PAK vs IND are likely to play on Sep 29 2002

http://www.espnstar.com/jsp/cda/crick/aid=168851cricket_newsdetail.html

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/waspak.jpg

Wasim Akram is keen to see Indo-Pak ties resumed quickly

India vs Pak on September 29, 2002?

NEW DELHI (AFP) - Despite continued military tensions on both sides of the border, India and Pakistan could meet on the cricket field as early as September 29. The match, however, will not require any special diplomatic skill or a sudden turnaround in the Indian government’s policies to ensure the first international between the two countries since May, 2000 takes place.
It’s the players themselves who can make it happen - India and Pakistan need to reach the final of the 12-nation Champions Trophy tournament in the Sri Lankan capital of Colombo to break the ice.

Both India and Pakistan have been drawn in different groups of the International Cricket Council-organised tournament featuring the 10 Test-playing nations plus Kenya and the Netherlands. India are drawn alongside England and Zimbabwe in Pool B, while Pakistan are in Pool D with hosts Sri Lanka and the Netherlands.

Even if both countries top their respective pools, the ICC have ensured they do not clash in the semi-finals, but a meeting cannot be avoided if they reach the finals.

The Indian government has banned bilateral cricket ties with Pakistan in protest at Islamabad’s alleged support for the Muslim militancy in the disputed region of Kashmir. But the Indian cricket board has permission to play in multi-nation tournaments which feature Pakistan, like the World Cup or the Champions Trophy.

India and Pakistan came to the brink of war earlier this year and still have hundreds of thousands of troops massed on their common border as a result of a December attack on the Indian parliament in December, which New Delhi blamed on Pakistan-based militant groups.

India last played against Pakistan in the Asia Cup in Bangladesh in May, 2000. Since then, the Indian government has refused to sanction the Indian team’s trip to Pakistan for a scheduled Test tour, or play the arch-rivals in Toronto, Canada and Sharjah, United Arab Emirates.

Indian Olympic Association (IOA) president Suresh Kalmadi, was last week in Islamabad to fix new dates for the South Asian Federation (SAF) Games, which were postponed after the US-led strikes in neighbouring Afghanistan. The Games, featuring India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Bhutan and Maldives, will be held in Islamabad from March 29 to April 7.

Kalmadi also used the opportunity to meet Pakistan Cricket Board chief Tauqir Zia and discuss the resumption of cricket ties between the two countries.

**An Indian cricket board official, however, said Kalmadi’s mediation was unlikely to resolve the matter. “There is no point talking to Pakistan about playing cricket again because they have never refused to play against us,” the official said. “The problem lies with our government’s stand and it is up to us to convince the government to allow us to play.” **

India are scheduled to make a Test tour of Pakistan in April 2003, their first to that country since 1989

good man de lal-poond...
newz te chungi aai..hon vaikho indianz noon ki saap suungda aai...

God bless u all..

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota...
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota...
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker...
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota...

India will lose early on.

Pak won't be meeting them in the finals. Auz or SA will kick their (Indian) sorry arses.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited July 28, 2002).]

Originally posted by Gandalf:
**India will lose early on.

Pak won't be meeting them in the finals. Auz or SA will kick their (Indian) sorry arses.

You should check your Team's performance in Past ICC Tournaments - You have managed to win just one match there.

About our record against Aus - We are up 2-0
and against SA up 1-0.

AK

Originally posted by Asif_k:
** You should check your Team's performance in Past ICC Tournaments - You have managed to win just one match there.

About our record against Aus - We are up 2-0
and against SA up 1-0.

Well when playing once in a life time then no wonder.
Play more and youll see what your team is capable of.

Would be great if those two sites could play against each other. The most thrilling matches been Pak vs. Indian and I'm pretty this one will be another cracka!

Hope it will be played.

“meRe SoOnE kE joOtE naHi." -- ShiNoO*© ...*
"yoUr comManD iS mY wiSH." -- ShiNoO*© ...*
"mE tO hooN hI BurRA." -- Ali_R 'n SHuJ*©*

Originally posted by Ali_R:
** Well when playing once in a life time then no wonder.
Play more and youll see what your team is capable of.

Would be great if those two sites could play against each other. The most thrilling matches been Pak vs. Indian and I'm pretty this one will be another cracka!

Hope it will be played.

What do you mean - Pakistan participated in 1998 ICC KO trophy and was KOed in first match. Again in 2001 it was KOed in 2nd match. India, on the other hand, went in the semifinals by beating Australia in 1998. In 2001 India went to the Finals by beating Australia and South Africa.

So the comments made by the One gentleman that Aus would beat India is not true. India does have a 50:50 chance.

AK

And u r trying to say that Pakistan Doesn’t have that chance… of 50:50…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Y don’t u guyz just say it once… That u hate Pakistan and are jealous of them… And Sh_T Up… For tha rest of tha time…

—=::´´¨¨º¤ Raja Pakistani ¤°¨¨``::=—

A team like India will never make it that far...

Well if they say it once then they don’t get to say it again n again(indirectly).

[This message has been edited by Question (edited July 27, 2002).]

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited July 27, 2002).]

Where did I say that Pakistan doesn’t have a Chance ? Infact, Looking at Pak’s current form, it has a very good chance. My whole post was in response to one gentleman’s comment about our performance.

About being jealous abd hating Pakistan - I think It is you guys who are jealous and hate Indian team (After all I have read many pakis saying they support only two Teams - Pak and any country playing against India). I dont think I hate Pakistan and it players - I am a big fan of players like Waqar Younis, Yousuf Yohana,Saed Anwar, Inzi,Moin Khan etc.

Spock - We have already made there once.

AK

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited July 27, 2002).]

-

[This message has been edited by Question (edited July 28, 2002).]

First of All… u tell me that Pakistani are jealous of India… Jealous of WHUT…!!!

And yeh I have always experienced That Indians are always Talking in jealousy when ever any event happen… i.e cricket..!!!
And that expereince is from where i have lived… in a short distance there is a big indian Community… and u should just see them… talk… I m serious…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

Question Bhai… Thanx for making this argument… an interesting one… by adding a little humour…

—=::´´¨¨º¤ Raja Pakistani ¤°¨¨``::=—

What are we jealous of? The inferior record that you have?

I dont think India could ever beat Aussies in top form...

Originally posted by Adnan Ahmed:
I dont think India could ever beat Aussies in top form...

We Did - We stoppped their winning streak and won the series.

AK

Originally posted by Asif_k:
** We Did - We stoppped their winning streak and won the series.

yeah in your backyard.

Wherever - Mr. Ahmad didn’t tell that . He just said we couldn’t beat him. And I said We did. What about You guys ?? When was the last time you beat Aussies in TESTS ??

In your backyard or away ?

AK

You always try to get away from the discussion by bringing in PAK, can’t you understand simple english that we are talking about india vs AUS not PAK vs AUS. What jealous person you are no wonder every time you post I can smell you burning with hate

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

AOA

Well let me tell you something Asif_K beating Australia in that test series was without a doubt a tough thing and I have to give the Indian for that but beating Australia in Australia is a much different thing. one day or test matches, it doesn’t matter because both forms take their own skills and strategy to win.
Winning in Australia is a thousand times tougher than beating Australia in India.

I must admit Australia was a way much better team when last time they came to Pakistan and how Taylor humiliated our bowlers with his 300+.

But things have changed very much and Pakistan is a very different and better team now then we had 5 years ago.