Pak Economy is in great danger

Re: Pak Economy is in great danger

With NRO he ensured that crooks come back into power, do you honestly believe they'd reject NRO? thoray se baray ho jaoo agar ziyada hona mushkil hay to

Ehtasab bhaijan. I believe you are forgetting that it is the Pakistani electorate that voted the people into the Parliament. If you are suggesting that the great Pakistani electorate voted for the Crooks in the elections then who are we to argue? It is called democracy. :slight_smile:

God Bless Pakistan and the democratic process in the country. Long may it continue. :k:

God Bless the Judges, who I am sure will reject the NRO as soon as they are restored if they believe it is illegal. :slight_smile:

You are forgetting that the people who got elected are the ones Mushy used to call "most corrupt" and he made them available again by pardoning their crimes, so Mushy gets his share of the blame.

Insaan kisi haal mein bhi khush nahi reta. [Maulana Azad]

New finance minister to be appointed today: Asif

By Our Staff Reporter

KARACHI, May 12: PPP co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari said on Monday night that the government has decided to appoint a new finance minister today in place of Ishaq Dar following a decision by the PML-N to quit the federal cabinet.

Mr Zardari told a news channel that it was the prime minister’s prerogative to announce the name of the new finance minister.

(Reliable sources told Dawn on Monday night that senior banker Shaukat Tareen was being tipped for the job and he might join the government as an adviser.)

Mr Zardari said the other cabinet posts vacated by PML-N ministers would remain vacant and ‘we will wait for Nawaz Sharif to come back’.

He said the PPP was trying to resolve the judges’ issue as soon as possible so that it could pay full attention to issues of ‘roti, kapra aur makan’.

When the interviewer suggested that the current economic uncertainty in the country was the result of some statements made by Finance Minister Ishaq Dar about the country’s economy, Mr Zardari said: “We must appreciate Mr Dar’s efforts. He has not lied to the people. His statements may be bitter but they are not untrue. The economy given to us is in bad shape. We can’t say we can resolve these problems within 24 hours. But we can say that we can resolve them with the passage of time.”

Kamran Khan of Geo also raised this point a couple of days ago.

I Dar showed a careless attitude. His presence at Islamabad was more important than his trip to London with NS.

Nepali Rupee is Stronger then Pakistani
1 Nepalese Rupee = 1.03995 Pakistan Rupee
check with www.oanda.com

Pakistani Economy was never strong to begin with, this whole bakwas about unprecedented economic growth was an artificial bubble which had burst right before Shortcut Aziz was sent back packing.

Bhaaion te Behnon

Pakistan needs a grass-roots revolution not a top-down change in leadership. Our people deserve what they are getting. We reap what we sow. Until our people grow out of their ghulam mentality, expect them to be slaves to their own upper elite.

Mostar, great zardari said this:

** When the interviewer suggested that the current economic uncertainty in the country was the result of some statements made by Finance Minister Ishaq Dar about the country’s economy, Mr Zardari said: “We must appreciate Mr Dar’s efforts. He has not lied to the people. His statements may be bitter but they are not untrue. The economy given to us is in bad shape. We can’t say we can resolve these problems within 24 hours. But we can say that we can resolve them with the passage of time.”

http://www.dawn.com/2008/05/13/top2.htm

Govt accused of doing little to check price spiral

By Raja Asghar

ISLAMABAD, May 13: PPP’s Naveed Qamar quietly stepped into the finance minister’s shoes on Tuesday after the collapse of the coalition cabinet to face an outcry in the Senate against one of the country’s most painful price hikes.

Members from both the opposition and treasury benches complained the new government had done little to check the rocketing prices of food and other necessities in the 43 days of its life, with calls for urgent action to reverse the trend and suggestions like price control on food, rationing of motor fuel, cutting down travel and other expenses of government functionaries.

Although no immediate replacements were made for nine ministers of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) who handed their resignations on Tuesday to Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani in a row over the planned reinstatement of deposed superior court judges, Privatisation Minister Naveed Qamar took the seat of outgoing Finance Minister Ishaq Dar in the Senate to listen and respond to a bitter debate over the price hike.

While opposition senators said the price hike that started under the previous government grew most after the new government took

office at the end of March, some from the two smaller parties allied with the PPP in the ruling coalition engaged in some self-criticism accusing the coalition government of failing to address the issue, before the debate was adjourned until 9.30am on Wednesday to be wound up by Mr Qamar.

Babar Ghori of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement said the prevailing economic situation had forced many investors to transfer their capital abroad and called for urgent remedial action by the government.

Haroon Akhtar Khan of the formerly ruling Pakistan Muslim League was most worried by a sharp fall of the rupee even against a falling dollar and said depressing statements about the state of the economy by Mr Dar had shattered the confidence of investors.Mohammad Azam Swati of the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (JUI) called for the creation of a regulatory authority to create an equilibrium between supply and demand.

Abdul Rahim Mandokhel of the Pakhtunkhawa Milli Awami Party pleaded for a planned economy with a strong public sector and official fixation of prices of essential commodities to be enforced by local governments.

Anisazeb Tahirkheli of the PPP-S proposed the introduction of new land reforms and cooperative farming and the building of new water reservoirs wherever possible.

In a passionate speech, JUI’s Kamran Murtaza ridiculed recent trips to Dubai and London by top PPP and PML-N leaders in attempts to settle their differences over the reinstatement of judges sacked under President Pervez Musharraf’s controversial Nov 3, 2007 emergency while people suffered the agony of high prices and wondered whether the mandate given by the people to election-winning parties was intact.

Haji Mohammad Adeel of the Awami National Party blamed the previous government for the present state of affairs and suggested the government freeze the salaries and allowances of top-grade government employees as well as ministers and members of assemblies for five years and ban import of new cars for official use for three years and purchase of new furniture and other fittings for the houses of ministers and high officials for five years.

http://dawn.com/2008/05/14/top9.htm

Yep that is very true. Thank God Khazana Chor Dar is out of the govt now.

His out of cabinet has already bringing result. Since the day PML(N) resigned, rupee devaluation stopped. Actually, rupee gained 20 paisa to 30 paisa per dollars after PML(N) exit.

^ Saleem how come great Zardari has already said the economy is in very bad shape and Dar was just telling us the truth unlike the previous economic parachutes.

:hehe: so when Rupee had gained ~1Rs against Dollar few days back (when PML-N/PPP marriage was still fresh) was it because someone woke up and thought Nawaz Sharif/PML-N quit the govt hence Rupee gained strength?

That is news to me. When it happened? Can you give me date or source?

hahah a new sign of unprecedented economic growth:

Business to be shut down at 9pm due to electricity shortage!

apnay threads hi nahi parhtay? wah wah, here:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=5789604&postcount=28

It seems that you did not read my reply to your post on that thread? :). You were not comparing open market rate with open market rate but compared open market rate with TT/OD rate. Well, it seems you are learning quickly to become member in Nawaz team … :slight_smile:

saleem yar, can you please post a really long reply and elaborate for brother ehtesaab? :rotfl: