Pak, Indo, Aus Tri Series?

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Well, in that case they should have organised the tri Series in Pakistan during the India-Pak series. No point in having an India-Pak-Aus Series at venues like Scotland, Holland or Toronto.

I think it is great to have these tournaments, especially if top class teams like these are playing. Yes that means more cricket in the schedule which is already so bz, but wat the heck they get paid for it! And in any case there can be nothing more mouth-watering then watching Pak-India battle it out 2 or 3 times in a tournament!

CP - A masala series is basically nothing but to force your players to play in useless matches at TIMBUKTU to fill your coffers.

The indian players are being forced to play this series? How do you know that? Consider the following:

If Australia are interested in compensating Pakistan, then they should come to pakistan and play a tri series with India & Pakistan.

You seem ok with the same series being played in Pakistan. So obviously, your problem is not with the series but with the location. This confuses me even more on your definition of masala series as you combined both the location and the player mental condition in your definition of masala series. The above statement, however, contradicts that.

May be your board is starved of money and your countrymen are starved for cricket, not us.

Why exactly have they agreed to play then? Greed, I suppose?

(for example in Australia if a team reaches finals and played all the games in the finals of the the VB series, they would end up with at least 9 games meaning at least 20 days more added to their already tight cricketing Calendar).

the fact will remain that it will be another MONTH in the very busy & hectic schedule.

You are fine with hectic schedule as you never objected to extra two series to be played by India. Surely, the 10 year schedule must be a very balanced one as ten nations had to agree to it, keeping in mind not to overburden their players. Now if India plays one more series beyond the 10 yr schedule or 3, what difference does it make? Once a principle is bent, its a principle no more. This is especially true when you consider that you don't have a problem if India has to squeeze in a tour to play Aus in a tri-nation series, but find it objectionable if India has to play Pak. in timbuktu. Clearly, this is not a principled stand because a "significant" tour adds just as much pressure on a busy team as an"insignificant" one.

As far as India Playing at TIMBUKTU is concerned, we haven't played since 2001 and there is no reason we should start it again.

We've already discussed this. IMO, the whole u-turn makes the Indian govt. look like a hypocrit for not allowing cricket for so long and then changing its mind for nothing. Again, this vindicates the Pak. govt. stand and shows the earlier stand taken by the indian govt. was not based on princples, but just a publicity stunt.

The reason for that is ICC's 10 Year Schedule is much more structured now, We have an ICC tournament every two years (Knock out trophy & World Cup). We are playing TEST & ODI series with every country at a regular interval and that eliminates the need to play at useless venues like Scotland.

refer above^^

And an India-Pakistan series will generate interest if we play 365 days a year, does it mean we should play everyday ??

No. Excess of anything is bad but then if the hectic schedule is no problem, as we've just established above, why pass the chance? Its good for the cricket, good for the cricket followers.

My Problem is both with the series as well as the Location. If Australia Plays a tri series in Pakistan and India reaches in the Finals we would be playing 7 matches which will be in lieu of the 5 ODIs we will be playing against Pakistan and that means we will play only 2 more ODIs (if we reach finals, 1 more if we dont) and this can be accomodated in the same series.However in case of a series in Timbuktu, we would end up playing at least 6 more matches if we dont reach the finals if we reach the finals we may play upto 9 matches and this will add another one month tour to already tight schedule of India.

And Yes, It is the greed which is driving Mr. Dalmiya and that’s what I am against any series in Timbuktu. I dont think BCCI need any more money, neither are we starved for cricket.

India is not playing any extra series now. They have all been planned in the past. Read above for the reason for including Australia in the Tri-series in Pak. It does make a difference, Look at the injury level of Players in modern Cricket, despite all the facilities.

Dont Bring Indian Govt on this and before calling them names look at your own government of LIARS & Hardcore Hypocrites who want to play cricket but dont want to allow Indian artists, or Indian Movies.

It may be good for you because you are starved for Cricket and your board is desperate for money. We are neither Starved for cricket, nor is our Cricket Board ‘KANGAL’ like yours. Jagmohan Dalmiya needs to understand that sooner or Later. I hope he tries to arrange a tournament in Sharjah which will wake the Indian govt up and give a BIG Danda to him. :hehe:

Anything which can net Pakistan money is 'good for the subcontinent and principled.:hehe:

Good point about Dalmiya. Sometimes he doesn’t do it for money but for getting brownie points from Mushy and Khaleda by organising B’desh tournaments for tired Indian players. And if he ever even says ‘Sharjah’ I’ll give the danda meself.

