Other words for Chachi..

Hey Guppies… Im not sure if this topic belongs here but please help me, what is another way my son can address his chachi? My mother in law wants her to be called CHOTI MAMA but shes not close enough to my son to be called that and i find it a bit weird since it sounds like somethin ppl call their stepmothers. Her kids call me TAYIMAMA, so any suggestions will be appreciated. Thank you lovely people xxx

Re: Other words for Chachi..

how about chachi jaan?

Choti bahu

Aunt + first name.

Aunty (add "Ji" if your kinds like her) , annyi, maasi, e.t.c

Bwahahahahahahahaha. So now the saas and Op's kid will also the devrani Choti bahu. Southie, u are paitiyam!!!

Finally she gets one Tamil word correct.

It's a far bigger accomplishment that you finally understood some Tamil.

Why not just chachi jaan or chuchi jaan? That's what I'm called by my husband's nieces and nephews and it's quite adorable mA!

I call my aunt "chuchi." I call my tayi...tayi amma...but I'd rather just call her aunti.

Is tayi father's elder sister?

Tayi aka Tayima aka Tayi amma= dad's older brother's wife

I hope iA when I have kids, they call their relatives by their relationships. I feel that it brings a certain beauty to the relationship. Khalas, taayimas, phophos etc. An uncle/aunt could be any desi friend etc..

Choti mama does sound weird...as if there's another mama he needs to know about...lol

I think Chachijaan or choti chachi is enough.

Choti Ammi...

chachoo ki jaan

Why not just chachi? :confused: Choti mama/amma sounds so weird! She’s not their mom.

My family hates chuchi... cos when spoken fast it ends up as "chhiii" ...So the new generation is sticking to chaaaachi. Emphasizing the "chaaa" part lol. I think chachi jaan sounds nice..

Thanks for all the suggestions! Lol @ choti bahu. My son has two chachis, youngest one is cool with bein called chachi, older one is under MILs thumb :/ im going to be slowly transitioning to "chachi jaan" and "(name) chachi"
Im so happy u guys understand me, Choti mama is just weird! Esp since technically age wise shes a year older than me!