Pak journalists beaten by Lahore DSP

In Pakistan, TV journalists were brutally beaten by DSP of Lahore and his companions on Saturday night.

Senior reporter Wadood Mushtaq, working for the largest news network ARY One World and ATV’s cameraman, Zahid Malik and reporter Nazir Awan were brutally beaten up by District Superintendent Police Mukhtar Shah and other police officials.

This happened when they were covering a rally of the religious party, the Sunni Tehrik. They were illegally detained for an hour and were only released when other journalists came to their rescue.

The journalists have been taken to a local hospital where they are being treated for serious injuries. One of them may lose his eyesight.

Attack condemned

This comes in a series of attacks on journalists by the state and intelligence agencies and has been condemned by Pakistani journalist community as another direct attack on the press.

ARY One World has filed an ‘attempt to murder’ FIR against the DSP and other police officials.

The channel has threatened to close down operations in Punjab if the DSP and his police officials are not arrested within 24 hours.

The channel has condemned this act demanding journalists to join in their campaign on state atrocities against journalists.

http://www.ndtv.com/morenews/showmorestory.asp?slug=Pak+journalists+beaten+up&id=93339

Any idea wht this thing happened?

Re: Pak journalists beaten by Lahore DSP

Police in pakistan, especially punjab police are known for their brutality. Most of the time their victims are those who cannot speak up against them. I hope ARY does shut down its Punjab operations. In fact I think all news organizations should withdraw from Punjab until they decide to start behaving themselves and stop killing fellow pakistanis through army and police.

^^ police brutality is not just in punjab, buddy, its all over pakistan. i usually agree with you, but stop generalizing so much

hahaha DSP ki itni aukaat, DGP Yaa IG rank kaa officer hota to jaan hi le leta kya :D

Too bad it wasn't a GEO reporter, read MQM's sector incharge...

I have noticed that ALL Geo & ARY are worried about MQM and its leader Loud mouth Altaf H .I rearly see any news from lahore or anyplace else unless there is a bad news.Its all about Karachi . I live in US and pay lot of money for this MQM laden ARY&GEO

Then watch your Punjabi TV channel.

^Which one?

^^ APNA Tv www.apna.tv :smiley:

Wa ji wa, Apna "Punjabi" channel HQ in Karachi and broadcasting from Thiland, Very punajbi. Anyway I was looking for some Pakistani punjabi satellite channel, which is showing police brutality, please let me know when you find one. Thanks

Sack the bloody DSP

These journos are willing to interview Benazir, they are willing to interview Bugti, they’re willing to interview Qazi and Fazal, they’re willing to interview Achakzai, they’re willing to interview Iltaf every other day, they’re willing to interview people about their homosexual tendencies (as AAG did a couple days ago), but they’d never interview Nawaz Sharif. :nono: For all these mafiosi Lahore is the problem so any anti-establishment leader from ‘certain areas’ is a threat to their agenda. Lahore or any other Pakistani place is ‘consumer area’. We should only buy the products (intellectual or material) coming out of Karachi, and pay the revenue to these mafiosi to set up bigger media empires to support Musharraf and conduct his buddy’s interviews berating PA.

you would say that

theinsider, what else do you want me to say? You think all channels are biaed against Punjab, so watch your Punjabi channel.

Amorphous, so you're no longer in the army camp are you? Good, now that we have gotten over this hurdle, lets work on provincial autonomy.

I strongly support army as a national institution. I strongly oppose army's political role, although, in my view, most politicians are good-for-nothing people.

I can't work for provincial autonomy as a worker of some political party, but as an ordinary citizen, I fully support the idea. Let's see if Mr dicator delivers on his promise before the next elections. Saleem Saifullah Khan was talking about this government's plans to so something in this regard. The problem is that every measure taken by this government will somehow lack legitimacy that the actions of a civilian govt has. So I would like Iltaf bhai and the company to stop supporting Musharraf now, contest a new election under a civilian set-up, and work in this direction under some civilian chief-executive. I don't want some new guppy to come here after two years, and tell me that whatever was done was done at the behest of army to please Punjab.

Who told you that I am Punjabi?
watching Geo & Ary for over 2 years now I have noticed that about 80% of their National news are based on Karachi .My point being is that Karachi is not the only city in Pak and there are other cities that can use better coverage.
F Y I
I pay $30 every month for Geo &Ary and I know what it cost to get them in Pakistan

Karachi is the financial and business capital of Pakistan but I don't see its coverage being 80% as you say it is. I see a lot of reports from various parts of Punjab and elsewhere. And even if coverage is skewed towards Sindh and Karachi, that's a function of free market forces.

Geo owned by Jung Group based from Karachi
Ary owned by Haji Brothers thus based from karachi

watch Prime TV to have break from fake glamour Geo and ARY.

but the topic was a Police officer beating up the press people. why that policeman become as punjabi when police is same in Pakistan. anything that can give you excuse to bash Punjab.
ok Guys we are BAD! stop bashing I now accept that every ill of Pakistan is because of Punjab. will this make you happy and satisfied. so get over it and do something else.