Pakistan a fake country, will reunite with India one day: Katju - The Times of India on Mobile
HYDERABAD: Pakistan is “a fake country”, and one day will reunite with India along with Bangladesh, Press Council of India chairperson Justice (Retd) Markandey Katju said on Sunday.
He also said that whereas today an overwhelming majority of Hindus and Muslims were “communal”, it was not so a century ago.
“A fake country was created in the name of Pakistan. It is an artificially created entity by the British to make Hindus and Muslims keep fighting with each other, to stop India from becoming a powerful industrialised nation,” he said, answering questions after a symposium on 'Reporting Terror: How Sensitive is the media?" here.
“Pakistan is a fake country and one day India, Pakistan and Bangladesh will reunite. It may take 15-20 years. Those who have divided us will not easily allow us to reunite. They will still want us to keep fighting. But we will reunite in the next 15-20 years under a strong secular modern-minded government,” he said.
“Eighty per cent of Hindus and eighty per cent amongst Muslims are communal. This is the bitter truth,” he said, adding that “in 1857, there was zero per cent communalism in the country. Though, there were differences between Hindus and Muslims.”
Discrimination against minorities exists in India, Pakistan and Bangladesh, he added.
Re: Pakistan a fake country, will merge with India one day - Justice Katju
I have never understood the concept of Akhand Bharat, when did it exist? In our history most of the subcontinent was united under Asoka (and that for almost 100-150 years), Gupta was a North Indian based government, the Mughals couldn't properly take over south India.
khair Zaid Hamid to class hi aur hai. wo theory ke sath jaisa taisa procedure bhi batata hai usse hasil karne ke liye ( Ghazwa e Hind for gaining Kaneez and Londis from India) Katju abhi bacha hai
Pakistan and India were not supposed to be enemy countries in the first place. They were supposed to be more like Canada and USA or European Union. It was the haste with which the partition was carried out and the conspiracies that took place behind the scenes that ended in creating idiotic borders and accession of ‘autonomous states’ resulting in massive violence and hatred.
If we ignore Iqbal’s poetry for a moment, andonly look at his correspondence with Jinnah, it would become apparent that the idea of Pakistan stems more from political reasons than religious. For example;
28th May, 1937
…The League will have to finally decide whether it will remain a body representing the upper classes of Indian Muslims or Muslim masses who have so far with good reason, taken no interest in it. Personally I believe that a political organisation which gives no promise of improving the lot of the average Muslim can not attract our masses…
Jan 21, 1937:
…I have carefully studied the whole situation and believe that the real cause of these event is neither religious nor economic. It is purely political, i.e., the desire of the Sikhs and Hindus to intimidate Muslims even in the Muslim majority provinces. And the new constitution is such that even in the Muslim majority provinces, the Muslims are made entirely dependent on non-Muslims. The result is that the Muslim Ministry can take no proper action and are even driven to do injustice to Muslims partly to please those on whom they depend and partly to show that they are absolutely impartial. Thus it is clear that we have our specific reasons to reject this constitution…
===============
Unfortunately, after the death of Iqbal, All India Muslim League was dominated by feudal lords who did not agree with Iqbal’s idea of Pakistan, which has led to the ‘fake country’ status. Ironically, after partition, Indian National Congress (dominated by middle class professionals) introduced the kind of reforms in India that Iqbal advocated and the landed elite of Muslim League never let that happen in Pakistan. The insistence of the feudal lords to continue with the British ‘Zamindari’ and corrupt elitist bureaucratic system was also a factor for repeated interventions by the military. To this day in Pakistan, the legislative assemblies are dominated by landed elite. Page 93 ahead of this book is an interesting comparison.
^ I agree with you that the two countries can coexist together. The statement of katju however echoes the sentiments of the proponents of Akhand Bharat which is a mythical proposition as "India" has remained united for a very small fraction of its tumultuous history spanning thousands of years. I believe even Indonesia and Malaysia are the same people (the religion of the majority is also the same) but they are different countries.
^ I don’t know if India can exist as a ‘united entity’ now but I would agree to the extent of him calling Pakistan a ‘fake country’.
As long as the political power remains with feudal lords, the whole idea of having a separate state where Muslim masses can flourish economically and politically would remain a dream. Just review the names and occupations of legislators in last Sindh Assembly even in the 21st century to reconfirm. There isn’t much difference between their oppression of the masses and Hindu Majority political and economic oppression that we sought refuge from.
P.S. You need to be a little careful when it comes to Malaysia. There is ethnic tension between Malays, Chinese and Indian origin people. Not at all an ethnically cohesive society.
^ ok, my example was regarding Indonesian and Malaysian muslims.
Muslim League in the beginning wanted an autonomous area within Indian federation, but Indian national Congress didn't agree with that and hence in a way pushed them towards demand for independence. Communal tensions were present in Punjab and Bengal which were to be divided and the haste resulted in deaths of millions across the borders (sowing seeds of hatred which exists even to date).
The proponents of united India portray as if there was one in history. Anyways, its time to move on.
I know there are many issues within the country that needs to be resolved but calling the country fake is I believe a bit harsh. Because the same definition applies to many countries in the neighbourhood.
^....but calling the country fake is I believe a bit harsh. Because the same definition applies to many countries in the neighbourhood.
That's the whole idea. If we had to suffer the same problems and issues, there was no need for a separate country. Does it matter to the oppressed if the oppressor is a Jatoi or Jasmit?
^ you are right that pakistan has not served its purpose.
What about the red corridor in India? The areas towards the east and west of the subcontinent (on the fringes) have always remained unstable. There's no guarantee that we would have been better off within India. Unfortunately for us Pakistan has always been remained in the eye of the storm particularly due to its geostrategic location (cross road of central asia, south asia and middle east) something that should have been our strength has proven to be a big curse for us. Even at the moment we can see what kind of events are happening in our region.
I agree with you regarding the compounding of problems due to martial laws and feudals which will have to be taken care if we have to move forward.
i don't know anyone who still dreams of akhand bharat and what not. most right-wingers these days want isolation of the western neighbour, and believe pakistan will implode under the end game of its own devices. katju pai just woke up after his wazwan from advani's rath yatra days, i guess.
It's not just him. Pakistan has its' fair share of people who share similar ideology. They're undeclared brothers on opposite ends that serve as catalysts for each other, and keep the momentum going. Humility and common respect has just about disappeared from the majority of us all, particularly in the subcontinent.