Our habit of speaking English+Urdu

I saw interviews of several people on Geo from Karachi after the jolt felt by coastal areas (Defence, Clifton etc.) and one relatively older guy starts in Urdu then uses a few English words then its all English, plus “then later chokidaar* came by and knocked on the door telling sub bahir nikal gaya hay”, then goes toba toba lady-style (but that is not what I want to discuss). Then there was another girl, starts off in Urdu and later its all English :rolleyes:

You are being interviewed (in Pakistan) by a local channel, why would you speak in English?

Re: Our habit of speaking English+Urdu

because... thats the way they talk... infact even the british council there has accepted it i suppose... i guess a new form of language is emerging.... :)

Why? Why can’t we stick to one language to speak?

wots wrong with Unglish.. or urdlish if you like?

Urdu -english mix is wayyyyyyyyyyy better than mr. bombastic ki english

I don't see anything wrong in speaking Urdenglish. Languages evolve over a period of time and I guess this is the beginning of Urdenglish. Finally, Pakistan have it's own language and not the one borrowed from UP Indians.

thats mean shweetdreamzzz...... is being able to speak or write good english a merit of some sort?

^^ is that a trick question?

I am really looking forward to when a Defensite karachite will be able to speak a mix of Urdu, English, Punjabi with a little bit of Pushto too. That would bring us all together.

Reporter: What are your goals in life?
Burger: Actually, baat yay hay kay haali mai decide naee kittaa kay what I want to do with my life. Kabhi dil kerta hay kay I should go to Haravard for further studies, tey kaddi dil chaanda kay Pekhawar taa laaRR shoo and learn the art of making naswaar!

Reporter: lagta hay aap nay sirf zindagi he nahee bulkay apni zubaan apnany kaa faisla bhi nahee kya abhi tak!

I speak urdu/punjabi mix.. i can add english to it too!

^^ sara the paindoo.

^^ shweetdreamz the worm :halo:

If you think about it, its very hard to speak completely in urdu. If you make a lot of effort, you can. About the only people I have seen who’d not mix any word of english in their conversation are the folks who were in oldie PTV program “Kasooti”, hosted by Qureshpur (?)

Anyway, it could just be thatthe guy felt equally comfortable talking in urdu as in english and his interview merely reflected his comfort.

defence and clifton people r nothing but too much westernize pakis....their love for pak and islam is very low....they live in paki as a formality otherwise their mother land is america or any other wesatern country....

^^big foot! i missed u!

waise i have sent the bucket of fair n lovely for your feet must be arriving soon.:blush:

oh and sorry i have to turn down your request for asking me to become mod shod of pak forums. time nahi hai sorry :frowning:

gay1 new term: static formal pakis.

Faisal, using a few "terms" of English which are now perhaps part of Urdu dictionary may be okay, but using full English sentences in middle of Urdu conversation is what I find odd.

FUNGUY :- you are hilarious. Please come up with a few more skits. I couldn't stop laughing :)