other people giving ur child sweet food?

Re: other people giving ur child sweet food?

its annoying when they say oh we had kids too....well good for u, and u brought them up, now its my turn so please go awayyy and just play with the kids or feed them whats good for her, dont give whatever u wish, just because u used to do it too, doesnt mean its good for the baby. i hate the answeres i get everytime i say pls dnt give her that mostly its ohhh kuch nahi hotaaaa.

Only one who should chill is you–your hatred against ABCDs is very clear then :slight_smile:

Just get over yourself :flower1:

PS, since we agree on how the in laws in this scenario are wrong, how would you handle it?

Nobody can be sweet and kind and patient 100% of the time, and really…if we can’t be snappy at our mothers once in a while, then who can be we be comfortable enough to show a bit of frustration from time to time.

maybe you are always patient with kids and always sweet and kind to everyone else, so why don’t you help out and give useful advice instead of bringing your issues here and calling mothers b*tches?

Ofcourse who wouldn’t hate such sad ‘confused’ species ? I don’t really anything against normal ABD or BBD (I’m a BBD myself), its the people that come with big Capital ‘C’ that pisses me off. And I wish I could get over it.

Err being snappy at your MIL is probably the last thing you should think about doing. As with mothers, as far as my mother is concerned we never had the guts to snap at her, she’s easily hurt plus she’s been ill for very long time, I’d rather tell my sister leave the house than let her snap at my mother. So every family dynamics and circumstances are different, snaping at mothers may be acceptable in some househols but in ours it certainly isn’t and it’ll never be.

Oh the irony! LOL

As with the advice, she first of all needs to stop the build up inside her and try to casually conversationlise the reasons she thinks certain food is not good for the baby. She’s not dealing with children, she’s dealing with elders who don’t like being told that they’re outdated, we’ll also realize when we reach that age as well.

PS: You need to stop misquoting me.

The one thing I have found very frustrating is the way my mom and MIL make me feel like I am depriving Bunny of something if I don't give her sugary things, especially packaged stuff loaded with preservatives, sugar, artificial colors and flavors. I know that we have grown up popping biscuits and chips like there were no consequences, but I do think that the preservatives affect your metabolism as well as your overall energy. Sugar affects attention, and too many products given to children are loaded, making them hyper and unfocused. And there is constantly news about the stuff used in artificial coloring and flavoring and its consequences. These are NOT the sorts of things that our parents grew up on, and mashAllah se their natural, homegrown/home-made foods have led to them being far more energetic and healthy than we ever were MASHALLAH.

Anyway, that is what I want for my daughter. And I do want to be careful with the foods I introduce to her. I want to know what is going in her body and whether or not it is affecting her negatively or positively.

All of my family members and friends are impressed by my daughter's willingness to try new foods, and her love of fruits and veggies mashAllah. She gets excited about and identifies: strawberries, blueberries, pears, apples, bananas, melons, avocado, spinach, zucchini, peas, carrots, aloo, broccoli, etc, along with chawal, cheerios, roti, bread, etc. She loves the flavorful desi foods and the experiments her mom makes at home. The sight of something sizzling in a pan on the stove elicits glee. She will want a bite of biscuits, ice cream, and cake if she sees us eating it, but she does not demand it like she does the above foods, and will often be satisfied with one bite and turn back to her bowl of fruit, mashAllah se.

But I got very upset when my MIL and mom gave ice cream sandwiches, foods with nuts, biscuits, cakes, etc before she turned a year old. These foods are not appropriate for her, and they are foods with addictive qualities, that I do not want her to crave for now.

I did snap quite a bit at my mom about this, and I know that isn't the right reaction, and I hope she forgives me for doing it. But that doesn't make what she and MIL did okay.