And you’re absolutely right that a tri-series involving Pak/Aus/Ind should be played in Pak or Ind not Scotland. All these dudes here who are dissing you don’t have the courage to say it like it is -that Aus is sheet scared to come to Pak. If we can go there so can Aus. It’s high time all you Pak fans went after an Aussie instead of Asif.

Asif and Karina, why are you so worried about the fatigue factor when it comes to Indian cricket team. Array bhai log, team nay Haarna tau aisay bhi hay. Tired or frest doesn't matter naa. Your superstars are playing to impress conglomerates anyway to get more commercial deals. Remember in the beginning of the 2003 WC when India was losing and superstars werent performing well?. Companies started taking commercials off the air and billboards off the street?. Array mian, sub paisay kaa khail hay. Kiun itnay jazbaati hautay hau.

Then tell for which damn reason they r going to play against Eng in the Natwest-Challenge ???

Just blaming this one series (wheather it’ll take place is another thing) for a likely burnout of players is wrong … look at the VB series … i mean for what reason do they play 4 times each other … if u proceed to final then u’ll play atleast another 2 times or maybe 3 times … in all 6 or 7 times against the same team again …

Then they (BCCI) agree to play 7 ODIs in Pak … either Mr. Dalmiya is nuts or he must’ve been on something … After a team plays some 4 Tests + 8-11 ODIs in the space of 9-10 weeks … u still think they r fit and Hungry enough to play another 3 tests + 7 ODIs !!!

Asif u better go to the BCCI and request for a change at the top otherwise soon indian players will be stroll out to the middle on a stretcher !!!

Well this is what this Indian side had/have to go through:

From November 2003 til April 2004:
2 Test against NZ + 7 ODIs against AUS & NZ + 4 Tests against AUS + a minimum of 8 ODIs or a maximum of 11 ODIs, 3 Test agains PAK + / ODIs .....

So what do u think ..... i mean even being a Pakistani mujhay yaar in par tars a raha hay ..... aur Sonay pay Suhaga ...... the never ending bashing from the Media all over the World .....

I hope to see some positive from India against this Aussie-Power

OK.

ahh. Why mix a masala series with an ICC aproved series? Indian tour of Pakistan is not a compensation for anything. It is part of the ICC schedule. Thus it has nothing to do with the tri-series. I don’t know how one comes up with such absurd ideas. Plus I don’t think BCCI would’ve agreed to such an arrangment and forgone its potential income. Why do you expect pakistan to do it?

Thats what you think. It has no bearing at all on the policies of the BCCI. Clearly, your own board is way too greedy and doesn’t give two hoots what you think.

I hate to repeat myself, but how exactly do you define a “pre-planned” series? Is 1 year not enough to plan?

No, I dont need to go through the stupidity again. I know about the injury levels of the cricket players all too well. If you really want to curtail inujuries, why not combine the England, Aus. and Pak. series together into one event and get over with it? :rolleyes:

I didn’t. You questioned your own govt.'s wisdom. I merely gave my opinion. I knew you wouldn’t like it but shouldn’t have raised a dead issue.

Nonsense. Cricket lovers in Pakistan are starved of international cricket in Pakistan. I don’t see how the absence of international cricket from Pakistan can be equated with Pakistan playing in Scotland. If this series fulfills our hunger, then we weren’t starving to begin with.

Who’s this we? Anyway, I wouldn’t exactly call PCB kangal. They earned $7 million just from the S.Africa series. I don’t know how that makes them a kangla.

I don’t think he will. Not anytime soon. So in the meanwhile you can jump up and down and pull your hair while he goes about adding tours to india’s already hectic schedule.

Funguy - Team ne haarna hai ya Jeetna, Kam se Kam chalne-firney layak to chhoR do. Waise you are right, Sub Paise ka Khel hai.

Zero_one - Tri-Series in Australia has been going on for years and pretty much similar format, Test tours to Australia are planned keeping that in mind. I am not blaming one series, I am blaming every useless series that is planned at useless venues.Waise, meri itni posts ka kuch to Fayda hua, at least I convinced one Pakistani about hectic Indian schedule. :). It gives me hope.

You really have not read this thread properly, Have you ?? Otherwise you wouldn’t have missed Saby’s Post where he said that Tri Series (or the Masala Series) is proposed to by ACB to compensate Pakistan for the lost revenue during the last Test Series. And , No matter what you think, yes BCCI has(so far) agreed to help the Kangal Board of Pakistan. :hehe: . It’s an absurd Idea only to an ignorant who jumped into the discussion without reading previous posts. Typical Jumping habits shown here. :rotfl:

Well Our govt does give two hoots about what I think. :hehe: I dare Mr. Dalmiya to arrange a tournament in Sharjah.:rotfl: Dalmiya will understand.

