Pak truckers take Kareena Kapoor for a ride

Back of a truck in the dusty roads of Pakistan is the canvas of rural art ,broken urdu poetry wisdom philosophy & good wishes to make the roadster smile

http://headlines.sify.com/popwin.html

Pak truckers take Kareena Kapoor for a ride

Peshawar, Aug 5

For school drop-out Ilyas Khan, business is literally looking good. In a junk yard in this city near the Afghan frontier, Khan and his brother Hayat turn trucks into works of art-on-wheels.

Khan and his brother are adding the final touches to a Japanese-made 10-wheel Hino truck that has been given the typical Peshawar make-over with red, yellow and green motifs painted on a blue background.

But, the star attraction is on the back of the truck.

A larger than life portrait of actress Kareena Kapoor, greets passersby as the truck careers through the length and breadth of Pakistan.

“She is the most famous film actress in Pakistan today,” says Khan. “So when the owner wanted something attractive, he chose her. They want something very individual. This is a one-of-a-kind bodywork that we do.”

It is not difficult to understand why the trucker wanted to criss-cross the country with Kapoor’s image.

Most Pakistanis are familiar with bootleg versions of Hindi movies and music. Kapoor flick “Khabhi Khushi, Khabhi Gham” has been a blockbuster across the subcontinent.

Spelling mistakes both in Urdu language and in English are glossed over as poetic licence. Kareena Kapoor, who lives across the border in Mumbai, is unlikely to notice.

Trucks do not cross into India given the hostility between the two nations who have a million troops massed along their border since December.

It is the vanity of the drivers that keeps the Khan brothers in business. No driver would want to be seen dead in a truck with a factory finish look.

The brothers custom-build at least six truck bodies a week and for someone who dropped out of school at the age of 13, Khan has come a long way: He employs 25 workers.

Khan said the best art work on wheels comes from this city located 35 kilometres from the Afghan border, which has been a gateway for invaders, traders and missionaries for more than 2,000 years.

“The colours are chosen by the owner, we give a design to suit the customer,” says painter Lal Mohammad as he adds the finishing touches to a string of metal chains dangling from the floor boards.

A complete art job on a 10-wheel truck costs Rs 15,000 rupees. But coach building could cost another Rs 170,000.

The package includes adding an extra platform beyond the front bumper to serve like a cow-catcher seen in the steam locomotives.

Even motorcycles modified as three-wheel taxis get the paint make over to suit the owner’s taste, or as some would say, the lack of it.

The art work can be further refined by adding luminous paint, covering wheel rims with gaudily jutting out plastic light reflectors.

All this taste for body-work and in some cases body sculpture, hardly makes for a relaxed driving experience in Peshawar, though. Riding any sort of vehicle in this city of 1.8 million is not for the faint hearted.

Horse-drawn carts and the smaller, but nippier, donkey carts compete for right of way with motorcycles, three-wheel taxis, cars – both new and ancient, as well as buses.

The Phoenix Armoured Car service which helps banks and others to transport cash and valuables in a city noted for is violent gun culture, has its own public relations drive on wheels.

The fleet of cash transporting vans do not sport fancy paint work. They carry a telephone number a simple black and white message: “How am I driving. Complaints, please call.”

Wohi Hota Hai Jo Munzoore Khuda Hota Hai … :nahnah:

Seems like Pak truck drivers have no taste.

karina de te naseebay khul gaye…mufat diyan sairan…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

AS if Indian or oops Bharti Truck drivers do???

Atleast they are honest open & uninhibited enough to expose themselves bare …nothing hidden

Besides even thses illiterate hard working people know its fun & doesnt mean anything for some of there wives are more beutifull than Kareena whose father Randhir Kapoor & mother Babita both are originally made of Pakistani soil of Sindh & Punjab !!!

Just b/c Ashwaria went to bare herself to beuty queen contest doesnt mean she really is the MOST beutifull ..i dont think so

abay Gymasophyst aka Azad Munna

before you talk about "beuty" and "beutifull", try and learn their spellings, ignoramus.

[This message has been edited by sabah (edited August 06, 2002).]

qUEER

WEIRDO ASK ADMIN ABOUT a.m. not me

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad3.gif

tHE SPELL CHECKER IS CHEAP INEXPENSIVE DEVICE THAT INSIGNIFICANT NINCOMPOOPS LIKE can even UTILIZE .

