Pak/India ODI Series: Champs & Chumps

Who do you think will be the star performers for both teams in the forthcoming epic clash? Which players will turn out to be the duffers who couldn’t produce in the most eagerly awaited series for decades?

I think there will be different heroes and villians for 5 ODI’s and the 3 test matches according to the different strengths needed for both formats so will addressthe ODI’s in this thread and do a different one for the tests later:

ODI Champs for Pakistan:

Yaasir “The Hammer” Hameed
Abdul “Razzler” Razzaq
Moin “The Tiger” Khan
Yousuf “Yoyo” Youhanna
Shoaib “The Mauler” Malik

** ODI Chumps for Pakistan**

Shahid “Suicide Bomber” Afridi
Younis “the Useless” Khan (assuming he plays)
Shoaib “Motormouth” Akhtar
Mohammed Sami “The Bull”

I’ll do India in a seperate post…stay tuned

Xtreme if Shoaib Akhter and Sami turn out to be chumps for Pakistan in ODI, than a 5/0 thrashing is on hand.

ODI Champs :jhanda:

Inzi “Mr Potato” mam
Razz “Zabardast” aq
Yousu “finese”

Not necessarily Ehsan. Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra might turn out to be bigger chumps.

My ODI "Champs"

Yassir
Yoyo
Moin
Razzaq

Chumps

Afridi

One of Sami and Shoaib will definitely fire in my opinion. Not necessarily in every match though but in a couple of them. The batting prediction looks pretty accurate. I hope that Imran Farhat does well too otherwise I can see curtains for him.

It seems like practically all Pak fans are banking on the first four/five batsmen to deliver us to the 40th over in a semi-respectable position and then hope for our brilliant hitters to cash in.

Incidentally it's not that I don't rate Shoaib or Sami. I very much do. I just think the ODI game isn't their strength and think that Sachin will take advantage. I expect to see Shoaib firing on all cylinders in the test arena where the contest will be more even.

You never know, Shoaib might just turn the tables. Hope so anyway.

BTW, xtreme are you watching it on ARY or sky sports?

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Incidentally it's not that I don't rate Shoaib or Sami. I very much do. I just think the ODI game isn't their strength and think that Sachin will take advantage. I expect to see Shoaib firing on all cylinders in the test arena where the contest will be more even.

I think more than Sachin ..Its laxman and Sehwag who would be pain in neck in intial overs. Sachin isnt what he used to be.But then grear players always know how to change their game.

For me Champs for Pakistan would be
Yasir & Yoyo
and for India
Yuvraj & Sehwag.

Don’t count Afridi out folks. He is playing on Pakistani wickets…facing a mediocre bowling attack and he has a lot to prove. He will come back with vengeance. I might even put some money on him:-D
I was watching news on Zee the other day and they were saying bombay mein 500 crore rupees ki satta bazzi ho chuki hai ab tuk :eek:

nice nick names, mr. extreme :k:

I agree with F & B.. I specially fear Laxman, he had a great tour of austrailia, was the most successful batsman, and when he is in full flow he just scores boundaries all over. For pakistan, i see Yasir Hameed as a potential champ and Inzi as a chump.

Ok here's my prediction for how Indians will show:

*ODI Champs for India: *

Sachin "Saccharine" Tendulkar
VVS "Laxative" Laxman (I'm not being funny I expect him to get lots of runs LOL)
Rahul "The Druid" Dravid
Yuvraj "The Singular" Singh

ODI Chumps for India:

The rest.

Ehsan I'm watching it on Sky but am a bit concerned they might interrupt the coverage with the Windies England series, although due to the timings I don't think there'll be much of an overlap.

Hmmm...looking back it's quite interesting to see who has come through and who hasn't. I think most of the predictions were pretty much on the mark, notable failures so far being Malik, Yoyo and Laxman. But the rest have pretty much lived up to the hype, notably Yaasir Hameed.

Still one day to go, time enough for someone to rescue their reputation ;)

I think the biggest champ for Pakistan turned out to be our big fella... Inzi. The guy is consistently performing (minus that terrible LBW courtesy Ghauri).

One person who can be called both a Champ and Chimp at the same time... is Shabbir

yeah noticable failures were yousuf, laxman, Moin, and malik. so Xtreme only two of your champs out of five actually were true.

I think Afridi is gonna show us his ‘skillz’ in the final match. Look out for the dude , I’m not writing him off just yet

:jhanda:

yoyo hasn't clicked in this series and i dont think he will. stop giving him credit where he doesnt deserve it, unless he wins the next match for us.

yasir hameed and inzi are the champs!

Yeah but 3 out of my 4 Indian champs were true!

Anyway, it’s all on tomorrow isn’t it? If Yoyo or Malik produce in the final they will automatically be transformed from chumpss to champs InshAllah :jhanda: