A senior Pakistani official has admitted for the first time that last year’s attacks in the Indian city of Mumbai were partly planned in Pakistan.
Interior Ministry chief Rehman Malik said that several suspects are now being held and a case has been filed which may lead to their prosecution.
At least 173 people were killed in November’s attacks.
Tensions between between India and Pakistan rose after Delhi said all 10 gunmen were Pakistani.
Pakistan denied any responsibility in the immediate aftermath of the attacks, but later it admitted that the sole gunman captured alive was Pakistani.
On Thursday Mr Malik told a news conference: “Some part of the conspiracy has taken place in Pakistan. We have lodged an FIR [first information report] into the case.”
‘State elements’
India has accused the banned Lashkar-e-Taiba militant group of being behind the Mumbai attack and has demanded that some of its leaders be extradited to Delhi.
It has also suggested what it calls Pakistani “state elements” were involved, something Islamabad denies. Delhi has handed over a dossier to the Pakistani government which it says contains evidence to support its case.
Last month Pakistan said it had arrested 71 people in a crackdown on groups allegedly linked to the attacks.
Interior Ministry chief Rehman Malik said then that officials had also shut several schools run by a charity linked to Lashkar-e-Taiba.
Pakistan was serious about fighting extremism, he added, but it needed more information from India to prosecute suspects in court.
Re: Pak govt says "Mumbai raid 'planned in Pakistan"
It's actually good for Pakistan, it shows we are sincere about fighting terrorism.
How will India react now?? Would they appreciate our efforts or same bakwas again.
^bhai i wud love to agree with u there but if u understand the neo-con policies that are taking place in the middle east/sout asia then u wud forsee where all this will lead to.
Obama has already announced troop increase in Afghanistan. He has also said last week that we will not allow Pak to become "terrorist haven" for Al Qaeda. We know that Al Qaeda and Talibans are just the pawn in the hands of the zionists with Saudia watching over them for USA. The real aim and traget is to 1)weaken the only institution of Pakistan, that is its army and 2)control or defuse the nuclear assets. I think with this announcement today USA has moved another step closer to the 2 targets mentioned above.
Once again pawns like Al Qaeda, Taliban, LeT will be used as an excuse to carry out what these powers desire for the region. Its interesting that the best monarch mates of the zionists in the region namely Saudi, Egypt, Jordan seem to be only relatively stable countries in the region. Large majority of Al Qaeda comes from Saudi and Jordan yet there is no unrest or rebellion in these countries against their own pro Zionist monarchs. All the "Jihad" is directed only towards the countries where US interests lie (against fellow Muslims!). Tells u something, doesnt it! :)
I would love to see the day when Al Qaeda, Taliban, LeT, or SSP actually kill a single Israeli.
It's actually good for Pakistan, it shows we are sincere about fighting terrorism.
How will India react now?? Would they appreciate our efforts or same bakwas again.
Well the "Bakwas" turned out to be true for you finally, but Rehman Malik talked nothing about training and those landline nos. as that will expose the upper links of the crime which lead no where but ISI and terrorist factories of Pakistan
Trying to limit the damage will make officials there look like joker except for the fact that they already are coz of the repeated u turns and baseless blabbering for the last 75+ days.
Well the "Bakwas" turned out to be true for you finally, but Rehman Malik talked nothing about training and those landline nos. as that will expose the upper links of the crime which lead no where but ISI and terrorist factories of Pakistan...
abay Malik said that investigation will start now as FIR was filed this morning. Are you that you can't understand it can take months and sometimes years in these sort of cases.
What the **** do you mean by training and landline numbers??? 6 people are in custody now including the mastermind, why do you think they are caught??
For your kind information, that BAKWAS didn't turn out to be true because there is no proof that Pakistani government or agencies were invovled in all this.
abay dhakkan Malik said that investigation will start now as FIR was filed this morning. Are you DUMB that you can't understand it can take months and sometimes years in these sort of cases.
What the **** do you mean by training and landline numbers??? 6 people are in custody now including the mastermind, why do you think they are caught??
