Pak to build a memorial for Bhagat Singh

ISLAMABAD: A memorial for freedom fighter Bhagat Singh will be built in Pakistan’s Punjab province, the government said. Punjab Governor Khalid Maqbool made the announcement at a seminar in Lahore held to celebrate Singh’s 100th birth anniversary on Saturday.

“Singh was the first martyr of the sub-continent and his example was followed by many youths of the time,” the governor was quoted as saying by the Daily Times. Bhagat Singh was born at Faisalabad’s Banga village in 1907 and was hanged at Lahore Jail in 1931 at the age of 24.

The governor also said that Pakistan had paid attention to the protection of gurdwaras, adding that a road from Wagah border to Nankana Sahib would be completed before the Nankana Festival. He pointed that the government had renovated the Katas Temple.

Source: **DNA
**Pak to build a memorial for Bhagat Singh

Re: Pak to build a memorial for Bhagat Singh

^^ It is not necessary , I don’t see it as a friendship gesture , simply not needed .

^^ Build a school or library on his name , if you wana show friendship , just making a stupid monument is not good for any one !

^ I agree, a library or large school should be built to remember Bhagat Singh. A library specialising in Pre-partition history and the struggle to partition should be accommodated.

Its a solid gesture celebrating a great Punjabi.

^Yes!
And a patriot, freedom fighter and an icon of the independence struggles of the subcontinent.
No need to compare it with any friendship gesture. He’s as equally and rather more our freedom fighter too. This monument and celebrating the life of Bhagat Singh is a long awaited step. Deyr aayad durust aayad. :k:

And Daniyal, such a library would be a good idea too.

I hope you are a punjabi musalman! He fought for India not for Pakistan! I'd have agreed if he was a muslim.

I fully agree, great step. More than being viewed as a friendship gesture towards India, it should be viewed as a step by the government to show respect towards their minorities.

This should not be the case.
Why we praise people like ashafullah khan , maulana abul kamal etc .just to show respect towards minorties. Not at all.. we respect them from our heart and not to show off.

nice.

Prople?

galti se mistake ho gaya!!!:D

Galti say mistake??

Aap kay urdu or english kay teachers ka naam aur pataa bataa'yee'yay. Un say kuch baat karnee hai mujhay.

That is so cool. :k:

I have always said that I don’t see Pakistani independence as seperation from India but rather as freedom from the British.

I want to see Pakistan with India not Pakistan vs. India.

I know that sometimes the Islam/Pak-haters from the Indian side piss me off and I end up saying nasty things, but from the bottom of my heart I’ve never felt the need to hate India to be patriotic towards Pak, some people play the anti-Pak/anti-India card to arouse nationalist sentiments but I’ve never felt that need.

Though a library or school named after him would probably be better than a monument.

I suppose that’s true. :k:

It depends on how much beer and cocaine is in my system.

LOL.

[mod]Warnings have been issued to some who constantly post insults, derail and flame threads. All, please be careful and kindly interact more respectfully, harmoniously and add greater value to the discussions. Thanks. [/mod]

for the first time, i am agreeing with moin pai :D

a complete waste of time & resources. Read the history. This guy bhagat singh fought against British raj - to get independence for hindustan while Pakistan movement was all about getting independence both from British raj as well as hindu hegemony.

If the criteria to build monuments & appreciate someone's "freedom fighting services" is that he fought against british raj then we might as well build one for gandhi too.

Just another pathetic attempt to placate India.