Paki culture appreciation time!

culture is not easily defined and thus leaves a broad umbrella to encompass many things . its our desi nature to point out the negative in everything. so, lets all take a positive turn and

1. list your favorite aspects (positives only) about paki “culture”. be it food, clothing, language, etc.

cheers:blush:

Re: Paki culture appreciation time!

If you want to start by being positive, why not refer to us as “Pakistani”, and not “Paki”.

good things:

• delectable food (biryani, sherbet, kheer)
  • elegant dress (shalwar kameez for women)
  • keen sense for poetry, highly developed literary tastes
  • strong traditions of honour and bravery in some parts (Pashtu areas)

eating breakfast, lunch, dinner with your whole family, everyday.
respect for your elders
supporting your parents when they get older
waking up on eid morning and getting to hug your parents.
family members forgetting differences and coming together on days like eid.
oh and who can forget wonderful weddings, the color the passion the happiness that makes up a desi wedding....
the never ending line of people who are always there to support you (emotionally) when you lose a loved one, when your kids get married and u need help with decorating and when you just need to vent.
the fact that your grandma wont be left alone when she is old and sick.

How are any of these related to “Pakistani” culture?

culture is whats considered a norm....all of the above are considered norms in pakistan are they not? would the same be considered a norm is the US? how is it NOT part of paki culture?

The items you listed as “Pakistani” are practiced by many other cultures and religions, and are not exclusive to Pakistan. I don’t believe Pakistan has their own culture.

^^ ok u are entitled to your opinion. i think pakistan has a very rich culture. and it is their OWN.

Then please explain what makes Pakistani culture so different from others? Your list failed to do that.

my list failed to do that? from the point of view of someone who lives in the USA, the cultural differences are vast. I would essentially compare paki culture with the one i am experiencing now. what else do u think my list comes under??and if not that, what is it that makes up paki culture(leaving out the unpleasant stuff). and finally, you need to explain yourself when u say pakistan has no culture of its own.

Same thing shweet said and the clothing and food too :blush:

Yes, your list failed to distinguish Pakistani culture from other cultures. Give me one example in your list that exists ONLY in Pakistan, and NOT in other cultures around the world.

is this about what distinguished it from ALL other cultures? i told u im comparing it to a culture i am experiencing(the USA for example). the original poster asked us to define what part of paki culture u love and i said so. it might very well exist in other cultures, but doesnt change the fact that it STILL IS PART OF PAKISTAN's CULTURE.
first u said that my list isnt part of culture at all, now u ask what differentiates it from other cultures?

what shweetdreams listed was activities and situations in which one has to be emotionally active, give support, and read other people's feelings... typical female response.

^^your point is? bhai female say male response aata tou apko takleef aur khujjli hotee....

can never win em all sighs!

lol… i was just drawing a distinction there, coz my response was typically male (food, fighting, bravery):rolleyes:

Fret Wizard- your being mean and picking on ppl:confused: … nice pakistani ok:blush:

The items in your list comprise of things most good natured humans do, not only Pakistani’s. If you refer to “Pakistani Culture”, then explain what “Pakistani culture” is, like the the title of the thread states. I’m sorry, but spending time with family at dinner is NOT culture, and definitely NOT exclusive to Pakistan.

Culture means way of life, and thus all the things listed by shweetdreamz fall within culture. It’s not just about puppet shows and nice paintings. There are differences in family life / wedding customs / relationships between relatives / degree of solitude experienced - these are all aspects of culture which vary between region and region. In America, the nuclear family is the norm. Shweetdreamz was comparing Pakistan with America. So even though the things she described are not exclusive to Pakistan, they are much more an intrinsic part of our culture than in America.

Just becos some things in Pakistani culture r in other cultures also, doesn’t mean they r not a part of our culture…lots of cultures have overlapping similarities. So there is nothing wrong with the list shweetdreamz gave. To hers i wud like to add, beautiful clothes, yummy food, language and how hospitable and friendly they r (most!) :blush: