Outcast

Anyone else an outcast of the extended family (uncles, grand parents, aunts and their kids)?

It feels lonely to have lost these relations. Only because I denied to marry a cousin many years back…now all of them have cut their ties to me. no one congratulates for special occassions…kind of tough to deal with on the long run even though I try to be brave and forget it…

But whenever its Eid or another special occasion I really miss to have uncles, aunts, cousins and grand mother to say Eid Mubarak. just over the phone as they are in Pakistan…

No wonder I am feeling lonely when I have lost extended family due to denial of marriage…and then “lost” family and friends by moving away after marriage as I dont see them very often and just limited contact over phone due to busy schedule of everybody’s lives…

I guess I am getting depressed today…

Re: Outcast

i know the situation you are in...we are going through it right now...trust me all these aunties uncles have their own agendas....just be happy with your other half..coz thats all that really matters!

yeah of course its most important to feel good yourself, but when I see others with their maamu, khala, chacha, phuppo or dadi, nani etc...I do miss mine. I had a wonderful time during childhood summer visits.Only when i grew older and their greedy nature showed in direct visa demands through marriage, I started feeling alone and now they have all cut their ties with me cuz I am a bad influence on their kids!

theres nothing you can do bout it....in fact if they dont care bout you...why should care bout them!!!

thats the approach ive taken with our family....and guess what..? now they want back in...even though it was them who initiated the whole mess in the first place!!!

kher....just be strong...all this will pass inshAllah!

:hugz:

main hoon naa

ohhh thanks:)

Sorry to hear about your situation.

Yes I know inshaALlah this feeling will pass....I was in a forced nikkah for 4 damn years with my cousin..Alhamdulillah its over now and I am happily married with the best husband i cud ask for:)

more huggs and when u miss them a lot to simply give them a call and say mamoo aap yaad arahy thay .. thats all. .blood relations yoon thori khatam hotay hain .. just call them and see

It's a sad fact, but it's our nature of our people to hurt those who are supposedly close to us, our families, our bloodlines.

why dont u be the bigger and better person..and call them instead..
nani..mamo..chachas aese rishtey hotey hai jo bhooley nahi jaatey..i am sure they must think abt u too..but u know..ego problems ki waja se express nahi kersakhtey hongae

well 2 sisters are married into family and brother is engaged. anything I do or say may effect their lives.

Chameli, if i were you adn was really missing my relatives, i would take a step towards them and just do a casual phone call and eid mubarik to them. It cant hurt, can it? LIke Aana said, it will just make you the bigger person.