For your kind information, that BAKWAS didn't turn out to be true because there is no proof that Pakistani government or agencies were invovled in all this.
Abey , No proof of govt links and agencies has not been found till now because he has arrested Chaprasis of terrorist organizations for blaming them as terror masterminds of the case,
Abey Dhakkan, No proof of govt links and agencies has not been found till now because he has arrested Chaprasis of terrorist organizations for blaming them as terror masterminds of the case, but I ll wait as your govt has a habit of getting ass kicked and then going to work. You are looking frustrated with your government. Have a glass of water and come back.
India blamed LeT for this and their head has been arrested.
You don't tell us who we should catch and punish, we decide that ourselves :-)
Getting frustrated with my government??? It's actually good for Pakistan, it shows we are sincere about fighting terrorism.
What part of the above statement did not you understand???
Getting frustrated with my government???
LOL...All the "accusations" that India had leveled right after 26/11 have proven to be true and accepted as such by Pak authorities, albeit after a lot of "danda" from your bosses in Washington DC ;)
Its funny how you have made a 180 degree turn from your posture right after 26/11 when you were not willing to believe that a single Pakistani was involved :p
"Inki shakalein Hinduon wali hain", "Iske haath par raakhee hai", "Iski Urdu Pakistanion wali nahin hai" and so on....Pls dont put up this drama of being sincere about fighting terror. If you hadnt got the stick from USA, there would be no sincerity.
Why Pakistani Govt always react defensively? and the only reason described by Gov officials is something like "good for Pakistan". This term is used even if it is worst. We are now at the stage where a blast in any part of the world is said to be a part of terrorist activity and most probably ISI is involved.
I am really proud to have such an active intelligence agency. This is known is INTELLIGENCE.
Our Govt is not going to change its defensive attitude. Their aggressive attitude is only for "opposition" or citizens of Pakistan.
^bhai i wud love to agree with u there but if u understand the neo-con policies that are taking place in the middle east/sout asia then u wud forsee where all this will lead to.
Obama has already announced troop increase in Afghanistan. He has also said last week that we will not allow Pak to become "terrorist haven" for Al Qaeda. We know that Al Qaeda and Talibans are just the pawn in the hands of the zionists with Saudia watching over them for USA. The real aim and traget is to 1)weaken the only institution of Pakistan, that is its army and 2)control or defuse the nuclear assets. I think with this announcement today USA has moved another step closer to the 2 targets mentioned above.
Once again pawns like Al Qaeda, Taliban, LeT will be used as an excuse to carry out what these powers desire for the region. Its interesting that the best monarch mates of the zionists in the region namely Saudi, Egypt, Jordan seem to be only relatively stable countries in the region. Large majority of Al Qaeda comes from Saudi and Jordan yet there is no unrest or rebellion in these countries against their own pro Zionist monarchs. All the "Jihad" is directed only towards the countries where US interests lie (against fellow Muslims!). Tells u something, doesnt it! :)
I would love to see the day when Al Qaeda, Taliban, LeT, or SSP actually kill a single Israeli.
I would also like to see the day when these groups kill an Israeli .... but for now they are able to convinve a lrge group of people in the Islamic world that they are the "defenders" of faith ... you don't have to go far to see the support that these groups get .... check some of the pages on GS to see that.
Now coming back to "neo-con" politics ...... well it seems whenever the jehadi's "screw up" the become agenst of neo con. Let me explain .... when they are fighting the American's in Afghansiatn .... they are "our own" Jehadis .... but when the come to Pakistan and want to do teh same they become the stooges of west. If you look back to the Taliban days in Afghansiatn .... they also stopped women and girls from all walks of life, strick rule on beard and many such "Islamic" acts ..... as that would stress. There was widespread support for these actions in Pakistan as they felt here was an "honest" regime whcih was following the strict dictates of "Islam" .... no when this same people started "enforcing" the same set of rules for northern Pakistan, these same goons become the "neo-con" agents .....
