Pak players seek coaching inspiration from Hanif, Javed

Original Story

KARACHI: Two of Pakistan’s greatest batsmen Hanif Muhammad and Javed Miandad have been engaged by the PCB to offer some tips to the batsmen proceeding to Zimbabwe for the Tests and One-day series.

The Chairman, Lt General Tauqir Zia specially requested the two batting great’s to spare some time and work with the batsmen going to Zimbabwe.

“The idea basically is that we should use our experience and skills to point out any basic flaws in their batting techniques and also offer them some tips on how to play against good teams in particular conditions,” Javed said on Monday.

While the 45-year-old Javed will work with the Zimbabwe bound batsmen based in Lahore, the Little Master Hanif Muhammad will work with those based in Karachi like Shahid Afridi, Hasan Raza and Faisal Iqbal.

Though both the former Pakistan captains are not being paid for their short coaching stints yet Javed said he was more then happy to contribute in any way to turn around the performances of the team.

Javed said he had worked before with seniors like Inzamam-ul-Haq, Yousuf Youhana and Younis Khan as coach and would have no problems guiding them again. Hanif said it was a source of pride for him to work with young batsmen and help them become better players.

“Although the time is very short before the team leaves for Zimbabwe but I never mind passing on my experience to youngsters,” said Hanif. The PCB had also sought the services of Hanif for the Regional Cricket Academy in Karachi.

Its good thing… Its a pity that Javed Miandad couldnt hold on to his coaching spot coz no doubt he can be the best coach around! plus Hanif Mohammad giving tips to youngsters…

Pakistan’s all time top two batsmen can instill some wisdom in our new batsmen, lets hope :k:

Big fan of Javed that I am, I'm not sure he's a guy that should be giving coaching instructions. His style was very unorthodox and not everybody could play that way.

What these players need is someone to tell them the basics about playing straight and importance of footwork and shot selection.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Big fan of Javed that I am, I'm not sure he's a guy that should be giving coaching instructions. His style was very unorthodox and not everybody could play that way.

What these players need is someone to tell them the basics about playing straight and importance of footwork and shot selection.

Javed's shot selection was always spot-on! And he had the best footwork in his ea of cricket! His style was unorthodox no doubt but he is not gonna change style of new players!! He is gonna guide them about footwork and good shot selction so he is the best man to do it !

ghum phir ke baat wohin par aati hai......

Yahoo! :hula:

the only reason they didn't keep javed as coach is becuase the players didn't want him.
otherwise he's a gr8 coach. he knew what he was doing. he also produced the results. but the players always revolted against him.
a lot of politics there. a reason why pakistani cricket is in the doldrums right now.

Good thinking!

Cricketers Javed Miandad & Hanif Muhammad Come to the Rescue

LAHORE,Oct 29 (PNS)- In a display of true patriotism, Pakistan’s two former batting greats, Hanif Muhammad and Javed Miandad, have offered their voluntary services to correct the batting flaws of the Zimbabwe bound team and the first session was held at Lahore and Karachi Monday.

At Gadaffi stadium Lahore,Minadad,worked two and half hour with a bunch of batsmen and at Karachi Hanif performed a similar assignment.

**Miandad first delivered a lecture to Yousaf Youhana, Toufeeq Umar, Kamran Akmal,Saleem Elahi and Waqar Younis ,pinpointing their batting weaknesses and then spent two hours at the nets for correction. **

Miandad individually observed the players at the nets and gave useful suggestions for making amends. Both the batting wizards have taken up three-day assignments on the request of Chairman, Pakistan Cricket Board, Lt General, Tauqir Zia who is very concerned about the recent poor performance of the team after its failure in a number of tournaments.

“The recent performance of the Pakistan team is an alarming sign and needs quick attention for correction and I have said yes to the PCB call just to contribute in a national cause”, Miandad told APP after the nets. He said it was a grave concern for everyone the way Pakistan team has recently performed and collective efforts are needed to revive the batting.

**"I will be doing the same job for another two days and I and quite confident that my useful guidance will help improve the batsmen ",**he said.

Miandad said he noticed that most of the batsmen lacked technically and he concentrated on these aspects and will be endeavouring to emphasis more and more on improving batting.

Hanif Khan imparted training at National stadium to the Karachi based team members of the Pakistan team.

this will never work
mark my wordz .... :p
pakistan will struggle as alwayz...

Rab Rakha

DerVaisH

They are playing for the national team, aur ye haal hai! :nook:

Why can’t our domestic cricket setup be vigorous and competitive enough to produce technically sound batsmen?

Faisal bhai the thing is ke most of our batsman our very strong off the front foot coz of dead pitches, Its the backfoot that trouble them and thats the reason they struggled against McGrath coz he is a tall man and extracts that extra bit of bounce often!

Well, I'd love to accept this argument, but it is so disappointing to see our national players performing like lame club amateurs when faced with good international bowlers. In Pakistan, we remain proud for producing some of the finest fast bowlers in the world, aur apnay hi batsmen ka ye haal hai.

A place in the national team should be the ultimate prize for a gifted player. The years preceding this are spent (1) playing at home, (2) playing with mohallay walay boys on the street (3) playing with a decent club and improving your technique (4) playing with a first-class team facing the best of what Pakistan has to offer. At this point, if you are a batsman, technically you should be very very competent in facing all kinds of bowlers. And if you are really good, then you make the cut for national team.

How come we select players in the national team, who don't have the right technique? I can understand a club cricketer diagnosed with this problem... but national team? Nah! It smells corruption. Sifarishi players often lack the most basic skills.

I can understand if our batsmen need temperament or lack the nerves to withstand the enormous pressure of international cricket. This is something which you typically develop with time and experience... but technique?? That should be the first thing which should promote them from a club-level cricketer to a first-class cricketer. And much more so for making it to the national team.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
.... Sifarishi players often lack the most basic skills...

Does anyone remember Mansoor Akhtar :)

Apparently he was good at giving maalish to Imran's legs, hence selected for the Pakistani Cricket team. But what skills do some of the current Pakistani cricketers posses?

*Originally posted by 2bornot2b: *

Does anyone remember Mansoor Akhtar :)

Apparently he was good at giving maalish to Imran's legs, hence selected for the Pakistani Cricket team. But what skills do some of the current Pakistani cricketers posses?

Hmmmmmmm!!!! Mansoor Akhtar, was supposed to be the next Zaheer Abbas, a real clown, if ever I saw one.

Who is Mansoor Akhtar ?

ohh he was the GREATEST Loser Batsman pakistan could ever produce :k:…

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Who is Mansoor Akhtar ?

Apparently a masseur that was mistaken for a cricker :)

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Who is Mansoor Akhtar ?

Ask Imi Khan :)