Pak-Ind series 2006: BhaRkain aur KhaRaak

Since this will be the last series before both team will meet again in 2008 in India, post any bharak our emotional players may produce. I know there were some by Inzi, Akhtar and Woolmer before the first test. In this thread please post any bharak you may find during this series. This is not something Sehwag pointed to this series in particular, but still its a bharak. lol.

**Sehwag says he might go for Lara’s world record **

Qaiser Mohammad Ali (Indo-Asian News Service)
Lahore, January 16, 2006

After scoring an unbeaten 247 in the first Test against Pakistan at Gaddafi Stadium on Monday, Virender Sehwag indicated he might try to break West Indian Brian Lara’s world record of 400.

But Sehwag said pitches like the one here did not augur well for Test cricket.

Asked if he would attempt to break West Indian Brian Lara’s world record, Sehwag said: “You never know. What will happen tomorrow no one knows.”

“It was the best track to bat on,” Sehwag told reporters in reply to another question on whether it was the best surface that he had come across in his 40-Test career.

The Indian vice-captain, who helped his team score 403 without loss in reply to Pakistan’s 679 for seven wickets declared, was quick to add that such pitches would not promote five-day Test matches.

“It is their strategy. They prepared the wicket. Probably they had in mind the fact that they had lost the first Test the last time we toured here in 2004,” he said after his 320-minute knock on the fourth and penultimate day of the match.

“We want result-oriented wickets. We have come here to win,” he declared.

Apart from Sehwag, captain Rahul Dravid scored an unbeaten 128 to lead India’s strong reply on a perfect batting pitch.

http://www.htcricket.com/htcricket/7912_1600571,001601150008.htm

I remember a similar record breaking bhaRaak last year when Pak visited India and then Sehwag’s failure. He has been diagnosed with the same virus as our pace icon, with similar end results.

Re: Pak-Ind series 2006: BhaRkain aur KhaRaak

Kyon Sehwag ke peeche pade ho ?

Woh ek maasoom insaan hai...unlike the FASTEST BOWLER ON PLANET EARTH.

On a similar note, I have yet to read comments from Yousuf, Younis or even Afridi on the subject of how they totally demoralized and vitiated the Indian ‘attack’ from the outset. What I do have, however, is a written document here that proves, to somewhat of a certain degree, that Sehwag did get a high regard and a praise from at least two members of Pakistani Cricket Team on the fashion in which he scored his runs, as a batsman of his caliber and stature.

Who knows, maybe Jang (or Times of India for that matter) did print an article somewhere in their past editions on the fastest bowler on planet earth claiming his superiority status on Indian batters, or a piece on Afridi on his magnificient knock, as he and Younis helped the opposition attack on completing their century.

Still a hypothesis left to be proven. :slight_smile:

It is not our problem if Pak team management doesnt ask them to attend end of day press conference.

drop my catches so I can score 100s sehwag only knows how to talk. He is a not a batsman, he is just lucky. Pakistanis just need to work on their catching and sehwag will be sewagh.

Was Sehwag the only guy who scored some runs in this test. I believe not. But he is the only person who came out talking crap about Pakistani bowling. Says alot about a player. Did Afridi, Younis, Akmal or even Dravid say anything, no.

Lets see…An average of 56+ after 40 Test Matches. Those are too many dropped catches.

btw Mr…it may surprise you to know that Sehwag’s best performances have come against quality sides (Australia, South Africa, Pak… )…including a 190+ against Australia at Sydney.

Is Shewag the same guy who said he will score a 200 in an ODI and then had the worst year ever?