Who ever became a ceo after being Spelling Bee ?? NOT ONE

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

sO ANYTHING THAT PUTS ME INTO THE SAME CATEGORY AS YOU (SPELLING PERFECTLY)i WOULD DO EVERYTHING TO DEFINE MY SELF AS different identity

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

!!!

lOOK WHAT YOU hINDIANS ARE UPTO http://www.telegraphindia.com/national.htm

CAMPAIGN-MODE VHP PLANS GODHRA TABLEAU PARADE
OUR CORRESPONDENT Ahmedabad, Aug. 5: After death by fire, it?s time for a fiery design. The VHP is considering a proposal to design a tableau resembling the burning S-6 coach of the ill-fated Sabarmati Express to parade all over Gujarat in the run-up to the Assembly elections. VHP state vice-president and spokesman Kaushik Mehta said a decision was yet to be taken, but admitted that the proposal was being seriously considered. ?If the Parishad decides to go ahead with its plan, no one can stop us. Not even the Election Commission. Since we are not a political party, we are not bound by a model code of conduct. We are a cultural-religious organisation and we can make the tableau yatra a part of Hindu awakening,? he said. ?Can anybody stop us from taking out sant yatras? Can anybody dare to stop a yajna? The VHP will do all that to awaken Hindus, to tell them the importance of this election,? Mehta told The Telegraph. VHP sources said ?highly motivated and dedicated? cadre will swing into action in over 10,000 villages once the outfit?s leaders give a call. The single-point objective of the VHP, Mehta said, is to ?Hinduise the country?s politics?. This is the first time since 1964, when it was floated as a cultural organisation by the Rashtriya Swyamsevak Sangh, that the VHP has decided to openly campaign for the BJP. But the very nature of the tableau?s theme could scuttle the proposal. ?It will be unfortunate if the VHP is allowed to go ahead with its highly provocative electioneering plan,? senior Congress leader Hasmukh Patel said. The tableau plan comes after chief minister Narendra Modi?s attempts to launch road shows on the Godhra carnage ran into hurdles. Modi wanted to lead an asthi kalash yatra with the ashes of the Godhra victims in early July, coinciding with the Jagannath rath yatra. But the Centre intervened and asked him to abort the plan, saying it could incite communal passions. The chief minister again wanted to take out a Gaurav yatra across the state, but that idea was also shelved, fearing an adverse reaction from the Election Commission that was about to decide the election schedule. The Gaurav rath, designed by students of the National Institute of Design, is now being kept in a farmhouse, awaiting the green light from the BJP high command to roll. In Delhi, the VHP declared that the Gujarat Assembly polls would be a ?vote for Ram bhakts and Godhra martyrs?, adds PTI. VHP international general secretary Praveen Togadia said: ?Whenever elections are held, the issue will not be Modi or Vaghela (state Congress chief). People will vote for the Godhra martyrs and Ram bhakts.? The VHP has convened two meetings of over 4,500 office-bearers at Ahmedabad and Limbdi on August 11 to chalk out the strategy for the polls, he said. ?We will be mobilising our workers and launching a religious awareness campaign to expose the role of political parties in the Godhra incident. We will ensure the victory of those who respected Hindu sentiments and expose others,? Togadia said. ?Godhra?s answer will be given at Gandhinagar,? he added. Asked whether the VHP was working towards a landslide victory for Modi, Togadia said: ?More than that.? Togadia said eyewitnesses of the Godhra carnage would tour villages in Gujarat in batches of two and three as part of the ?Hindu awareness? programme. Team briefs EC

The Election Commission team which visited Gujarat for an on-the-spot assessment today briefed the panel on the situation in the state. Sources said the team would take another three to four days to submit its report to Chief Election Commissioner J.M. Lyngdoh and the two other election commissioners, T.S. Krishnamurthy and B.B. Tandon. The nine-member team, led by deputy election commissioners A.N. Jha and S. Mendiratta, returned to Delhi after a five-day visit. They toured several districts in the state and interacted with the leaders of political parties, senior government officials and NGOs. The team members also spoke to the people in relief camps to ascertain the condition they were living in, losses suffered by them, compensation and other issues. The team was sent to Gujarat on July 30 to review the existing situation and preparedness of the state machinery for conducting polls.

FRONT PAGE / NATIONAL / EDITORIAL / BUSINESS / THE EAST / SPORTS

ABOUT US /FEEDBACK / ARCHIVE

Maintained by Web Development Company

Wohi Hota Hai Jo Munzoore Khuda Hota Hai …

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nah.gif

[This message has been edited by Gymnasophyst (edited August 05, 2002).]

haan beh Azad Munnay aka Fatimah,

who are these "Hindians" that you are so jealous of? are they cousins of "Porkistanis"?

Originally posted by queer:
haan beh Azad Munnay aka Fatimah,

excuse me?

Hmm...I have mixed thoughts on this one. One one hand, this is proof that Pakistanis enjoy a fair amount of free speech - at least more than what non-Pakistanis think.

I mean, Mush's so-called "cruel" government could have punished the truckers.