So From December - 2003 to July-August 2004 is 1 year. Which school did you go to ?

Viola - You said it yourself. Cricket lovers in Pakistan are starved of International Cricket in Pakistan, that makes all the more sense to play that series in Pakistan instead of Timbuktu.

We is Indian Cricket FANs, Indian Cricket is nothing without us fans. i hear you bragging about $7m..thats it, Calculate the amount given to Players, regional Boards, Stadiums , Salaries etc and see how much you are left with ? Heck we make that much from a Challenger Series in India.

Zero_one - Tri-Series in Australia has been going on for years and pretty much similar format, Test tours to Australia are planned keeping that in mind. I am not blaming one series, I am blaming every useless series that is planned at useless venues.Waise, meri itni posts ka kuch to Fayda hua, at least I convinced one Pakistani about hectic Indian schedule. :). It gives me hope.

Yaar it's not just by coincident that players r suffering day by day more injuries as they've less time to recover which results in "play with niggeling injuries" so once a player is injured he never really gets the chance to recover fully ......

To that VB series ..... Mr. Ponting was the one to raise his voice of criticism against the 7 ODI series aganist WI but one might ask did he forget the own home sereis he use to play every AUS-Summer where u've to play atleast 8 ODIs or a maximum of 11 ODIs .....

Without questioning the resolve and spirit of any Ind/Pak player i think players like, Ganguly, Shoaib, Laxman, Afridi and others from both team displayed an atitude which was more like "just another day at the office" .....

Now commerce being a big part of all that Intl Cricket ..... A Nat. Player isn't just a player but also a star off th field ...... unfortunatly it turns out to harm them on the field ...... Gone r the days where Players value was measured just on onfield activities ...... unfortunatly it turns out to be a dream world the players r livin in ..... maybe i'm too harsh on them but watching harbhajan in an AD on ESPN and considering his performance during the NZ series and TVS cup i'm speechless ...... or Sehwag (the Indian version of the socalled "Walking Wicket à la Afridi") in an AD with Tendi ......

If u measure off-field fame by performance then only Tendi deserved to in the Spotlight .......

Time to think about this aspect (The players approach towards their duty namely: To fight) for those reponsible rather than appointing bowling coaches and giving them Psycho-Docs for Mental assitance

:stupid:

Oye chingu!
Teams not coming to Pakistan is the thing of the past, look at how much international cricket is going on in Pakistan these days.

7 tests & 15 one days in just 2 months. :eek:

And watch the outcome in mental fashion on the eve of the 4th december

So u mean to say it’s (the Indian Team) is more a money machine than a crickting 11 … This would explain the results sofar of the NZ series, TVS final and warm-up matches … Maybe Dada and Sehwag will start with fireworks (which they should be capable of) once FOSTER agrees to screen a AD including them on CH. 9 :hehe: :hehe: :hehe: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Asif and Karina, why are you so worried about the fatigue factor when it comes to Indian cricket team. Array bhai log, team nay Haarna tau aisay bhi hay. Tired or frest doesn't matter naa. Your superstars are playing to impress conglomerates anyway to get more commercial deals. Remember in the beginning of the 2003 WC when India was losing and superstars werent performing well?. Companies started taking commercials off the air and billboards off the street?. Array mian, sub paisay kaa khail hay. Kiun itnay jazbaati hautay hau.

FG, are you saying that since it is a paise ka khel now we should accept it?

OK, forget about Indian players. Once upon a time cricket was played the way it should. YOU went to a country for a series and stayed there till it was all over. Would England agree to a post-Ashes ODI tournament with Aus in Bangladesh? Now that India has agreed to come to Pak, would you like it if we suddenly changed our minds and said we wanted to play in Tahiti? Where's the buzz?

All I'm against is this masala cricket in venues most fans can't point out in a map. There is a totally different mindset a player walks out with in Lahore or Delhi than Scotland.

^^ what about Sharjah?

^ What about it? :smack:

Karina, Keechar(UMAIR) me paththar nahi maarte hain.

Yeah Bangladesh, NZ ‘C’ came and South Africa came after N assurances. :rotfl:. I am sure teams are lining up to play in Pakistan. :hehe:

Sour grapes?
Atleast we make full use of our limited opportunities and win matches unlike our neighbors. :slight_smile:

*Originally posted by Zero_one: *
So u mean to say it's (the Indian Team) is more a money machine than a crickting 11 ......

Zero_one - You should find out the number of spectators turned out to watch Australia-NZ ODI game. or India-NZ Test Series. I wont even talk about ODIs involving India in INDIA.