Pak Military wins... the dancing girls are back!

Re: Pak Military wins... the dancing girls are back!

Return of drug trafficking, child abuse, honor killings and absurd decisions by local jirgas would be sure signs of success!

Re: Pak Military wins… the dancing girls are back!

‘return’? what kind of idyllic paradise do you imagine the taliban created? they are widely alleged to have been involved in drug trafficking and kidnapping for their money, there is no reason to believe that child abuse vanished when they were around, we need not go into the treatment of women by those aholes, and they routinely employed jirgas too.

^ Apologies. Replace 'Return' with 'continuation'.

:hmmm:

It happens everywhere… swat isn’t an exception, evil will always be alongside good in this world… you just choose your side and stick to your guns folks.

Some people are just unbelievable…It makes my blood boil! :mad: I can’t believe some people actually side with Talieffinbans.

The girls would have continued their trade in other cities. Ateast now we dont have lacs of refugees, kids are going to school, markets are open and local economy is recovering.

The author of the article is pervert to have compared success of swat operation with return of dancing girls.

Exactly, this is what I wanted to emphasize in my post earlier.

Bad journalism. Why report 16 year old dancing as "success"?

^ you guys keep repeating that anyone has. where is it reported as a "success"?

I am not sure if you even read the article. That's OK though. ;)

"The mere fact that they are back in their meticulously clean quarters on the first floor of a house tucked away in a back street, attests to the success of Pakistan's military campaign."

Well done on the Pakistani military!

yar. You said: Why report 16 year old dancing as "success"? *, whereas this snippet is saying that their presence indicates that the *military objectives i.e. the removal of the Taleban have been successful, because its safe for them to return.. whereas before in Taleban's time girls such as these were found riddled with bullets.

You're shifting the context of the word success. The article has several sentences that point to the exploitation of the girls, from explicitly mentioning the age (16), to the dead skin on her feet, the expression on her eyes, the description of the clients (fat/overweight/with BO) etc. In no way is the act of dancing itself declared a success.

I am not sure if this is true considering that 'Good Security' means good law and order situation. I know that I am overshooting my mouth by comparing dancing girls with real prostitution (sex for money) but the neighborhoods of USA where prostitute are roaming around freely are often the most crime ridden areas.

Two wrongs cannot make a right. Extremism is bad, but dancing girls is not a sign of society heading towards positive direction, either.

so why are they called dancing girls, and not prostitutes?

are they even prostitutes?

my comment was solely related to security situation - considering the situation before swat operation and today.

and certainly dancing girls (can't compare to prostitution) are not a positive direction, but their is something called culture if we would like to deny sure be it.. but it's their.. mujra .. become a vulgar term but in historical terms it's totally not what is portray today !

In urdu, there is pretty much the same word for both

yeah and publicly flogging a decent woman for the crime of refusing to marry a jaahil beardo by accusing her of infidelity, cutting people's heads off, digging up graves and hanging the dead remains within, kidnapping people for ransom, forcing people to give up their kids and using those poor kids as suicide bombers were your Islam and your shariat's success.

lakh laanat aye... I would rather be a decent kaafir than a momin like Muslim Khan or Fazlullah...

btw, to all the ghairatmand virtual mujahideen of Gupshup, just an interesting tidbit for you blessed lot regarding the ameer-ul-momineen aka Fazlullah the rat... he and his susar Mullah Sufi are/were bitter enemies... you know why? because little old Fazlu ran off with Mullah Sufi's daughter after they watched one Bollywood filam too many... and that is why Mullah Sufi and Fazlullah didn't get along. sounds like a real upstanding momin to me. where do I sign my allegiance to this great, ghairatmand Muslim jarnail?

can't wait to do jihad alongside him. jihad bi ho raha hay... larki bhee set hay. zindagi ho to aisi. Mashallah...

perfecto.. :k:..

:konfused:

I suggest you read the article again. It is easier to accept you missed the point of the article altogether. Like I said, that's OK though. :)

Nobody is comparing the current situation with that of taliban control.

Why is it that if anyone shows a little bit of concern about anything other than the taliban, you guys assume that he/she is supporting them? It is same as saying that the number of 'unnatural deaths' per month in Afghanistan under taliban control was much less than the time during US attacks there and hence taliban regime was better. It is the same as saying that since instances of bomb blasts during Zia-ul-Haq's regime were much less than now, it was a better time.

The general lack of comprehension and understanding shown by people here is amazing. It could either be that or people are afraid of being labelled as taliban sympathizers. Cowards basically.

Pakistan military is doing a great job in Swat, rebuilding the area. It is not necessarily good for the country with so many jawans stuck in the region building schools etc. It is NOT THEIR JOB. It is just that they are a disciplined force and civilian administration and government is lazy and corrupt not to do much. While the jawans toil and carry shovels around the town, the officers higher up are making money receiving kickbacks off the procurement of materials. I cannot divorce the two effects and decide whether keeping military in Swat for rebuilding is GOOD or BAD.

You have to admire the good things, criticize the bad, and as TLK mentioned before, two wrongs don't make a right.

P.S. dancing girls refer to prostitutes and if you can understand, they do not dance merrily.