Pak-trained Terrorist Elephants?!

GUWAHATI, India (Reuters) - Herds of elephants are wreaking havoc at Indian Air Force bases in the northeastern state of Assam, lumbering across busy runways and putting hi-tech equipment in jeopardy.

“Wild elephants have created serious problems for us, affecting our regular operations as the animals break into our air force stations…, endangering human life and equipment,” Air Marshal K.N. Nair said on Saturday.

Forest officials said the incursions resulted from a growing elephant population and the depletion of their natural habitat.

“The elephant population has grown by 40 percent in the past 20 years and rapid deforestation has forced them to come out of the jungles,” senior forest official Ritish Bhattacharjee told Reuters in Guwahati, the state’s main city.

A 20-year-old state government ban on the capture and private ownership of elephants has swelled their population to more than 5,000. Domesticated elephants are a status symbol in Assam because people believe they bring good luck.

In recent years conflict between humans and elephants has escalated as herds of wild pachyderms increasingly invade populated areas and rice fields.

“They come out of the jungles at night around October every year looking for easy food, and once they find nutritious food during the harvesting time they stay back,” said Dinesh Chaudhary, an eminent elephant expert.

“What I would suggest is to put up electric fencing along the forest boundary to keep them off,” Chaudhary said.

But the Indian Air Force plans to tackle the elephant menace by razing the forest near its Tezpur airbases close to the Chinese border.

“Defence estate authorities have been negotiating the problem with Assam forest officials to clear the forest on the boundary of the Tezpur air force station,” Nair said.

Is there any problem that the Indian Air Force can cope with? Rumour has it that an Indian pilot mistook a kid's model airplane for an enemy craft and ejected from his plane before the kid locked on with his radar.

When asked at what altitude his model plane had been flying, the kid said he didn't know what that meant, but he did know that his model used 4 AA duracells.

Originally posted by Mr Xtreme:
*Is there any problem that the Indian Air Force *can cope with? Rumour has it that an Indian pilot mistook a kid's model airplane for an enemy craft and ejected from his plane before the kid locked on with his radar.

When asked at what altitude his model plane had been flying, the kid said he didn't know what that meant, but he did know that his model used 4 AA duracells. **

yaar i am willing to believe lots of stuff about IAF BUT yeh to kisi nay lambi hi chori hay.........AND in my long career of model flying....I have never seen an AA flying model.......AAs are just too week to support their on weight....... :

Very funny Ramis.
But Xtreme, a model plane mistaken as a real plane, highly unbelievable, even for the IAF.

CROIRE A L'INCROYABLE

CM Make that Indian AeroSpace Force ;)

Hey Ramis, they first have to get off the ground!!!
Space is way to far away!! :D

CROIRE A L'INCROYABLE

ISI-trained elephants!

I deny any knowledge of training these elephants

Yeah right Malik. I know you had a hand in that, just like in Assaam, Kargil, Khalistan, as well as in the abduction of that Indian movie star! ;)

Here´s some more good stuff..

The Indian Aerospace Force is living in a period of tragic-comedy

The Indian Aerospace Force ( formly known as IAF ) has a history of many a slip between the cup and the lip. Recently, in Nagpur, the chief of air staff, Air Chief Marshal A Y Tipnis, announced that the decision to acquire an advanced jet trainer would be taken before the end of the year, but that it would take up to 30 months for the AJT, whichever it is, to be delivered.

For those of us who have been following the AJT saga, these could be another set of famous last words. The IAF is living in a period of tragic-comedy as confirmed by the story of the Sukhoi 30 fighter.

When the advanced multi-role Su-30 was called into the then IAF in 1996, the country was oblivious to what had transpired in the previous three years. There was no air staff requirement (ASR) for such a class of fighter, as the chief of air staff had dismissed the Sukhoi as "irrelevant to the Aerospace Force".

Air Chief Marshal S K Kaul had also criticised Russia for failing to provide critical product support. But six months later, he reversed his opinion and the government, without even signing a contract, paid an advance of Rs 5 billion to Russia's Irkutsk Aircraft Production Organisation for developing an aircraft that did not exist.

After the initial order for 40 Su-30MKIs, followed by another 10, India recently signed a letter of intent to produce, under licence, another 140 aircraft of the same make. The intention is fraught with risks and uncertainties much more serious than the ones that went with the decision to acquire the Sukhoi 30 MKI in the first place.

