Now since ICC trophy is behind us and we all would like to forget it like a bad dream ..we move on to home series against W-Indies, I think this is the last series before world cup. what do you guys think Pak’s strategy should be? Inzi is back as a captain, I am reading news slide on GEO about possibility of dropping Arafat, Afridi and Rana and including Sami Niazi? and Yasir Hameed.
I personally disagree with dropping Arafat and Afridi, I think Arafat did good with the bat in the only game he played against SA, with the lack of options we have in bowlers, why not keep him? Also Afridi, keep him for his half decent bowling and fielding I just like the little glimmer of hope that afridi brings .. you just never know when he can go “pathan”.
I don’t know sami niazi but “sami” name just doesn’t bring good feelings overall. Why they are not calling this new kid Anwar Khan? He seems promising!
Re: Pak against West indies Home series
whats a lousy series thats gonna be..stadiums will be empty...i am not even gonna watch it.west indies did nt even wanna play 3 tests ,they wanted 2 tests.
Droping of Afridi has nothing to do with strategy or form, rather it is more of our selectors QOUTA system mentality. If Afridi is among 15 players then they may have to select 4 players from NWFP among 11, which normally they don't want. I am seeing a tendency that whenever there are 2 confirmed spot for players from NWFP (e.g. Younis, Gul) then selector try their best to include only one more player from NWFP among 14 or 15 players list, so that they don't have to go for more than 3 players among 11.
We have seen this in case of Arshad in the 14 member squad, ignoring of Yasir when Afridi is in 15, ignoring of talented Fazli Akber, inform Ahmad Said etc.
I think PAK should go for form and talent not from where it comes. If they have to select all 11 from Lahore then do it, or from Karachi then do it, but should do justice.
The new team is good. Although none of the bowlers are strike so problems may occur for Pakistan to win this series via ball. If they wanted to give new blood a chance, a match or so for Anwar Ali would have gone a long way.
Either way, I think Inzamam and company will look to go easy way that is make batting wickets and win through Kaneria.
where the hell is Asim Kamal?
yeah I agree it has nothing to do with strategy or from....it is just "dropping"...
he needs to be dropped on the head a few times and need to sit out for a year then he will come back with with some real seriuosness....
jharro day rahah heay Qadhafi stadium kay baher…bullaoon kiyah ?
aray AAAASIMMMMM!!!
aray naheen its gonna be a disco series yaar......kaloo dewanay.....!!!!
maza hee maza.....
Lets beat the heck out of them and get some confidence back in our team!!!
aur pher Lara ko humaray flat grounds main batting kartha dekh kar kitna maza aayay gaa!!
I disagree, I don't think inclusion/exclusion of players has anything to do with their place of origin/birth. There was time (not too long ago) when there were probably around 4 or more from NWFP in the team. If I remember that combo correctly it was Yasir Hameed, Younis, Misbah and probably Gul.
I have to agree with you.........it will be a boring and lousy series especially if the tracks are dead. The stadiums may well be empty for the tests.
The West Indies blow hot & cold and not sure what their attitude towards the series will be after losing the ICC Champions trophy final.
^ chalo dekhtain hain …jab series start ho gee tau tum main say kon sab seh pehlay buhat excited ho kar yahan posts mar raha hoga…
ROCK and DESI dono kay naam bhee aik aik pathar rakh leeyay…
I hope you will not need to throw them.![]()
I don't want to make this a regional dispute, but FYI Misbah might be pathan, so is Samiullah Niazi and Imran, but Mianwali is still part of Punjab. Only time when 3/3+ NWFP guys played, during last India trip, Pakistan won.
I also agree with the fact that irresponsible Afridi does need to be dropped and even if he gets selected should be made to carry drinks and towels, to know the value of playing for Pakistan.
lets not talk about it then :)
Im Pukhtun, real Pukhtun, i dont think the selectors actually sit down and say lets not have more than 3 pukhtuns, thats absurd! maybe some double standards exist but performance is what matters! n e wayz the team selection indicates clear underestimation of the winides team! we needed rana in thier, he needs overs under his belt of SA series, he probably would have regained form!
real as opposed to fake I presume.