[email protected]

ab tu intny bhi nahi milti jitni chor diya kertay thay

used to have load shading in summer but they are still doing in winter

Analysis of Pakistani industries is a very informative course at IBA which is basically an instructor less ... self learning exercise where we develop reports for world bank ... what we learnt in that semester was simple yet shocking.. 2030 is the time for which the clock ticks... after that pakistan will run dry ... no water for everyone... yet it will sell at the highest price.. if steps are not taken to build atleast 7 - 8 large dams by that time we will suffer... the best step for pakistan to take right now is invest in skardu - katzarah dam which is the diamond in paks head ... thats what i call it ... it is one location where a dam never loses its productivity due to the water flow .. there is no silting and the life of that dam is above 1000 years and electric potential is above 20000 mw which is phenomenal ....
the only difficulty is some towns and airport of skardu ... yes difficult steps have to be taken by countries and people who dont accept change are just like that dead still water which turns into a bad marsh where smell and mosquitos breed .. we can never stay the same change will have to be accepted and people will need to sacrifice for the future betterment of the people of pakistan .

a good example would be the movement of a whole city in this certain country in the scandinavian as a huge mine had to be dug under it .. and people moved because they knew it was positive for them and if they stay there ... where will there livelihood come from if they stop their government to work for them and find new ways to develop the country,

4.5KW per person ..... Allah Kahir karey

I've planned a Standalone (island System) for my Grandparents near Sargodha

It's a 1.5KWp System which would cost around USD4.0K - USD4.5K ..... this system includes Solar Panels, Charger Controle, Battery Pack and ofcourse AC/DC converter from China.

Pakistan has an average global Sun radiation of roughly 5.8KWh/Day/m²

I'm still speechless at 4.5KW per person

Me and my family (wife + 3 kids) and my parents = a total of 7 Person

We've 2 Refridgerators, 4 PC's, 2 TV Sets, Electric Oven+Electric Tandoor (this one eats up some power), some 10 Lights, Washing machine, Dish Washer etc. and the Bill we got last year read that from October 2007 to September 2008 we consumed some 3550KWh of electricity.

The TV Sets runs atleast 8-10 hours a day
The PC's run atleast 5-6 hours and one of them 24 hours as server
The Refridgerator both on 24 hours but with automatic power controle
The Dish Washer is used atleast once daily
The Washing machine is used atleast once daily
The Electric Tandoor is used 2-3 times daily

So if we take the three kids for one adult ..... let's say the household is made up of 4 adults which would then mean that 4 Person consumed 3550 KWh in 12 Months. Or in other words a daily average of 9.726 KWh and then divided by 4 Person we have a daily consumption per person of roughly 2.432 KWh

But that's the situation in Germany. I've left out little things like DSL Router, Cordless Phone, Sound Systems (not that little though), Satellite Decoder etc.

I don't think this resembles an average Pakistani household although u didn't say that :)

AoA wrwb,

Well, from what you guys are saying, it seems like the Solar Electricity is quite an expensive option. I had a look at

paksolarpwer . net

and they provide 1000Watts/1KW of solar panel system for $5900 + GST with 25 years warranty.

What's your say?

Wsalam

Meri haqeer ra'ay kay mutabiq it's way too expensive

u can get a 1KW setup for around USD2500 - USD3000 with 25 years waranty ..... i'm talking about a Standalone system

Hmmm

Thanks for your suggestion.
Do you think this 1kw would be sufficient enough to fulfil prime necessities, and where in Pakistan, it is possible to get it for USD3000?

Because the guy I spoke to, is base in Lahore and from his sayings, they are doing it free of charge etc. Below is their website.

Select most suitable Solar Power Plan for you!

Read here

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/307102-electric-can-finish-us-2.html#post6327678