The first eight Su-30s arrived in 1997, but were non-operational in the absence of any matching weapons. Further, the Russians had dumped used support equipment as new. Only two years later did the Su-30 acquire its primary profile as SU-30K.

The first prototype of the intermediate version -- SU 30MK -- with state-of-the-art aerodynamics was test-flown in Bangalore, but later, on June 12 this year, crashed at the Le Bourget Paris Air Show.

The delivery schedule of the final version, Su 30MKI, is very complicated, given the rush of conversions and fitting avionics from French, Israeli and Russian companies. The best-case scenario of the 50 Sukhois becoming operational is 2006, though the government says 2003.

Further, refuellers have to remain well within Indian space, thereby limiting the range of the Su-30. In any case, by the time these strategic bombers get operational, Agni III, the primary strategic deterrent, should be in place, making the Su-30, at best, a backup force.

Some senior Airospace Force officers are wondering whether the decision to produce 140 more Su-30MKI under licence is a wise option. While the detailed project report on establishing a production facility must be awaited, preliminary estimates on costs are likely to make the Indian Aerospace Force have second thoughts. It is proposed to replace the MiG-21 plant at Nasik, which is technology of the 1940s, with a modern facility. Experts at Hindustan Aeronautics Limited, Bangalore, have estimated this cost at around $1 billion and around four years to set up.

The second problem relates to the Indian Aerospace Forces's flight philosophy. To this day, it has been woven around single-seater planes. By introducing the twin-cockpit concept, the Indian Airospace Force is arguably revolutionising the flying philosophy for its pilots, who, for want of an AJT, have been on an erratic learning curve.

The biggest snag in building air power to bolster India's security has been inept and erratic decision-making. Thanks to the whims and fancies of air chiefs, there has also been no continuity in sustaining its long-term re-equipment plan. The government has played no mean role in this. Time and cost overruns have afflicted every project, be it the LCA, AJT, Su-30MK and even the MiG-21 BiS upgrade.

To a lesser extent, unfortunately, this is the story of the other two services too. Till an integrated higher defence management system is put in place, the Indian Aerospace Force will not take off, with or without the Su-30 MKI.

Ad-hocism has become integral to defence planning and equipment acquisition.

Major General Ashok K Mehta

Yep I get around buddy ;)

I'm working on training some sacred cows at the moment - the Indians would never dare take them on ;)

The story is getting even more interesting. Turns out that Major General Ashoka was having an affair with an officer´s wife..read this comment by on of the Indian dudes:

Mr. Ashok Mehta (he was stripped of his rank whe he was thrown out of the army for having an affair with his staff officer's wife) is widely and correctly perceived by virtually everybody who knows anything about the armed forces to be a complete bozo and a first class idiot.

Wow man, now we know what Indian generals are doing while their soldiers are on the battle field :D

Where are you getting all these wonderful stories from Ramis?

Malik I am working on a PAK-BB in Danish, so Sabah gave me a few links that I should check. One of them turns out to be the Indian Army Fan Club. ( Yeah I know what you are thinking: Is Sabah a RAW-agent?!? :smiley: :smiley:

Anyways the site is called bharat-rakshak, and the url is http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/cgi-bin/Ultimate.cgi?action=intro

Funny stuff :slight_smile:

dunno about elephants but pakis terrorized the cricket team enough that they opted to cancel the tour.... Saqlain's swing should be monitored by the RAW!!

Yeh RAW kya hota hai????

Huh and I thought you were kidding. Hmmm… so someone really wrote this and some newspaper really printed it Woho. :D

Anyway, Ramis me dunn know you, ilzaam na lagao, ban ho jao ge :p

I wonder 'obsession' kis ko kehte haiN. :)

[This message has been edited by sabah (edited November 21, 2000).]

Mariah sweety RAW is “the Research and Analysis Wing” i.e. like the ISI or CIA - or they think anyway

Oye you Moderators What is this thing with you and banning us innocent people, eh?!?

This is the third threat I´m getting in two days!

kahooN kis se maiN ke kya hai, shab-e-GHam buree bala hai
mujhe kya bura tha marna ? agar **eik
* baar hota* ;)

Sabah a RAW agent huh - I better watch out for you sis? Which division are you in? I’m in the elephant corps but being promoted to the sacred cows division!

[This message has been edited by Malik73 (edited November 21, 2000).]

Achaaaa, thanks malik sveeeety :)