Now tell me why would US wnat to weaken the Pakistan army ... it is thier biggest asset in the region .... the first foreign trip taken by Musharaf was to "west" .... he is more "free" in US then he is Pakistan. So please don;t be under this impression that the US wants to "weaken" the Pakistan army as an institution ..... Now you talk about nuclear weapons .... if US can "buy" out it's President, Prime minister, the army chief ... and half the political groups in Pakistan ......don't you think they can "buy" out the nuclear weapons !!!!!!
Getting frustrated with my government???
Well if this sincerity was shown some time back we all would not be in the postion that we are today !!!!!
LeT was reponsible for the parliament attack and India even at that time had stressed on Pakistan to act against this group .... they did some window dressing and that has come back to haunt Pakistan now !!!! What is ironic is that Pakistan is fighting the same "ideological groups" that India is fighting. But then there are "inetrests" in Pakistan who belive that India is the enemy and these groups would support Pakistan to defeat India.
I see no difference between LeT or Tehrek e Taliban or Al qaeda ..... though overtly they might have different agenda's .... but at their core they want the same things.
-
Now tell me why would US wnat to weaken the Pakistan army ... it is thier biggest asset in the region .... the first foreign trip taken by Musharaf was to "west" .... he is more "free" in US then he is Pakistan. So please don;t be under this impression that the US wants to "weaken" the Pakistan army as an institution ..... Now you talk about nuclear weapons .... if US can "buy" out it's President, Prime minister, the army chief ... and half the political groups in Pakistan ......don't you think they can "buy" out the nuclear weapons !!!!!!
aam bandha- i agree with ur thoughts but why US wants to weaken the army is so it can have accesss to the nuclear assets. u r right to ask why US doesnt just buy em. My question to u is, has it been able to?
US has not been able to buy the nuclear assets and the reason is tht Pakistani army (which controls Pakistani politics, not the politicians) see nuclear assets as its only real assets as the whole country is pretty much down the drain. The only real negotiating card they have to essert some kind of authority in the neighbourhood or internationaly.
Why US cant c nuclear assets in Pakistans hands is not that its running scared of Pakstan but is worried about what may bring tomorrow in Pakistan! the real fear from their point of view is that Pak might shift its stance towards real enemies of the US in the region like Russia, China, or Iran.
So we c this context when Taliban r running wild in the country. They r financed and backed by US or some say Mossad and Raw. Either way the objective is to create havoc and then convince the international community that the Pakistani nuclear issue must be looked at seriously.
That is wht i think, what do u say?
aam bandha- i agree with ur thoughts but why US wants to weaken the army is so it can have accesss to the nuclear assets. u r right to ask why US doesnt just buy em. My question to u is, has it been able to?
US has not been able to buy the nuclear assets and the reason is tht Pakistani army (which controls Pakistani politics, not the politicians) see nuclear assets as its only real assets as the whole country is pretty much down the drain. The only real negotiating card they have to essert some kind of authority in the neighbourhood or internationaly.
Why US cant c nuclear assets in Pakistans hands is not that its running scared of Pakstan but is worried about what may bring tomorrow in Pakistan! the real fear from their point of view is that Pak might shift its stance towards real enemies of the US in the region like Russia, China, or Iran.
So we c this context when Taliban r running wild in the country. They r financed and backed by US or some say Mossad and Raw. Either way the objective is to create havoc and then convince the international community that the Pakistani nuclear issue must be looked at seriously.
That is wht i think, what do u say?
You want to believe that the Pakistani politicians are easier to corrupt then the army ..... you go ahead and belive that ........ but try to look at the past 60 year history of Pakistan and see for yourself.
As for Taliban and their support from RAW and Mossad ...... these are again fantastic stories being circulated to keep the "pot boiling" ...... Hope you saw the report on the rally in Swat yesterday !!!!! It was not against the RAW supported Talibans ... but against the military to stop operations !!!!!!! Guess RAW is more powerfull then most people think in India.
I said from day one that this was likely to happen. Jihadis whether it is LT or Talibans are the bane of Pakistan. We cannot let them go and expect the world to give us aid and loans. Musharraf tried playing double games and now we are paying for that folly.