On the other hand, with all the traditions of "protecting" a woman by barely letting her have half the freedoms which she deserves, why are these truckers being two-faced by painting a woman's image on their trucks?

Oh right. I forgot. Men may indulge in the beauty of women, but somehow if a woman exposes her beauty by ...oh...say ...exposing her hair or her face - then she does great gunha, and she will surely die in hellfire!

Pity.

same here..i’m amazed that this guy is still around on this board…reason?..only bcoz hez friend with some ex-modz and may be friendz with some current-modz thatz y hez above all policiez and rulez…which in fact are for us only…like they say, rulez r 4 otherz to follow…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

…wht a shame…and they tell us to follow rulez and policiez…my *** their rulez & policiez…if 1 is allowed to say whatever he wantz to say, whatever way he wantz to say then Y every1 else can’t have the same liberty?..

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

I’ll back up Dervaish in this one.
We all know there is this elitist mentality amoung the “Clique”. Kher, what can we do?

** Mu Hu Hahahahahaha!**:hoonh:
"Quote the Mu,“NeverMu!”
Yeh Duniya Doh Rangi Ajab Iski Baatein
Agar Pyar Maango toh Hasrat Millegi
Chaman Zindagi ke Hazaaron Killeinge
Magar Eik Dil ki Kali Nah Kiley Gi

Darvaish are you talking about Queer now? You're pretty smart, you should know better. We're not on-line 24/7, I'm just going through this thread, and would have edited his post even without these messeges. Lekin thoRi si fairness se kuch nahiN jaata.

Y2mu, aap ke kon se experiences haiN hamare saath?

Gymnasophyst

The proper word is Indian, as you know. Yeh Porkistan aap ke khate meiN dalooN kya? Had hoti haiN behoodgi ki!

And Queer, you can do better.

Saba

Originally posted by sabah:
**Gymnasophyst

The proper word is Indian, as you know. Yeh Porkistan aap ke khate meiN dalooN kya? Had hoti haiN behoodgi ki!

And Queer, you can do better.

Saba**

Porkistan is never a word .But HINDIAN is referred to INDIANS who speak HINDI .

As you know India not only has many linguistic groups(madrasi gujrati bengali hindian)but ethnically North indian dravidian south indians ,or by religion muslim hindu sikh esai sikh jain,parsi arya samaj anand margi ,jews,etc.

Im sorry if you think im insulting ,im just trying to define specifically group of people in India .Indian would be all inclusive & not fair to Tamil Telugu Mallyallum & Kannada people who dont fall in that group .

I know enough to discriminate the good indians from the bad indians

P.G.

Your point is well taken.But think of it this way .Generally it is the nonnmuslim womens face hair or skin are displayed which is indirectly respecting our own women .

Moreover the sin is compunded if it were a muslim womens face.Moreover it isnt really a honrable choice to be a poster girl of truck behind .I think it fits into the thinking of muslims “nazariya” if you 'think about it a bit’After it is not like naked picture of play girls in play boymagazine …

Porkistan is never a word .But HINDIAN is referred to INDIANS who speak HINDI .<<

As you know India not only has many linguistic groups(madrasi gujrati bengali hindian)<<

Gymnosophyst aka Azad Munnay,

These two statements by you perfectly illustrate the reason why i called you "Che #1". Not only do you not know jackshyt on what you blabber, you make such a pompous show out of the whole display of the abyssmal depths of your ignorance.

Firstly, there is no term called "hindian" to refer to hindi speakers (just as "porkistani" isnt the term for non pork-eating pakistanis).

If you really thought "Hindians" meant "hindi speakers", why did you use it to refer to gujaratis who speak gujarati (and not Hindi), you dodo?

Also, there is no language called "madrasi" (just as there is no language called "porkistani").

Sabah… mera moon hain bandh…
jo kehna tha kehdiya

** Mu Hu Hahahahahaha!**:hoonh:
"Quote the Mu,“NeverMu!”
Yeh Duniya Doh Rangi Ajab Iski Baatein
Agar Pyar Maango toh Hasrat Millegi
Chaman Zindagi ke Hazaaron Killeinge
Magar Eik Dil ki Kali Nah Kiley Gi

err Gymmy,

just one Q. are you spastic?

Originally posted by Gymnasophyst:

Besides even thses illiterate hard working people know its fun & doesnt mean anything for some of there wives are more beutifull than Kareena whose father Randhir Kapoor & mother Babita both are originally made of Pakistani soil of Sindh & Punjab !!!!!!!!!!!!

hmm, I heard Randhir kapoor was son of Raj kapoor and he and his family including rishi kapoor are from peshwar. Atleast physically they look like peshawaris.

[This message has been edited by Sultan Toora (edited August 07, 2002).]