Packing snacks/food for air travel

Now that domestic airlines don’t give you anything to eat (except for pretzels and/or peanuts) even on long flights, we have to carry our own stuff. They do sell the premade bozes but you hardly have a halal choice and the last time I was flying they had this yummy cheese and crackers and fruit combo but it was sold out before the cart came by me.

So yeah, what do you take on your trip especially if you have kids?

Usually I have hotdogs or cheese sandwiches or macaroni/beef. Nothing smelly like paratha kabab or chikken tikka (as much as that sounds quite fulfilling). I also keep crackers/cookies/chips/assorted nuts/cereal bars…

Re: Packing snacks/food for air travel

Are you allowed to take food from home onto the planes? As far as I remembered, drinks were definitely not allowed anymore...u can buy from inside the terminal once u get past security but its Soooo expensive. Then again, for domestic flights rules are different?

No drinks. But food is allowed..even nihari and naan :@:

planes will totally bring back tiffans into fashion. or you could totally do bento boxes (if you had the patience for it) http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1193/1209628559_bfe7c1401b_o.jpg

or well, take sammiches with you. chicken, egg salad, nothing beats that. i don’t care so much about the food as i care about the water. wish they would let us take that by gallons :frowning:

gimme a good recipe for chicken sammich.

umm the one i'm making these days is just shaan chicken tikka masala mixed with a couple of tablespoons of yogurt. marinate chicken breasts with it for about a day or the night. then cook it on slow heat (marinade and chicken all) so it cooks in its own water. then smoosh, add mayo to make it spreadable and tadaaaaaa! you can add ketchup to it if you find you didn't add enough shaan masala.

yummm!

And how do you make the non masala ones…the plain boiled chicken shredded…those ones :bummer:

i cheat :halo: i get one of those roast chickens from walmart, and use the chicken breast (i find the breast portion really nice for sandwiches. otherwise it’s too dry to eat) and same thing, mix with mayo, add salt and black pepper to your taste.

if that doesn’t work, then you can always just cook the breast without adding the shaan masala to the yogurt, and instead just add salt and bit of black pepper for the taste. i usually have left over breast (for the reason mentioned above) so my roast chicken masala usually has other stuff like zeera and dhaniya and methi seeds for the flavoring. but once you make sandwiches out of it, you hardly taste it. i think it just kills the chicken smell that you get sometimes.

you cheater :mad:

hmmm, I’ll try both.

sandwiches/almonds/sesame snaps/fruits are always handy

I also make lil puffs/croissants sometimes esp when we have early morning flight and there is no time for breakfast and I know for sure that the remote airport we are going to will not have anything open :) not even tim hortons.

So I buy the mini croissants dough from grocerry store and make small fingure length kebabs, cook kebabs, cool them, roll them in the dough and bake for few minutes, I alwasy leave them to cool before packing. I did the same thing with eggs, it turned out bigger than the size I wanted. it is super easy and quick.

I think chicken nuggets are really filling and less messy… So are pakora nuggets :cb:

Hummous sandwiches are yummy too…

Sliced Boar's Head turkey with swiss cheese, lettuce mayo, tomato salt and pepper on a huge crusty roll or wedge...YUM!! Now THATS a sammich!!

You know that you can take an empty bottle inside and fill it up from any water fountain. Much cheaper option than trying to buy bottled water from a store inside the terminal.

^^^ considering that you don't really know how "pure" bottled water is anyways.

new thread idea yay, thanks Khumz and TLK.

:no: mujhey neend zyadah pyari hai so I would rather sleep during air travel than take snacks.
Or maybe I would take a few chocolates ,Pringles,cookies etc.

I had no idea you could take food with you on the plane…note to self so I dont spend oodles of money on airport food. :nahi:

for short trips i usually take bun kebab, jalebi, balu shahi, naan khatai, maghaz masla sandwich, haleem, halwa puri, lassi, namak paray, and habshi halwa yo.

What? You mean no chooran, majoon and chaar maghaz? You should just in case indigestion, brain stress or weakness hits you.

Maghaz sammiches are usually gooey. I dun likes. :snooty:

maghaz samich is like a desi version os sloppy joe.

okay here is a tip for making sloppy sammies less gooey,
toast the bred on one side, had that side facing inside..this way u have the soft bread, and it does not get too soggy

and btw if someone has not tried maghaz masala sammich, u are missing out..although i dont use sliced bread for it

maghaz masala on a french roll is amazing.