Over-rated Professions

Having worked in law it has be one of the most over rated professions. Solicitors spend 99% of time scurrying around in offices with huge files of repetitive cases to go through. Going court is such a minimal part of a solciitors job unless you’re a criminal lawyer. Isn’t it annoying to get somewhere and realise it wasn’t all it was pepped up to be?

Awwwww poor DD :frowning:

Alhumdulillah I’ve managed to get into a profession that is more interesting than I ever could have dreamed it would be :hula:

Realtors have to be highly overrated. They are essentially bringing together a buyer and seller. I mean they help but many people can go without them successfully.

Re: Over-rated Professions

Originally posted by *Disco~Duck: *
Having worked in law it has be one of the most over rated professions. Solicitors spend 99% of time scurrying around in offices with huge files of repetitive cases to go through. Going court is such a minimal part of a solciitors job unless you're a criminal lawyer. Isn't it annoying to get somewhere and realise it wasn't all it was pepped up to be?

When I was in school they told us that lawyers spend very little time in actual court doing trials. As most cases are settled out of court, for most types of legal cases. I remember speaking with a lawyer friend of mine and he told me that lawyers spend most of their time in the books.

I couldnt be a lawyer for that reason alone.

And what is that?

DD: its a matter of options and time. If been a lawyer was your only option (meaning you had no other skills or experience or ability to change jobs), you would rationalize to like it. Now that you have options you can choose. As they say beggers cant be choosers :slight_smile:

DD, why have you opened an identical thread? :hoonh:

I think we should both quit our jobs and do what us Pakis do best; sign on.

DD: May be Corporate Law is not that bad :hula: we have lawyers here (and i am sure there must be plenty abroad as well) who give really decent advice on corporate matters (you know all the jazzed up stuff like mergers, project finance etc.) and i mean reallly good advice. paisay bhi usi hisaab se banaate hain waisay.

I would have been a corporate lawyer if not this :stuck_out_tongue:

I've not studied corporate law althought it sounds pretty much same as company law. Definetly one of my favourite subjects and something i'd probably branch out to in the future ( Inshallah ).

Munni, i wish i'd paid more attention in researching what i was getting myself into rather than chilling out my way through the degree. I'd really loved to have become a geologist, that was my love and passion. Pity how explaining to your parents that you have to go away for weeks on end examinig rocks in quarries is 'educational'..they wouldn't have none of it.

Sobi, lol you opened the same thing? Bless ya. Where are those people who love their jobs ... i'd like to have a few words with them.

Seems more like an expectation gap. The lawyers we see on TV/movies are trial attorneys; a completely different breed than solicitors/corporate attorneys.

Having worked in law it has be one of the most over rated professions. Solicitors spend 99% of time scurrying around in offices with huge files of repetitive cases to go through. Going court is such a minimal part of a solciitors job unless you're a criminal lawyer. Isn't it annoying to get somewhere and realise it wasn't all it was pepped up to be?
I don’t see how researching past cases for comprehending and better understanding your own new cases is by any standard considered mundane or trivial. You develop knowledge throughout the information gathering and analysis process, and would need to go to the right sources, be efficient with your research and insightful in your inferences to be an effective lawyer.

I personally don’t think any profession is over-rated. For example, as an external party, a lot of us tend to think of Govt. employees as slackers and what not, but its only after you’ve been part of that situation that you realize the concrete reality of anyone’s work.

Originally posted by RajputFury:
Realtors have to be highly overrated. They are essentially bringing together a buyer and seller. I mean they help but many people can go without them successfully.

Same comment applies here RajputFury... two years ago, I might have agreed with you... but now that I've seen my dad work in Real Estate, I appreciate all the intricate and complex details that a person would likely overlook when managing their own property. The realtors provide a service to not only bring together “the serious and the right” buyers and sellers, but also help in house inspections, securing mortgage, and several other tasks that you would be spending your own precious time on. Its really a question of opportunity cost… you can either spend time to “learn” about these things, and then “do them” or pay someone who knows these things, has much more experience in a multitude of situations and let them handle it (while you spend your time productively elsewhere… working & earning a living perhaps instead of researching and dealing with hassles).

Re: Re: Over-rated Professions

Originally posted by Umar Talib: *
Same comment applies here RajputFury... two years ago, I might have agreed with you... but now that I've seen my dad work in Real Estate, I appreciate all the intricate and complex details that a person would likely overlook when managing their own property. The realtors provide a service to not only bring together *
“the serious and the right”** buyers and sellers, but also help in house inspections, securing mortgage, and several other tasks that you would be spending your own precious time on. Its really a question of opportunity cost… you can either spend time to “learn” about these things, and then “do them” or pay someone who knows these things, has much more experience in a multitude of situations and let them handle it (while you spend your time productively elsewhere… working & earning a living perhaps instead of researching and dealing with hassles).

Umar bhai, boy you do know the way to an economists heart :)

Yes ofcourse the opportunity costs are tremendous. Major retraction on my part. I have had not so good experiences with realtors after getting married and trying to buy as house. Granted I wanted a property in my parents town (a hot area) but we have ended up with return deposits based on "fictious" offers, or have been duped into viewing properties 5 miles away. So I hope you can understand my frustrations. I did not mean to offend you or your father.

Rajput yaar, no sweat! :-)
like I said, two years ago, I would have said the same thing.

In fact, I remember having a chat with someone trying to convince them to sell their house online through movein.ca ... needless to say, the person ended up with a realtor after trying in vain - oops! :o

"ficitious offers" !!?? yikes!! that's reprehensible no doubt.

DD - corporate law IS company law, it just depends what side of the pond you live.

I did my LPC last year at a firm that specialised in Family and Criminal Law and was bored out of my brain for the whole year. Now I'm doing my Articles and specialising in Wills & Probate, which sounds like it would be dull but so far I'm enjoying it.

I think most people have a very 'Ally McBeal' image of the legal profession when in reality there's a lot more reading up and time spent researching involved.

Yup. I know exactly what you mean. I learned so much about the law, how to run cases, etc. in school and now in the 'real world', working in various legal offices, I do squat. Honestly, doing in-house legal work is the best. Move out of a law firm and try getting an in-house position.

Brit Chick, cool stuff. Qualifying soon-ish then eh?

Wills and Probate sounds yuck I would have thought Criminal was a lot better in practice. PI is boring..if ido my LPC any recommendations as to which route i should take?

Mehnaz, i'm trying.

^ there is no money In-house. Plus the work is crappy and the same. NDA's, confidentialty agreements blah blah blah...

In house corporate development always needs legal..that is cool **** and project based.

Doing in-house Corporate work ... to me that is the ideal job. Over here Matsui, you notice the significant pay difference when you move from a law firm to in-house (cause there only tend to be one or two lawyers plus their staff) .... your salary takes a serious leap .... and the work is more exciting cause you work more with executives and CEOs of companies rather than only lawyers. Plus, you have the option to move around (I guess that doesn't apply to lawyers, more to admin staff) whereas in a law firm there is no where to move. You work more on serious, mega-deals.

we are never too old to change our minds.
i've just spent 3 years of my life doing what i like and then decided that i wanted to do something i love.
so now i have found a job that i love (dont get me wrong, it has its drawbacks), but i still love it.
so if u r really not happy, then find something you enjoy doing and then do it.

DD, before I got into W&P I would've said the same as you. But it's actually more interesting and varied than criminal - and definetely better than PI which has to be the dullest work you can do (no offence). I finish up my Articles this year inshahallah.

In house work can be okay but be restrictive, at least it's that way in England anyway.