Having said that, I think he just likes to talk big. It's his way of becoming an Aussie. lol

u 4 got 2 mention 2 50’s and 0 hundreds in the 2nd inningd also!

this is a perfect example of bechara Sehwag’s comments being totally distorted and blown up. these journalists are complete morons.

that simple comment “You never know” in response to somebody else asking him about Lara’s record suddenly becomes “SEHWAG SAYS HE WILL BEAT LARA’S RECORD” and is likely to be transformed further by guppies into “SEHWAG CLAIMS TO BE BETTER THAN LARA” or “SEHWAG CLAIMS TO BE GOD”

what the hell is he supposed to say? “No way, I am totally unable to break the record, in fact I’m not very good at cricket”

it was a totally appropriate response, and in no way shows arrogance. to compare these benign remarks to Shoaib’s overt and blatant cockiness as seen a few years back is just stupid.

again, even the double-hundred comment…

after being asked, he said something like “if i could stay for a full 50 overs i could do it”

followed by “there are many batsmen that could do it if they stayed for 50 overs”

that isn’t arrogance.

i find it funny how every indian remembers those knocks dravid, sehwag, and ganguly played, against the likes of bracken, bichel, brad williams, lee (we know which lee that was not the lee of today), and gillespie! Indiands fail to remember when aussies came and completely destroyed the indians with their full bowling lineup on indian soil!

Thats, my friends, is bharak and bhadaas at its best...keep it up..:)

dont talk like a loser...you know what i am talking about...

did u mean .... sehwag's inngs against pak in absence of waqar, wasim, imran khan etc worthless .....

AUS came to India many times in last 10 years with full fledged team to destroy Indians but they could do it only once.Rest of the time they went back with their tail between legs. Great Shan Warne had nightmares of Sachin coming down the track and whacking him all over the park. Now compare that to some other teams who were bundled on 53 and 59 in a 3-0 whitewash. When was last time Pak won a test against AUS forget about a series. To find a drawn TEST you will have to go back to 1998-99 and for a win 1995-96. You have lost last 9 test matches against Australia. :rotfl:
While I am at it. Last 5 innings of Inzi against AUS are 8,1,0,1 and 0. :cb:

Now coming to Sehwag. If following number cant convince you then nothing will

Mat  Runs  HS   BatAv 100  50   W    BB  BowlAv 5w  Ct St  
                     7  1236 309  112.36   4   2   0   -       -    0   4  0 

If Sehwag is so bad how come your bowlers have not yet figured out how to get him. They must be dumbest bowler on earth. By the way out of those 4 centuries are 309,173,201 and 254. :smiley:

Please allow me to continue the honors for Sehwag, as well. To demonstrate his complete potential, not just against Pakistan, but against World Champions on their playing surface, here is a quick look (for those interested, of course).

** Against Australia**

Matches   Runs   HS     BatAV      100      50
   9      846    195    49.76       2        3

Out of the last pair of the statistics, two of his centuries and half-centuries were made against Australia, in Australia, not too long ago, so it would be naive to think he lacks the "strokeplay" as per mentioned in the cricketing textbook.

Not a sarcasm at all. This is truly to identify the quality of this master batsman, as some fail to acknowledge. Sometimes, you have to look outside the box in order to fully experience the class of other batters from different countries. It is one thing to praise our batsman because of their current doings. It is other thing to wrongfully criticize players from other countries just because someone made a certain comment, which gets hard to digest. Only time will tell if the sufferings do occur.

Tests 40 65 2 3574 309 56.73 4748 75.27 11 10 532 37 35 0If above statistics can't convince people about his effectiveness, don't know what will.
We can agree he isn't conventional batsman, and like pace bowlers have figured out Ganguly, one day if some bowler figures him out, he may lose effectiveness. Still saying he makes runs only cause of dropped catches, is taking the argument beyond the breaking point.

He may fail in next two tests, though that doesn't make him less a batsmen. He will still be averaging in high fifties. Most of team doesn't have more than one or two batsmen with averages in high fifties (around 55 or above)..

no worthless? far from that he is a quality player n e 1 who has such scores can not be termed worthless, all i am saying is b4 fnb’s dhoti caught fire was, that in the 2nd innings he is extremely weak as his numbers show!!!

Yes, Sehwag has a contrasting averages in first and second innings.

Though onething Ehsan bhai, Smooth_guy must be banned from this forum. He put the jungle on fire and now must be laughing reading all these messages of us jokers fighting on it. He hasn't responded to a single message after starting thread...