ehsan bhai ppl may be surprised but this has happened before, especially in teh time period you are talking about. In many cases it was a situation where ppl would give in because other rumours would start etc. I have heard narrations of similar stuff from elders. but dunno if they ever saw it or just heard about it.
not a desi wedding , but i was watching ne of those brain rot tv shows, reality Tv or something and the groom was arrested by cops on the altar, some african american dude.
groom’s parents had a fight n mother slaped groom’s father. father n his realtives (mother n sisters walked away n groom started to cry at his nikah day …
Where some guests came late 3 hours and almost also the barat as Prasident Musharaf was on roads and roads got blocked.
Where a close guest from the grooms side asked the brides sister why she just has one kid.
Where the groom mother and bride's sister and khala had a fight over 'cloths given to the bride from the grooms side' .. shouting & yelling & crying happened.
(Where as the bride asked the MIL to make simple cloths for her)
I havent had any major experiences that i recall right now, but once as we returned with my cousin and his bride back to my uncle's home, there were the usual post function upon-return ritauls going on and the groom, my cousin, kept saying jaldi karo, jaldi karo and was in such a hurry to head upstairs to their room. When they were taken to the room and the bride was being settled he kept telling everyone, jaldi jaldi, acha subha baat ho gi and kept trying his best to hush everyone away. I was much younger at the time but all of us cousins found his jaldi jaldi extremely odd and hilarious! :D
Back in Punjab (india), at a neighbourhood wedding, on the wedding day the groom's family started asked for large amount of dowry.
The brides family called the police and had the groom and his parents arrested. The rest of the grooms family and relatives were beaten up by the girls family.
Speakin of $6 haq-mehar.. i knew a bride’s mom who demanded $40,000.. threatened to call the shadi off if her demand wasnt met. But then luckily other more sane people took over and made her sit aside.
hahaha, i read that news story
Saadia, isn’t the haq meher, whatever the guy can afford? And i’ve heard the actual amount was somewhere around today’s $300..
Ummm haris, speaking of ur cousin, my freinds were tellin me when they were really little, her DADI sent her up to her chacha’s room on his suhaag raat, making her ask him if he wanted chai
OMG reading these stories, i’m so scared what will be of my wedding
not at a shaadi but before a valima, my cousin running around his house, saying has anyone seen my underwear, have you taken it etc. we started making fun of him that he only has one, and actually made a story about nucelar chaddis in the cousins news- which was a sat nite live type of fake news we did at our cousins events at all get togethers.
Poor dude, such a nice guy, one of the closest things to having a big brother for me. passed away 2 years ago very suddenly due to stomach cancer, he was in his early 40's.
ahah he was also losng his hair so the day of his shaadi he went to a beauty parlour to make his hair look thicker. also, thats when there was a outbreak of conjunctivitis (pink eye) in karachi, and a bunch of us had it, so the baraat looked like a bunch of chichoras or rock star wanna bes wearing dark glasses :D
The most shocking and appalling act i've seen at a wedding was last year, when there was a feud between some guys which had initially started a few weeks prior, and of all the days, theses idiots chose that particular day to resurface their feud.
A fight broke out and 2 guys beat down this one guy so bad, he was in intensive care for 2 weeks, i came to know later that this guy was beaten with such severity he has severe brain damage and will be in a vegetative state for the rest of his life.